1987 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1987 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

A safe reliable car

Faults:

I needed to replace the catalytic converter.

My sunroof jammed and I had to replace it.

General Comments:

The car feels like it wants to be a sports car, but it is trapped inside a Volvo body.

Great hi-end torque!

Very comfortable, especially with the seat warmers.

Does not handle well in the snow unless with extra weight in the back, and/or snow tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

1987 Volvo 740 GL 2.3i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3i petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124600 miles
Most recent distance266489 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Reliable but dull

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong since I bought it (nothing major anyway).

It has had new brake discs all round, new radiator hoses, millions of front side light bulbs.

New gearbox at 230K miles.

General Comments:

The car is acceptably fast and handles fairly well for such a heavy car.

The interior trim is a bit flimsy and the seats are in a dire condition now (260K miles).

I'm sure the car will continue to get me from A to B for a while longer before it finally gives up and goes to the nearest scrap-yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

16th Sep 2001, 15:08

Yes, I am sure it will go much longer. Mine has gone 335000 km and is still running on the original drive line.

1987 Volvo 740 GL 2.3i from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired276114 kilometres
Most recent distance277458 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A safe way to have fun

Faults:

Air intake hose collapsed.

Radiator hose cracked.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, great stability, also managed to get to 170km/h, very impressed with its ride with the amount of kilometres on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

1987 Volvo 740 GLE 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance133700 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Water pump, A/C compressor, fuel pump, but being original parts to begin with it's amazing they lasted 13-14 years.

General Comments:

I love this car. Stuffed 8 people in it one time, no problems. Drove it to Montreal... then to Virginia Beach no problems. Countless trips to Home Depot. If it wasn't for the accident I'd still be driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

1987 Volvo 740 Turbo Estate 2.3 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance236000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Just keeps on going

Faults:

Water pump packed in at 18000, clutch pedal broke at 235000, apart from a couple of clutch slave cylinders and blowing sidelight bulbs every month there have been no unexpected bills other than the usual tyres, exhausts etc.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I've ever owned, even with over 200,000 on the clock I wouldn't hesitate to take it on a long run.

Turbo makes it a bit thirsty, I get 280 miles on a tank-full, I'm looking to change it for a late 940 when something serious happens to it. Not as nice looking as a V70, but by all accounts much more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

19th May 2004, 10:31

If you think 200,000 miles is bad your wrong these cars will do half a million I know because I have 1 sat on my drive that has done that,they will last 4ever if looked after.

13th Jul 2005, 12:33

I'm the second owner of an '88 740 GLE, which I purchased with 130K original miles. I've driven it about 18 months and would not hesitate to drive it long distance. The car has never let me down. I tire out (especially in my back) after a long road trip; but after driving non-stop one way for 4-5 hours, I don't feel the impact of the road trip. This is one car that I look forward to driving..it's fun to drive, and I love the way it navigates, even after 18 years. My daughter is 16 and just getting her license. Although she doesn't like the so-called "old lady" sedans, she says she loves driving the car because of the feel of it and the way it handles. The original dolby radio still works great. It picks up every interval. I've even picked up clearly stations in other states hours away. I like the square wide body, and the square straight windows mean no blind spots. The car is definitely not a sport model, but it is definitely one that is easy to easily become adjusted and attached to.

1987 Volvo 740 Turbo Sedan I-4 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission I-4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carVolvo 245GL

Summary:

What more could you really ask for?

Faults:

Needed bushings when I got it, along with major a service @ 150K..

General Comments:

Runs like new, with power to spare, for city driving anyway.

Comfortable, reliable and safe.

Really don't think I would buy anything much out there except for another rear drive manual Volvo sedan or wagon. Maybe a 780... then onto Mercedes... the newer front drivers just don't impress...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews