2004 Volkswagen Passat Variant 1.9 turbo diesel from Slovakia

Summary:

The worst car I ever had! NEVER AGAIN VW!!!

Faults:

Everything that has anything to do with electricity.

In general the car is not bad, even though it is far from comfortable. But it is absolutely unreliable. I am in the service centre every 2 months.

It started with the electric equipment of airbag, then every detector, regulator or connector that you can imagine. I know, I will forget any, but I try to write the list now: detector or heat of the cooling water, detector of pressure in clima, handle of winker, parking sensors, catalyst, again handle of winker, broken holder of lamp, again parking sensors, EGR vent, detector of pressure in turbo, hose between intercooler and turbo, contact of lamp over rear sign, starting flaments, again parking sensors, motor of rear sweeper, detector of opened rear doors (warning even they were closed, not warning if opened), detector of brake light (set out of work ABS and ESP), horn, sealing cups of front wheels, still lighting lamp in rear, there are strange sounds in the rear of the car.

General Comments:

The worst car I ever had! Car has problems every 2 months, it is abnormal, nobody can help me. It is crap, I will never buy car from VW, Audi, Seat, Skoda. Never!

NEVER AGAIN VW and anything from the group!!! My next car will be Japanese.

If it is possible, I'd set a very angry red face, blue sad is not enough!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2011

2004 Volkswagen Passat DSL 1.8 turbo from North America

Summary:

Bad value, and Volkswagens are junk

Faults:

An ignition coil went out at 63k.

Serpentine belt replaced at 64k.

Both front axles had to be replaced at 66k.

A/C compressor went out at 67k.

And currently it is in the shop at 72k with a vacuum leak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2010

19th Aug 2010, 10:57

You know this really isn't all too bad for a Volkswagen. I'll agree that Volkswagens aren't too reliable, but really the only real serious repair you had was the A/C compressor. Sure the ignition coil should've lasted a little longer and the front driveaxles did need replacement a little earlier than normal, but all in all I don't think your car is all that bad.

2004 Volkswagen Passat 1.7 turbo from North America

Summary:

Great car, but not safe

Faults:

I just had a fender bender at 20 mph max and the entire front end crumbled. The hood crashed into the windshield. Car is most likely totaled... At 20 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2010

19th May 2010, 17:20

Crumple zones in action. Your car did EXACTLY what it was designed to do.

19th May 2010, 18:35

It has 4 stars on crash test, new cars deform in crashes, but the point is that you stay safe inside.

20th May 2010, 14:18

Modern safety standards also include safety to pedestrians that are hit by cars. That explains a lot of the damage that occurs. Leg injuries are reduced by bumpers that crumple. Head injuries are reduced by increased space between the hood and engine, so the head hits something that has some give behind it. Plastic covers over engines are also part of the designs to reduce head injuries.

2004 Volkswagen Passat GLS Wagon 1.8 turbo from North America

Summary:

Nice car, but not worth the trouble

Faults:

CV boot (driver side).

CV joint (passenger side).

Front left upper control arm.

On-board computer goes blank and/or resets once in a while.

Alternator is noisy, will need to be replaced soon.

Secondary air injection pump noisy when the engine is cold.

Rear wiper washer failed...

... and as a result the tailgate lock is not working properly, as well as the trunk light is not working.

The seat heaters are not working properly: barely warm on 4 and very hot on 5. 1-3 gives no heat at all.

Water in left taillight and right headlight assembly.

Hood lock needed to be replaced.

Driver's window switch.

General Comments:

Handling is awesome for a family wagon.

Engine is very strong once the turbo kicks in. Effortless passing on back roads.

Very roomy trunk and the seats fold flat.

Fit and finish is above standard for the class, materials are very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2009