2001 Volkswagen Passat 2.8 from North America


Never again will I buy a Volkswagen car


The car is a good car, but it's so full of problems, Volkswagen, why?

At first it was a moving machine, but after I made a journey of 500 miles, I noticed the gear was not selecting properly. I managed to get it to my place, and took it to a mechanic shop for repairs, and they told me that the transmission control module had gone bad, together with the gear box and range sensor. Ever since then it's been one problem to another, and the car is still parked down in my garage.

Volkswagen, if you can come pick the car from my garage for free, I would appreciate it. What a problematic car indeed. Enough is enough with me and Volkswagen.

General Comments:

Volkswagen should do away with transmission control module and range sensor, and look for better parts to replace them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2012

16th Jan 2012, 09:59

Sometimes in life you end up with a lemon and/or a money pit. Learn from your mistake... put some lipstick on it... clean it up and sell it... hopefully to a Volkswagen mechanic. But on your next car/truck/SUV, do your homework before you buy your next car. With today's Internet, there are so many websites that have the won and lost records of most cars out there. Don't make the same mistake again.

17th Jan 2012, 15:02

I agree with the previous comment, a bit of research on the Net before buying a car, which for most people is their second biggest purchase of their lives, costs nothing, yet can save so much misery in the long run.

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Not a car for long haul ownership


Check engine light and emission control lights.

General Comments:

Liked the car and the utility it offered in being able to transport 2 German Shepherds and humans very comfortably over long distance drives.

Gas mileage was pretty good, averaging 27 mpg on long hauls, with 24 mpg averaging in mixed driving.

Liked how the steering became heavier the faster the car was driven. Felt planted and secure at speeds.

The turbo had some noticeable lag, especially when taking off from a standstill, necessitating a more eager push of the accelerator pedal.

Unfortunately today, while driving the dogs to their off leash hike, the engine compartment combusted, requiring a 911 call to extinguish the flames on a vehicle with only 78,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2010

2001 Volkswagen Passat V6 from North America


I would not buy this model or vintage again


Water drains plugged and filled up the interior under the seats, causing control module failures.

Has consumed oil, but shows no evidence of leak or smoking out exhaust; dealer cannot diagnose.

General Comments:

The water damage to modules continues to manifest itself in other areas such as climate controls etc...

For only having 30K miles, the suspension has gone very mushy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2010

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLX 4-motion Sedan 2.8 from North America


I love the car, but it's getting too expensive to fix


Check engine light was on when I purchased the vehicle from a used car dealer. At the time there was some sort of recall going on, and the dealer brought the car to a VW dealer, who claimed there was nothing wrong with the catalytic converters. Cleared the codes, and the check engine light was back in only 2 days.

This light has been on every day since I've had the car. It runs great, never had any issues until it was time for state inspection. It failed due to faulty catalytic readings. It says not up to standards.

Brought the car to a very reputable repair facility, and got an estimate to replace the catalytic converters of approximately $1800.00; $1500 of which were just the 2 converters. I think VW should step up and cover the repairs, since they said it was OK when the place I bought it from took to them when it only had 72000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2010

28th Jul 2010, 14:18

That's a 9-year old car done 120K miles/193K km, how long do you expect it to be brand new?

28th Jul 2010, 16:49

You bought the car from a used dealer when it had 72,000 miles on it, and by what you've said here, didn't get any service records on the vehicle. It may only have 72,000 miles, but its previous owner may have neglected to perform the basic maintenance it needs. Volkswagen will not pay for these repairs, and they shouldn't have to.