1982 Volvo 240 GL 2.0 from Slovenia


The real Volvo still intact


Clutch at 100K. Because off oil leak. Still intact.

Oil leak caused by stuffed filter.

Battery at 150.000 km.

Wiper motor at 230.000 km.

Warning lights relay at 190.000 km.

General Comments:

The car ain't that quick, but it is safe, very comfortable and has a lot of space.

Almost nothing went wrong since we bought it and that makes me breathe easily when driving on long distances.

Simply a true Swedish Volvo - not one of those 400's and other FWD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

9th Mar 2003, 09:50

-Wow! I own a 1982 240 as well, and I also bought mine brand new. Simply nothing else compares, as my Volvo still looks and drives like it did the day a bought it. These cars last forever!

1982 Volvo 240 DL 2.1L? 4 cylinder from North America


The most faithful automobile ever


Ac, brake cylinders, transmission, brake drums... the stuff you'd expect from a 20 year old car.

General Comments:

When I first purchased this car sometime in 1982, I only thought I'd keep it for a couple of years. Little did I know that decades later I'd still be driving the same set of wheels, in almost the same condition!

All I can say is this: thank you Volvo. The 240 was a dream come true. I hope to keep her for another 10 years yet!

If you are considering a used 240, stop considering and buy one! You'll thank me later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2002

19th Aug 2009, 21:26

Wow you got your money's worth. This is by far the highest mileage I've seen on a 240.

1982 Volvo 240 DL 2.1 from North America


Probably the best car I've ever owned


Very little, aside from ongoing maintenance items (e.g. tire failure once because a low tire wasn't noticed).

Steering rack leaked after we flushed it out (big mistake!). Not recommended.

Had to replace most suspension parts (aside from springs) over the ten years we had the car.

Rust was a minor, but persistent problem.

General Comments:

Very, very solid car. Was rear-ended twice at low speed, and could not find a mark on the bumper/trailer hitch each time.

Volvo seemed to go the extra mile every time in terms of safety and solid construction. I was continually impressed by the thoroughness of Volvo, and that they seemed determined to build a very safe and strong car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

1982 Volvo 240 Wagon 1.8 L (?) 4 cylinder petrol in from North America


A reliable, solid, efficient, uncomplicated, and classic vehicle


The U joint was replaced as a condition of purchase.

Various suspension parts were replaced around 115,000 miles.

The shifter knob popped off at 140k.

The overdrive button failed 170K.

The air conditioning failed at 182K.

General Comments:

The car is solid, heavy, and a bit sluggish at lower speeds. Newer models I have tried (I.e. the 1989 240DL) are a bit more sprightly and fun to drive.

The car has an incredible turning radius, better than any car I've owned except perhaps the VW Bug. It also has a narrow "track", making it more of a world class vehicle, and maneuverable than its wider siblings. It has an incredibly usable cargo space, better than the Saab 900 (although the Saab is quite good too), or the Land Rover we bought recently, and is therefore indispensable as a utility vehicle.

The interior space is airy, with an exceptional view to the sides and rear (minimal blind spots). The car is comfortable for long highway journeys, and gets good mileage.

The car has never failed to start, nor has it ever stranded anyone, at any time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

14th Oct 2001, 17:49

The turning radius of the Volvo 240 actually is tighter than a VW Bug! Happy cruising!

26th Jul 2004, 10:00

My 1986 Swedish made Volvo 240 GLE Station Wagon (18 years old) has done about 110000 miles and has only once had to be towed home. It starts first time and does about 20 miles per gallon. I pull a caravan with it and have never had a problem. They are fantastic, I wouldn't change it for anything else.