1987 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 3 of 12

1987 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3L gasoline from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3L gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Bulletproof and dependable!

Faults:

I've replaced the rear brakes, headlight switch, both low beams.

General Comments:

Don't tell it it's an '87, it thinks it's new!

Bought it as a temporary driver, ended up keeping it.

We were scared about the miles, but this thing starts, runs, & travels like it's still new. We went from LA, to Portland with it, and it just ran like a sewing machine. These 2.3 Volvo's are indestructible.

One of the most pleasant surprises I've owned. We've put 32,000 miles on it, (has 162,000 now) and it runs better than most of my friends newer cars. Nothing fancy, not fast, doesn't corner great, just starts every time, runs flawlessly, and chews up the miles.

We've really come to love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2009

10th Aug 2009, 09:25

I fully agree with you on that one! These Volvo's do just grow on you... utterly reliable and has lots of character. The amount of people who buy one as a cheap temporary car and end up keeping them! I love them; very understated and well engineered vehicles.

24th Apr 2012, 23:36

Mine has 320.000 and many mountains in Los Andes (up and down); the best car I've never had.

Problems? The radio: does not work like 20 years ago.

Troubles? Not one, besides the radio.

I will not change it. My Volvo 740 is almost the perfect car! (I'm speaking of a 25 year old one that seems new).

Jaln

1987 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance156200 miles

Summary:

The best ever!

Faults:

A/C changeover.

Cat converter.

Otherwise very little.

General Comments:

The greatest car I ever had, period!

I am writing this because I feel guilty putting the car to the graveyard.

I have made the decision to hand it in for $4500 towards a 5 year lease on a Corolla for $99 a month under the cars for clunkers act.

I will miss this incredible machine. Nothing stopped it over the years.

I once lost control on ice going downhill and hit a tree head on at 40mph. My friend said when I told him the story. "well goodbye Volvo". He was amazed when I said, "no, just lost the bumper". They will never make a car like this, with its rugged body and truck engine.

Goodbye old friend, I will never forget how you performed for me over a 22 year period!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

31st Jul 2009, 22:03

Financially, you are making a very poor decision.

After five years you will have spent nearly $6000 and will own nothing. This doesn't include your higher insurance costs, taxes, and registration fees which will likely bring it closer to the $10,000 level.

OR...

You can enjoy a car that can do far more and will cost far less. It rides like the luxury car that it is. Has minimal insurance and registration costs. Is easy to maintain... and can pretty much fit any useful purpose and need the next five years.

2nd Aug 2009, 20:26

Your 740 engine will be murdered, as shown in the following video, as required by C4C. No Volvo engine, with the hundreds of thousands of miles they can deliver, deserves to die like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0IcIxhd8ks

Some college kid wants that 740. Please reconsider.

Besides, it's a 4 cylinder, how could it get less than the required 18 MPG?

25th Aug 2012, 17:19

Cash for clunkers: A waste of a program that killed who knows how many fine, useable used cars.

Sorry, you made a grave error, and I hope you are enjoying your cheap, sardine care Toyota.

1987 Volvo 740 Turbo Don't Know from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94590 miles
Most recent distance130008 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Absolutely worth it even at 23 years old

Faults:

The turbo just went out.

The headliner is falling.

The coverings on the glove compartment and below it's adhesives are going out.

General Comments:

The turbo just went out! That's 23 years of fantastic service.

It's a four cylinder with quite a kick.

It's very roomy.

Lots of trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2009

1987 Volvo 740 Turbo intercooler 2.4 tubo intercooler from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 tubo intercooler Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 264

Summary:

Good, comfy clunker

Faults:

Radiator leak.

Blown head gasket.

Turbocharger oil leak internal.

Interior plastics cracked.

General Comments:

Very comfortable quick car especially after fitting a Garret GT 28 turbo charger running 7 psi and K&N pod filter, no other mods. Good acceleration and high top speed. Fuel economy 1 liter per 7 km @ sportive driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2008

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 39 reviews