2007 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5L, 5 cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L, 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

5 cylinder is a nice compromise of fuel economy and power

Faults:

Accessory power didn't work on delivery. I didn't figure it out till the next day. Took it back to the dealer and they installed a fuse that was missing. There was a 20 amp fuse in the console when I took delivery, but I didn't think anything of it. It was almost like the dealer prep wasn't completed or they wanted me to meet their service guys. 5K mile maintenance was $86. Kind of pricey so I'll probably use my local garage for future service.

Driver seat fabric has started to develop pills already.

General Comments:

The car is the value priced model and I'm very happy with it so far. Value priced model tires and wheel covers are not the greatest. I'll probably upgrade them sometime soon. Tilt / telescoping wheel is hard to adjust, but I'm getting used to it. Instrument panel with ice warning and temp is nice. Sound system is excellent, esp the MP3 capable CD player. I got a cable to connect my MP3 player to the AUX outlet, but they could have put it somewhere better than the glove box. Handles well in snow and icy conditions. Fun car to drive. Power & torque from the 5 cylinder engine is impressive. I get 33 MPG at 75 MPH avg, pretty good after driving a full size pickup. I would have preferred a BMW or Acura, but with 2 in college I'll have to wait a few years. The Jetta was a nice compromise and good way to lower my carbon emissions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2007

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance900 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

Great

Faults:

I have been driving this car for two weeks, engine light came on and now it will not start.

I do not like the fact that I could not contact anyone to get an answer to my problem.

General Comments:

I like the heated seats, especially now in the winter, they warm up way before the heat comes on, so you are not completely cold when you sit into your car.

Controls are easy to operate. This car is very roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2007

18th Mar 2007, 19:43

You've only had the car for two weeks and the check engine light came on? I'd get rid of that car very quickly. The car may seem great now, but look at the reviews of older Jettas, the problems just get worse and worse.

19th Mar 2007, 01:12

Yes the check Engine light will come on when you stick the key in.

You have to "Turn the key around" so that the car will start and the Check Engine light will go away.

Seriously though this review isn't for real.

15th Apr 2007, 13:30

The Jetta has an anti-theft mechanism that can be activating inadvertently when there is unusual activity with the ignition key. Happened to me at dealership when I was leaving. Turn off the car, wait about 5 min and turn it back on - it should be fine.

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Quick, responsive and hot looks

Faults:

I have this new 2007 VW Jetta Wolfsburg for over 2 weeks now, I know this is not a lengthy time, but the car is impeccable. Nothing has gone wrong yet and if you make it through the first 2 weeks you should be golden.

General Comments:

The car is everything I expect from German engineering, though it is made in Mexico the guitar is detailed excellently inside and out.

The ride is very quiet and the fun factor is definitely a 10!

The cabin is spacious for a car this size and I feel is a great alternative to a much more expensive BMW. This Jetta rocks!

The additional features like black ice warning flashing temp and snowflake, heated seats that are variable instead of hi and low, the ambient heater/ac vent on the dash, the small, but very useful overhead lights that light up the console at night and all of this illuminated with blue back lighting with red accents on controls. Feels like a stealth fighter at night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2007

3rd Mar 2008, 14:03

I have the same car, and couldn't agree with you more on everything you said! Small world, my last car before my beloved Jetta was a Jeep Grand Cherokee... Huge change in gas mileage huh?

2nd Jun 2009, 12:58

So funny, I have the same car. my previous car was a red Jeep Grand Cherokee! just recently my engine light comes on and I found out that my car needs two new engine fans! the cost? $800!!! gonna ride it out till' it starts to give me more trouble.

2nd Jun 2009, 15:57

The car is everything I expect from German engineering, though it is made in Mexico the guitar is detailed excellently inside and out."

The guitar???

When did Volkswagen get into the music business & when did this site start reviewing guitars?

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance480 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Very well built, although previous year reviews has me very worried

Faults:

Didn't start one day, I think I tripped some sort of security feature on it. Waited 5 minutes and it started right up.

Other than that: nothing yet, although I have only been driving it for 2 weeks now.

General Comments:

So far this is a very nice car.

I love the turn signal lights on the mirrors, the heated faux leather seats, and the rubber mats.

Engine seems to get more powerful everyday, especially in sport mode.

Also, the tip-tronic DSG 6 speed is a nice touch too.

I was very excited when I got this car, until I read some reviews on Volkswagen here.

Still going to remain positive though since this is my first new car purchase, or rather lease, ever.

Still not sure If I will buy this out at the end of the 39-months though due to the horror stories posted here on this site.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

30th Jan 2007, 06:32

Don't worry about your car unless it gives you problems. Many Jettas are fine and most people only moan about bad ones as opposed to praise a good one. I have recently covered 10,000 UK miles in my 2006 New Shape Jetta TDi S and they were great and never gave me a single problem. Fantastic fuel consumption and great drive and spacious cockpit/boot too! I have only stopped driving it as I was T-boned which wrote the car off, but proved it's strength - pleased I wasn't in a Japanese car - these VW's are strong!!! Enjoy your car.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews