2005 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2005 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5 5 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired235 miles
Most recent distance3700 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Very costly comfortable drive

Faults:

I researched a lot before buying this car, consulted friends and happily bought this car. But to my dismay car drinks fuel like water, I get 17mpg in city when I drive extremely carefully and 15-16 when I drive normaly. 5 miles less than what is claimed on car, took it to dealer and they say car is working to factory specification. On highway it gives 27mpg for driving on cruise (drove 250 miles on cruise). These values are much much lower than the competitors in market.

Ride is too rough can feel every dent on the road.

General Comments:

Interior is very thoughtfully crafted and seats are comfortable, drove 1000 miles overnight, but did not feel any back pain.

My advice if you are looking for fuel economy don't buy this car. If not concerned with fuel then buy Impala (6 seat) for the same price/ fuel economy you will get a better smooth ride.

Not so proud owner of jetta :- (

Anuj.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

25th Oct 2005, 17:36

The car has five cylinders. It's not going to get as good as fuel mileage as four cylinder equipped cars. Also, some cars need to get older before they get their best mileage. 27 MPG on the highway is nothing to smirk at, especially when the advertised mileage on the window sticker is 30 MPG. Jettas are great cars, a little lower fuel economy is not a reason to be an unhappy owner. If you really really wanted good fuel economy, you should have bought a Civic.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta New 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fun to drive, issues with engine noise

Faults:

Engine makes horrible noise when first starting (sounds like diesel). Dealer says it's normal :( (secondary air pump?). Minor dash rattles from center speaker area. Lastly, door speakers overload at very low volumes (VW technical bulletin on this problem, dealer has ordered parts to repair this problem).

General Comments:

Car handles very well! Great/Fun to drive.. Heated seats are great plus. Love the car just wish they would fix the engine noise on start up (very annoying, somtimes frightening).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

2nd Oct 2005, 14:06

That noise IS normal. Wait for 10 seconds, and it will go away. Every new Jetta does it. Seriously.

3rd Oct 2005, 08:15

Oh my... from an Accord to the first-model-year Jetta. Good luck!

Oh, on the engine noise, what do you expect for 1/2 of a 'Lamborghini' engine stuffed into a 'VW'. Remember when GM made the 'Iron Duke' 2.5l by lopping the 5.0 in half? ...not good ideas.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 Turbo turbo from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

LEMON CARS

Faults:

Wow, where do I begin with what has gone wrong with this car. I think everything on the car has been recalled by Volkswagen.

After have the car for about 4 months the check engine light came on, so I brought the car to the dealership which I purchased it from and they looked it over and just told me that there was a misfire and they reset the dashboard lights. Well a few weeks after they reset the dashboard lights, the check engine light came on and again I brought the car back to the dealership, they told me the same thing that there was just a misfire and they reset the dashboard lights, this went on for about 3 years.

Finally in January of 2005 I brought the car to the dealership where I purchased the car to get my routine oil change. They did the oil change and called me to let me know it was ready. Oh, I forgot to mention that when I needed to get the oil changed it took the dealership over 3 hours to change the oil, even though I had scheduled an appointment. So, I went to pick up my vehicle and everything seemed fine, but on my way home the car just died on me. I called and had it towed back to the dealership, at my own expense of course, and the dealership told me that it seems that they did not put oil back in the car. Pretty important step, I would think. So I had to end up paying over $3000.00 to get some engine work done on the car.

Needless to say 4 months later the car died on me again and now will not start.

I will never buy another car from this company again. I have also been trying to warn everyone I know about these cars as well.

If you are looking into buy this car, do a little research first. I have researched on Goggle and have found numerous websites dedicated to unhappy Jetta customers all having the same exact problems I have been having.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2005

14th Jul 2005, 18:26

The Dealer should be required to pay for there mistake

A friend of mine had the same thing happen at Can. Tire and they installed a good used engine at no charge.

14th Jul 2005, 21:44

Why would the Jetta owner have to pay $3000 to fix damage caused by the dealer forgetting to add oil to the car? The car owner has literally been taken for a ride.

7th Aug 2007, 14:32

I think the main thing missing here besides the oil is common sense. My question (like others) is why didn't you get the dealer to pay for the towing expense as well as the expense costs to repair the car?

I think this story may be a little blown out of proportion and lacks the truth.

12th Mar 2009, 22:43

2001 VW Jetta 1.8t

My experience with this vehicle is that it has been the worst and probably the poorest designed car ever built.

First the check engine lights and misfires, misfires, misfires, misfires, and the list continues. I would like to have invested this money into a Pinto instead, and I know I would have some real money now.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta GL TDI from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

TDIs rule!

Faults:

This has been a completely maintenance free car. The only problem I had was when I got it home. All of a sudden, there were no interiors lights, the doors wouldn't lock, and the remote wouldn't work. Turns out fuse #14 was blown out. Replaced the fuse and haven't had any problems since.

General Comments:

This car gets amazing gas mileage. Depending on how I drive the car, I can easily get between 500 and 600 miles on one tank. It has a smooth, quiet ride, and starts great in the northern winters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

10th Jul 2005, 21:12

Brand new car and you already had to replace the fuse because your lights went out? On the first day of ownership??? Doesn't sound to me like you have had a maintanence free car. Good luck. Expect more monkey repairs soon.

26th Jul 2005, 22:40

You consider changing a fuse maintenence?

Good grief...

29th Jul 2005, 14:29

500 miles for how many gallons??? Do the rest of the math for us!

2005 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

I love it!

General Comments:

I have not had any problems with my Jetta. I think the car runs great and it's a lot of fun (and very cute)! I would lease another Volkswagen when this lease is up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

5th Aug 2005, 07:43

You'd lease another one? Wow... maybe VW will get a repeat customer is a couple years!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 21 reviews