1982 Volvo 240 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1982 Volvo 240 GL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 miles
Most recent distance310000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

If I don't have to get rid if it, I never will, I love this car!

Faults:

The a/c blower motor tends to make a little noise and doesn't blow as hard now (not fixing it.. still works).

The muffler has cracked and is hanging a little bit (not fixing it either... still works).

Lift gate no longer opens. I think this is my fault because I slammed it shut with the lock engaged.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned.

The miles were high, but the price was right, and this car has far exceeded my expectations.

Very reliable, comfortable, and safe.

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2004

1982 Volvo 240 DL from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Reliable machine, poor electricals

Faults:

Replaced master cylinder at 140,000 miles.

Replaced catalytic converter at 140,000.

Shifter knob fell off at 150,000 miles.

Overdrive button failed at 161,000 miles.

Driver's seat has caved in and has been compensated with a common bed pillow.

Wiring has deteriorated in various points of the system. Alternator works, but the battery doesn't charge properly.

Tail lights randomly fail.

General Comments:

This is one of the greatest cars I have ever had. It's made it to LA 5 times & back since I purchased it 1 year ago. It's easy to work on yourself as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

1982 Volvo 240 DL 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance246000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

A huge money pit

Faults:

Replaced Alternator

Replaced Carburetor

Replaced Wiper Motor

Rebuilt the transmission

Seals, although recently done, are now starting to leak again

Fuel consumption is horribly high

Wiper fluid tank leaks.

General Comments:

I don't drive my vehicles hard and I never have because I can't afford to. If you're looking for an easy to maintain vehicle, look else where. This is the worst car in my opinion that I've ever owned, but I may have just gotten a lemon. Even after all of the regular maintenance, this car still has too many problems to list. It's got great handling because it weighs so much and if you like to drive a cinder block, this is the one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

15th Jun 2006, 06:30

My friend I advise you: DonĀ“t believe in everything that your mechanic tells you, or even better change him, get a new one!

17th Jun 2006, 12:41

Couldn't agree more. Get yourself a new mechanic, or better yet, do it yourself. These cars are great, and can easily do 500.000 miles or more without fail, if properly maintained.

19th Aug 2009, 21:25

I've seen my share of 240 lemons... my sister, and later my father had a '82 240. Needed brakes and rotors every 10k, a distributor cap every other month, something else broke down in the months inbetween... so there was something poorly designed.

But I have seen some that went for over 200k as well. Never seen a 240 get much past 220k though, but if it were a 740 or 850 then that's another story.

1982 Volvo 240 DL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance310000 miles
Previous carAudi 4000

Summary:

Boxy, but reliable and becoming a classic

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor has gone out.

Otherwise, no other major repairs except for the usual brake jobs, clutch jobs, oil changes, etc. at the usual intervals. Definitely no unexpected repairs.

General Comments:

Frankly, the 1982 240 DL I have is the best car I have ever had (other cars have included an Audi 4000 and a VW Scirocco). Since I have never had any problems with the 240 DL, I have never had any urge to replace it. I still drive up and down the freeways and byways of California with aplomb. In fact, I find myself passing up new cars with ease despite the relatively low horsepower rating of the engine I have. I am confident that my 240 will reach 400,000 miles without any trouble.

By the way, the engine has not been rebuilt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

6th May 2004, 19:22

Greetings:

I have 3 1988 Volvo 740 GLE Wagons (non-turbo 8 valve/good low-end torque AW-70 A.T.) and I must say that they are absolutely incredible safe machines!

My first one has 419,500 miles on it (burns no oil/27-30 mpg hwy), the second on has 235,000 miles and the 3rd one has 185,000 miles (all original no rebuilds). They all get premium fuels, lubricants, and quality parts (no abuse). Average cruising speed is 80 mph.

I believe the 240s have the same B230 (RED BLOCK) non-interference motor, meaning that if the timing belt ever broke, the engine would not destroy itself, it would just stop. Whereas all you would do is just replace it and start her up again.

There are a few good international forum websites that are Volvo related. www.brickboard.com (major/excellent/largest link) and www.fcpgroton.com and www.bobistheoilguy.com (huge link on motor oil products, you will not be disappointed!!!). Oh and these cars paint jobs/undercarriage last!

Best Regards!

4th Mar 2005, 11:37

I have a 1982 240 D L, and I have had a few problems with it. It's already 2005, and I have only 77,000 miles on the original everything. It needs a few updates, the previous owner didn't take the best care of it (oxidized paint, torn seats) but other than that, I love the car! Easy maintenance and half-way decent on gas mileage!

29th Mar 2005, 18:42

I'd like to comment on not passing inspection. I have a 82 240 that sat for 21/2 years. I took it to get inspected recently and it did not pass. I was told that if I add a fuel additive and burn the old gas out of it, then add another bottle of additive and fill the tank with high octane unleaded fuel, then burn it, the car should pass inspection. You might try that.

25th Jan 2010, 00:35

In addition to the previous comment, different states have different emission laws if I'm not mistaken.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews