2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS V6 from North America


Unpredictable parts longevity


Original factory brake rotors wrapped before needing any brake service.

General Comments:

All prior owned cars never experienced warped brake rotors. Clearly this is a manufacture's problem, but the car dealer says this can happen and will not warranty the parts. I never seen the wheel on a car wear out before the tire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 12:09

I have a Passat 2001 that had the same problem. Warped rear rotors after two years of use; not covered under VW warranty. Cost $465 to fix.

6th Dec 2005, 00:23

I had the exact same problem with my 1998 VW Passat. Rear rotars were warped and needed immediate replacement. This is obviously a reoccurring problem. Cheapest rotar cost with labor cost totaled 166.00.

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 4 cylinder from North America


A first rate lemon


The heater core went out at 35,000 miles.

I repeatedly replaced the headlights and break-lights.

The turn signals stopped working.

The instrument panel lights come on when I push the brakes.

Customer Care was not helpful at all.

One dealer faked charges of $500 for work the manufacturer had already paid for.

The radiator leaks heavily.

The latch on the center console broke within a month of buying the car.

General Comments:

I loved this car when I bought it.

This was my very first car.

I bought it brand new.

I have been very disappointed with my purchase.

There have been too many problems for a car that is only three years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

14th Nov 2004, 17:26

This was the first car I bought off a lot 2 weeks after I got the check engine light came on. My back right window broke, its been fixed 3 times and broke for the 4th time.

19th Jan 2006, 13:12

My 2001 Passat wagon has also shown off its check engine light several times since I purchased it, used, in 2004. The water pump and mass air flow sensor were both repaired under warranty. However, I paid to have some dry-rotted lines replaced, at about 50,000 miles, and have an air bag fault light that stays on all of the time. It has been checked and reset twice, no problems found, but continues to remain lit. This winter, the heat has worked only sporadically. I hear lots of water gurgling at times when I turn it on. The system was flushed once and I had heat for about 3 days before it stopped altogether.

23rd Sep 2009, 00:38

If that dealership would lie to the manufacturer to get more money, imagine what kinda stuff they'd tell you to get YOUR cash once the warranty runs out! Take it somewhere else.

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.8L V6 from North America


A fun to drive, safe and quality built sedan


Persistent rattle in front dashboard while riding over road imperfections.

Cowling around steering column making creaking noises after a few thousand miles.

Occasional shudders in the engine.

Front suspension making loud chirping noises over bumps.

Front windshield had serious warping in the center.

General Comments:

This car is by far the most exceptional vehicle I've ever owned. It handles beautifully, the transmission is tight and really keeps you connected to the engine, and with only 190hp it has amazing performance.

The only things that seem to have gone wrong with it so far are the noises it makes, and the fact that I've not found a dealer who seems competent. I've gone to dealers in New York, Baltimore, and Oakland without finding anyone who could solve my problems right away.

The problem with the warped windshield took several months and calls directly to Volkswagen of America to have replaced. It doesn't seem they like to know there are faults with their cars.

Problems aside, I'm extremely happy with my Passat. The interior is wonderfully crafted and solid, and the seats are very comfortable and supportive. The Monsoon sound system is a bit lacking for a premium audio system, but it still sounds great.

Overall I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a sedan that's fun to drive, handles well, safe and quality built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003