2007 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2007 Volkswagen Jetta City 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Beautiful European design

Faults:

Motor mount needed replacing at 48,000 km.

Front pillar airbag cover won't stay clipped in place despite "repair" at every service check.

General Comments:

The Mk4 Jetta has a good balance between comfort and sporty handling.

It's nicely appointed and feels like a much more expensive car.

The 2.0 motor, however, is gutless and strangely set up so you can't get instant revs when you put the throttle down, and the revs don't drop when you release the throttle.

The "City" Jetta is only available in Canada, and is the last of the European designed Jettas since they recently brought out the Japanese styled Mk5 "Corolla-Jetta" and "Matrix-Golf".

The one really nice thing is that we were able to order a German (sort of) automobile without all the expensive-to-repair rubbish like air conditioning, cruise control, power windows et al.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2008

13th Apr 2008, 00:07

Let us know how your City Jetta is holding up as you rack up the kilometres. I know VW has had some quality control issues in the past, but hopefully those have been resolved with yours. You seemed to have passed on a lot of the gadgetry, so there's less to go wrong, which will probably be good for reliability.

14th Jun 2008, 18:24

Please keep me posted on the reliability of the vehicle. Please aware me of the major trouble spots of this vehicle. I am considering buying a new city jetta as my first vehicle.

2007 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0t from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0t Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Amazing car, but not worth the problems, save yourself from making my mistake

Faults:

Airbag light stuck on, dealer replaced sensor.

Steering wheel controls become inactive in warm temps, no fix.

Brake lights stayed on in temps bellow 40, dealer replaced battery.

Brake lights stayed on all the time, dealer replaced switch.

Transmission making terrible noises, at 80mph dropped into neutral with flashing gear indicators lights, once car came to 1st gear speeds it shifted into 1st and wouldn't up-shift until car was stopped and restarted. Transmission noises now even worse, take to dealer for repair, once fixed driving across the street to trade in for a Honda.

General Comments:

2.0t and DSG is the best combo out there.

Push you to the back of your seat torque, especially 40mph to 90mph.

Consistent reliability issues are likely to leave vehicle stranded.

Amazed a car with only 40k miles can have so many problems. I'll be staying away from German cars from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

11th Feb 2008, 16:10

I absolutely LOVE the VW interior and the styling. I want to buy a VW SO BAD, but... I just can't spend my $$$ on something that is going to break down all the time.

25th Feb 2008, 21:09

Stay away! VW has been making lemons for many years now. Nothing has changed. These cars are an absolute nightmare. Look elsewhere.

10th May 2008, 14:48

I bought my '06 2.0T November 2007, and have loved it. However, my check engine light came on for the first time this morning! Just under 25k miles. : (Off to the dealer I go at the first opportunity. I guess I should have done my homework before buying it!

2007 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg edition 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance13253 miles
Previous carLexus IS250

Summary:

I'm going to miss her- but excited for my new one!

Faults:

Electrical issues- radio hardly ever worked & sunroof wouldn't open. door quit locking @ 1200 miles.

General Comments:

I've had a love hate relationship with this car, until a few days ago when I was driving home from work. As I proceeded through a green light a lady in a new Mazda 6 made an illegal left turn in front of me. I slammed into her at 40 mph and then was thrown into a light post, I escaped the car without a single mark- it actually felt like I ran up on a curb. I will always own a Volkswagen after that - incredibly safe vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2007

22nd Dec 2007, 12:28

Every modern car offers similar safety as a VW Jetta, it doesn't deliver anything special.

22nd Dec 2007, 14:49

The reviewer mentions electrical issues.

The vehicle gets totalled, but protects him.

The reviewer will buy another one.

Most modern vehicles would protect against collisions like this just as well, and many like Hondas and Toyotas do not have as many problems.

So, why get another another Volkswagen??

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews