2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8T from North America


A lemon


2 coil packs blew one after the other.

Brakes squeaked frequently.

Very high maintenance vehicle.

Electrical problems.


General Comments:

Such a disappointment. I was thrilled to purchase this car at first.

The car handled well and was fun to drive.

However, after a few months of driving it it started to show problems.

The running lamps blew out 4 months after I got the vehicle.

The panel lights went off while driving at night.

One of the bulbs that I replaced a couple of months ago burned out already.

Coil packs are short circuiting. Broke down twice in a month because of this known issue.

Volkswagen will not do a recall on this issue and will only replace the coil packs when they fail. Very inconvenient way of fixing problems. Makes you worry while driving the car.

Brakes easily wear out, must replace the rotors each time the pads wear out.

This car requires high maintenance and is unreliable.

I will never buy a vehicle from this manufacturer.

Glad to be rid of it. Traded the car today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

21st Jan 2003, 18:48

Hi, I saw your note that you posted regarding your VW Passat ignition coils. I hope you don't mind that I contacted you. I spoke and wrote to VW Customer Care after my second coil blew. They advised that I request through my dealer (I'd put it in writing) that VW replaces all of the coils under warranty. They mentioned that they will try and honor these request, after they get their coil supplies back to normal.

Unfortunately, they would not give this to me in writing.

I also encourage you to please file a complaint with: http://www.nhtsa.gov/ and your Better Business Bureau.

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Could use some improvement


The left headlight shakes when you hit bumps.

There is some nasty smell from under the hood after long trips

The dash board and headliner rattle over minor bumps.

There seems to be an alignment problem the dealer could not fix the problem and blamed on the tires.

Driver seat pops and moves around when driving.

Switches on the dash have quit working.

Transmission seems to lurch out of second gear.

General Comments:

I bought this car new and thought I was getting German quality, well not so.

This car has really been a let down.

I bought this car planning on keeping it for a long time. Not so sure now.

Don't look to the dealership for any help and they sure hate to see you bring one in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Passat v5 2.3 from UK and Ireland


Audi quality at VW prices


No faults.

General Comments:

A really excellent car: a great combination of practicality (estate version) and effortless driving. Especially good for long motorway journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Passat GL 1.8 T from North America


This car is a big hit with me and anyone else who encounters it


I have had absolutely no problems with this car in the year that I have owned it.

The car has only needed to have it's oil changed, and that was part of VW's complementary maintenance.

General Comments:

I own a 2001 1/2 New Passat Wagon.

It looks great and is very roomy. It's the best alternative to an SUV available.

The 5 speed/1.8L Turbo offers excellent performance and incredible fuel efficiency.

The car feels luxurious without a luxurious price.

I wish that VW offered the 6 Cylinder Tubodiesel Diesel engine to U.S. customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2002

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


A great buy for the 20-35 year old yuppie, soon to be dad, that doesn't want to drive a Camry


Only one: an annoying "tick" noise from behind the dash board.

General Comments:

Excellent fit and finish, friends think it is an Audi A6!

Performance is similar the BMW 540i I had a while back, a great car to drive and push hard. The Porsche Tiptronic transmission is great for those of us who hate slush box autos, but sit in traffic.

Interior is top quality, much better than my Mercedes! The high up seats give the car an edge over my friends' Hondas.

Safety is also a huge positive (it was the reason I bought the car) with 8 airbags and 5 star ratings, it puts American auto makers to shame (the much acclaimed Ford Taurus only got 3 stars in the side test).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

12th Jul 2004, 08:58

There must have been something seriously wrong with the 540i you had if this 1.8T Passat matches it! Either that or the Passat has had its power output doubled.

The 1.8T Passat is a lively car I know, but the 540i is a quick one. Beats the VW to 60 by about 3 seconds!

2001 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8L turbo from North America


Neighbours envy owners delight


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Excellent looks and I have been praised for the car by people ranging from restaurant waiters who saw it out of the window to the director of the company for which I work.

Great suspension and general road feel that gives a charm to driving the Passat.

Ergonomic design that gives a comfortable and stylish ride.

Automatic transmission and CD player are a charged option. For a car with a status like the Passat, this marketing trend feels queer! In general the price of the car quickly soars to great extents as you start buying options to the base model.

Too much tire noise especially when driving on the freeways.

Cost of maintenance (regular service, repairs during collision, etc) is high.

A/C/heater fan makes a great noise like a turbine in full swing when you turn it to any position other than very low normal speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2002