2007 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.5L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHonda Passport

Summary:

Economical and fun to drive!

Faults:

Airbag light stays on continuously.

General Comments:

I really enjoy driving this car. I prefer a bit stiffer ride and I did test drive a Honda Accord that was comparable in price. However, the Jetta I bought came with the leather seats, satellite radio and a bunch of other goodies. Up until this point I have been very happy, but the airbag light came on. Diagnostic code 588 is present which indicates there is something wrong with the drivers side airbag. I really don't have a big problem with this defect except for one thing. If this indicates other problems to come like late 90's and early 00's VW, I am in big trouble. I'll take it to the dealership this week and have them fix it, but I really hope this is "infant mortality."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

15th Jul 2007, 00:40

Hmmm...my airbag light came on at about 7000 miles in my 2007 jetta 2.5...

I also hope this isn't a sign of something more to come...

My jetta has otherwise been great.

10th Sep 2007, 13:18

My airbag light just came on too!!

2007 Jetta 2.5 at 8400 miles.

6th Oct 2007, 11:08

My Airbag warning light came on as well at 4889 miles. I hope as well that this is not a sign of things to come.

11th Nov 2007, 13:37

Has anyone gotten this problem fixed? If so, what was the problem with the airbag?

17th Dec 2008, 15:24

Re all the airbag problem lights above: this is likely a failed sensor and should be a straight-forward warranty R&R item. Sensor failures are not uncommon - can come in batches from a vendor. See your dealer.

23rd Jan 2009, 14:27

Air bag lights are common on all MK-V VW products. It relates to a wiring harness under the front seat that can get disconnected or is outright defective. As a previous poster mentioned, this is a straight-forward warranty item from the dealer that at worst involves replacing a wiring harness.

19th Jan 2011, 18:23

I love my 2007 2.5L comfort with luxury pkg. Jetta. It has been a great car.

The only problem I have had is it drives so nice I have to watch my speed.

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Awesome Deal!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Jetta is responsive, dependable, well built and fun to drive.

The cabin is quiet, the tiptronic shifter is a joy to use, and the stereo is not cluttered with a zillion buttons. It's very easy to navigate the controls.

The overhead night lighting is just as in the more expensive Audi, and the Leatherette seating is a nice touch for little money.

Gas mileage is great and value/performance factor is a whopping 10.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2007

21st Jan 2008, 21:31

"A disadvantage of plastic "leatherette" is that it is not porous and does not allow air to pass through it, thus sweat can accumulate if it is used for clothing, car seat coverings, etc. However, one of its primary advantages, especially in cars, is that it requires little maintenance in comparison to leather and does not crack or fade as easily."

Less maintenance and longer life? Leatherette seems OK by me.

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsberg Edition 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance900 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A great combination of performance and economy

Faults:

Nothing so far, but it is still new.

General Comments:

It has a nice sturdy feel to it. Seems to be very well made.

Fun to drive though if I had it to do over I would have spent the extra money for the 2.0 Turbo.

My only complaint is that it has fairly high wind noise at highway speeds.

I have owned three Beetles in my life. There is definitely a "feel" to German cars and I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2007

3rd Apr 2007, 07:21

An update to my review:

Although some of the horror stories here frighten me, so far I love this car. I just hit the 1400 mile marker with no problems and a firm 22mpg in city conditions. The car is fun to drive and I get lots of compliments on its looks.

I don't see how you can get much more car for 19k...

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews