2007 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

The original is better

General Comments:

This is my second Jetta, and I am a bit disappointed with the 5th generation. The fourth generation had more character, the new one looks like a Toyota Corolla if you ask me. My older one was also a lot easier and fun to drive. The new one, while it still has more features for the price than other similar cars, is just too cookie cutter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2007

1st Jul 2008, 11:51

Sadly, Volkswagen did modify the steering as well as the suspension calibration for the North American market.

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5 2.5 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

The car does everything well a great value!

Faults:

So far everything has been perfect!

General Comments:

This car performed great in the winter snows of Central New York, ESP has worked flawlessly. It has plenty of punch even when loaded and handles great!!!

I haven't had so much as a squeak and I haven't been babying it. Loaded with very safety feature you could want.

My only complaint is gas mileage 24 mpg overall isn't the best for a car this size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2007

10th Oct 2007, 18:23

Finally, a positive review for a Jetta that is still honest! Best of luck to you!

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Midline 1.6 from Romania

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I love the car

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

I preferred this car over Audi A3 and Volvo S40 mainly because of the huge boot, with a very good access. Also I didn't want to spend too much money on the car and I found the Phaeton inspired design very attractive. Overall I'm very happy with the car, which is very well built, is very stable and has an exceptional handling.

I wish I chose a more powerful engine, maybe the 1.4 TSI 175 HP as the standard 1.6 engine makes the car too lazy. No complaints about the maximum speed, I reached 200 km/h on the highway and the car was still accelerating (the manufacturer declared max. speed is 186 km/h). Still the car is not responsive enough when you press the gas pedal and I wish I had the 1.4 TSI that has an incredible torque.

The interior has excellent build quality with very comfortable seats and very good quality plastic. The interior design and the quality of the materials used is very similar to the upper class Passat. The controls are very well designed and the dials are very easy to read. Also the trip computer provides you a wealth of information and looks very nice. I found the dual zone climate control as very accurate and effective. I don't particularly like the blue lighting of the dash and I would really preffered an warmer amber, but in time I've got used to it.

I think that the safety of this vehicle cannot be matched in its class, the car coming with 8 airbags. I'm still waiting for the Euro NCAP test, but I'm sure that the car will perform very well, as its parent model Golf 2004 fared extremely well, getting 5 stars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2007

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5 2.5 5 cylinder 20V from Brazil

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 5 cylinder 20V Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen C5

Summary:

Four out of five stars - It's a very likeable car

Faults:

Nothing so far.

I bought the car in February early this year, one of the first Mark 5 Jettas to be sold in Brazil.

General Comments:

*SORRY ABOUT MY POOR ENGLISH*

The Jetta is one fine looking car - it looks superb in Mystic Black with the (optional) 17-inch wheels. The chrome grille gives a very imposing look to it.

Interior is very spacious, trunk is enormous, dual zone air-conditioning is a bonus. Leather seats are very nice and sunroof although it's a shame you still have to pay an extra to get leather and sunroof.

Xenon headlights are very powerful, again you have to pay an extra to get them. As well the (very helpful) Parking sensors.

Great safety ratings in North America, car comes already with six air-bags. Good job Volkswagen!

The Jetta drives very well, almost no body-roll unless you push it. ESP is excellent on treacherous conditions. The ride, however, is way too stiff due the hard sporty-setting suspension.

Smart and Smooth 6-speed Tiptronic gearbox; great for people who want the practicality and peace of the Automatic with the fun of the manual. Sport mode is an utter joy.

It could produce more power for a 2.5 5 cylinder 20 Valve engine, but the 150 Horsepower and the linear Torque delivery in the low RPM range gets the Jetta going rather nicely.

Drinks too much fuel, trips to the fuel station are constant. This in my opinion, it's the Jetta's biggest downside. Average of 6 Kilometres per Litre.

Reliability? Well... Still need to see how reliable the Jetta is going to be. Touching wood so far, feels much more solid than my previous 2005 Citroen C5 2.0 16V Automatic.

Overall, I am a very pleased with my choice. It could be better equipped as it is the most expensive car in its class here in Brazil, it also could be more economical and it would not hurt too much if the suspension was a tad softer.

But truth must be said, the Jetta is so much more involving than its rivals. It's quick, pleasant to drive, nice looking and it has a very classy look and feel to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2007

28th Sep 2008, 09:53

150 Hp is not bad at all when you consider the 2.5 is an entry level engine. Besides, there are pluses: The engine may be low on horsepower, but it produces a decent amount of torque - 170 Ibs ft of torque ain't too shabby. The engine runs on regular gasoline, the low end torque is excellent which makes it agile to drive in the city and requires less gear changes to get it going, not to mention that produces this purring sound that instigates you to rev it a little bit... nice!

23rd Oct 2009, 07:26

I disagree.

150 Hp is mediocre for a 2.5, specially when VW claims the engine has the cylinder head design similar to the 5.0 V10 engine found in the Lamborghini Gallardo.

If so then why the 2.5 isn't a high-revving screaming engine producing half of the Gallardo's power?

Now they uprated to 170 Hp, which still isn't impressive.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews