2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 60 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance30800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Major engine defect: oil consumption

Faults:

Oil consumption began at around 30,000. More than one quart of oil consumed or lost since last service (less than 5,000 miles ago). This is the second experience with Jetta oil consumption trouble. Also occurred with my 2001 Jetta at roughly the same point (30,000 mile point).

Window lifter failed on both left and right front windows, allowing windows to fall into window well. This problem also occurred with another Jetta, the 2001 model.

Ignition switch failed prior to first service (5,000 miles).

General Comments:

Very disappointed. Service personnel have tried to explain oil consumption as "within normal limits" when one to two quarts were being consumed between 5,000 mile service intervals on cars less than three years old with less than 30,000 miles. Most curious that this same problem occurs on two different cars from two different manufacturing years, but identical models and identical engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

11th Jul 2004, 20:50

I have had the same problems with oil consumption. The dealer has been very gracious about refilling the oil at no charge. The dealer has, however, already cleaned a screen, replaced an oxygen sensor, and replaced the intake because there was oil in it causing the car to burn oil. I just got the car back on Friday and today (Sunday) the check engine light came on. The car has been to the dealer four times already with the engine trouble. The car has 25000 miles.

9th Jan 2007, 00:26

I am so frustrated as of right now with my 2002 VW Jetta right now as well. I bought it with 40,000 on it because I heard they were good cars, my 96' Olds Ciera that I traded in was better, when it comes to oil consumption! I contacted my mechanic, who specializes in German cars of all kinds, and he said there was a problem. I called the salesman I brought the car from, he stated it had an oil consumption problem and made it sound quite easy to get it taken care of. It's NOT! Apparently VW allows the car to burn 1 quart for every 1,000 miles. When I was told this it made me laugh, because that is a lot of oil, especially since VW recommends oil changes every 5,000 miles. I am so frustrated and cannot get anything done about my car. They say this is very common, amongst all types of cars, but I've never heard of this happening to any "decent" car. You'd think if VW had this problem they would want customers to recommend them, I'm sure from being on several websites with millions having the same problem, they aren't going to be recommended.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta LS 4 cylinder gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Loads of fun, with some annoying problems

Faults:

In August of 2003, the front passenger side window failed. Ironically, less than one week after I received a postcard encouraging a class-action lawsuit concerning that very problem.

In January of 2004 the driver's seat warmer malfunctioned, burning a hole through the padding and seat cover and effectively ruining my pants.

February 2004, the radio failed due to a "software issue."

General Comments:

While all issues were covered under the warranty, and none caused any major inconvenience, that they've all occurred within less than 2 years of owning this car and within 6 months of each other, is a bit disturbing. That being said, this car is incredibly fun to drive, once you get adjusted to the timing during shifting gears. I have experienced none of the mechanical problems pointed out by other posters. In fact, the first 18 months of my ownership was in North Dakota. During the winter, this baby fired up every morning without any difficulty and without the need for a block heater.

Also, I'm 5'10" and about 190 lbs. The seats are accommodating for me, but barely. I might consider working out now, just so I don't outgrow my car.

My major motive for posting has to do with the radio. When mine failed I assumed it was a fuse issue, but could find no clearing marking of which fuse was involved (neither in the car nor on the internet), so wound up driving 45 miles one way to have the dealer spend 30 seconds reseting the radio. For the record, if any of you are looking, the process is pulling fuse #42 (the clear 25 watt fuse, 3rd one up from the bottom right), waiting 10 seconds, and putting it back in. Following the necessary safety precautions, of course. I'm a little bitter about this because I could've been told how to do this over the phone rather than wasting 2 hours of my day to have someone else do it. They will be replacing the radio anyway, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

2nd Apr 2004, 17:40

Thanks for the information on the radio. I encountered the same problem with my radio and just went outside and pulled the fuse and reset it. IT WORKS!! Now I can cancel my appointment with the dealership on Monday.

21st May 2004, 01:03

I guess the radio thing is a common problem, I was annoyed by how unhelpful the manual was;your advice worked like a charm. The fuse thing has been my only problem thus far on my diesel jetta. Hate the cup-holders.

23rd Jul 2004, 15:07

I have the same problem, and your posting has almost certainly saved me from having a dead battery tomorrow. I've put the information in the glove box in preparation for the next time it happens.

Thanks very very much for your posting.

6th Aug 2005, 19:19

I too have had problems with the radio, but the fuse was not the problem. I had a faulty connection between the radio and the antenna. After a few calls to the dealer and a visit, they found a shorted connection in the roof. They replaced no problems asked.

14th Jul 2006, 14:52

I am so glad that I found this website. It deemed very helpful. I was have the same radio issue and did not find any information about fuses or anything else concerning the radio in the owner's manual. Which was a total disappointment. However, after reading the comment on the website I was able to pull the fuse for the radio and reset it. Thank you so much for putting which fuse it was in your message. That saved me a trip to the dealership. Riding in the car without a radio is so sicking. Thanks again.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews