2002 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.0 from North America


Love the German Engineering


The gauge that tells you what your miles per gallon are is messed up. Says random different numbers.

General Comments:

Wonderful car. Very comfortable nice ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2010

11th Oct 2010, 16:44

Wait, you will really grow to appreciate that German engineering. Especially when you have to fix things multiple times and pay 3x as much for replacement parts. Not to mention the poor dealer service.

18th Oct 2010, 13:14

My 2002 Passat GLX has 136,000 miles, single owner with no major issues. I have only ever had to perform general, routine maintenance on it! It depends a lot on how you take care of it, just like any other vehicle. It sure is a wonderful car!

2002 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Nice looking German junk, made for the dealer to make money


CV boots twice. Second time, changed the whole axle at a local guy.

Engine mounts - Replaced 2 times. Second time I did it myself.

Brakes - caliper broke.

Secondary air pump died - ~$1200.

I listed only the things that are abnormal.

General Comments:

VW, they don't have a quality testing department. If you know how to fix it by yourself, this car is for you. I started doing it and saved a ton of money, and it is easier than you think. Changed engine mounts, fuel filter, belts etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2010

2002 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 T from North America


German Junk


6/13/2005: Replaced vacuum lines, ECT sensor, 35555.00, $157.95.

2/24/2006: 40 K service and changed CV boots, oil change, 37749.00, $800.54 ($25 boots need $720 labor).

9/19/2006: Replaced secondary air pump, vacuum pump and host at combi valve, replaced wiper inserts, 40985.00, $1153.78.

9/24/2007: Replaced both front engine mounts, 54100.00, $484.43.

3/13/2008: Brake work, $709.13.

4/9/2009: Brake flush + CV boots (both side axle), 73150.00, $450.00.

As you can see from above, how bad is German Engineering. Much worse than American cars. CV boots are designed to fail so that dealer can make money.

General Comments:

Never buy this German junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2010

15th Feb 2010, 00:15

Ah, the joy of VW ownership...

16th Sep 2010, 22:52

I work as a collision repair professional. We work on quite a few high end autos, all german. It's amazing how these companies stay in business. You couldn't pay me own any of these cars. They are a royal pain to do any repair on.

2002 Volkswagen Passat Turbo 1.8 from North America


Too many headaches


The Volkswagen Passat, model 2002 was so comfortable.

Everything was OK except a little bit discomfort in acceleration. But it was ignored as it's from different company than the Toyota Camry.

The car went OK for 15 days. But once we went for a 45 minute drive, it started showing an oil engine pressure sign. We thought that the sign was for empty oil. We went to the Wal-mart for the oil change. But we didn't find it. We got the required oil as it is mentioned in the manual. We filled it. When it was about to check the oil level, the dipstick also broke down.

Soon after, we were on the way back home... after a few minutes, it started showing again the same sign as it showed before. We thought that the oil level may not be sufficient in the car. But soon after that sign, the sign was to stop the engine. We were scared in the middle of the highway. We stopped the car for a while, and tried drive at the slow speed. But one surprising fact is that as soon as you cross the 50 miles/hr, the sign blew up automatically. We drove the car at very low speed.

The next day, we took the car to the dealership to find out the faults. But the mechanics said there is no problem with the car. They suggested us to go to a Volkswagen dealership to make sure that everything is OK. We took our car back and went to another dealer store. But the car was OK. There was no sign that was blown the day before.

To fix the car's dipstick, we took it to the mechanics where only Volkswagen cars are taken care of. Everything was fixed. We asked them to find whether there are any problems. They said that oil level was a bit high as we added before. So, to be on the safe side, we asked them to have an oil change with the prescribed one in the manual. The car was OK. But soon after a week, the different sign came out. The sign was about cam sensor. They again charged to find out the problem and to fix the car. They are still unknown about the other problems and may charge more.

As we had many problems in a short gap, we checked the reviews of the Volkswagen Passat 2002, other customers also had the same problems. So, in the near future, we would not like to suggest others to go through this experience, as there are many problems and the parts are quite expensive too. Our Toyota Camry, (previous car) of 1996 still runs good and needs less cost and maintenance times than our Passat. We really want to get out of this car.

General Comments:

This car needs to be taken to the mechanics so many more times than you expect. However, the car runs good, ignoring its unpredictable problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2009