1994 Volvo 850 Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1994 Volvo 850 Turbo 2.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115648 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

This car is a lemon, and I am angry with the problems I have with this car!

Faults:

I purchased my 1994 Volvo November 27, 2007 from a used car dealer, and less than 30 days I started having problems.

The odometer stopped working the day after I picked up the car, now I do not have the correct read of the mileage. The dealers response was it work yesterday when you purchased the car! The Volvo dealer said" It would cost approx. $500.00 to repair the problem if that's all that is wrong with the car".

Next the check engine light came on the 2nd week in December before the holidays, and the car stalled on the highway. I couldn't start it (I was lucky to pull over to the side of road). I called a road side service and had it towed to a service station (it was the fuel pump; $470) to repair.

Back on the road again and the check engine light is on again one month later. It stalled again, but not on the highway. I took it to my mechanic; oil leak from the valve cover gasket and a manifold problem. This cost $225.00 to repair.

Now 45 days later the check engine light is on again; this time both oxygen sensors and he says I need a catalytic converter, over 1k to do the job.

Plus a number of other items till the present day stopped working; heated leather seats, power antenna, and various bulbs keep going out. There are some other problems also.

I have a lemon on my hands and don't know what to do with the car.

General Comments:

I like the Volvo for its safety features. My other car was an 1984 240 model; it had 187,000 miles before the transmission went out in October 2007. I like the style of the 850 model, but not all the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2008

17th Feb 2008, 10:04

You can't blame Volvo on this one. You can blame the dealership for not checking it out and you can blame the previous owners for maybe not doing maintenace, however a fuel pump and bad speedomert are age related issues that seem to happen as cars age.

17th Feb 2008, 12:56

I gotta agree with the last post. Yes, Volvo's, are very reliable/durable cars, but they require alot of maintenance to prevent these mishaps from occurring. I believe you may have purchased a car that just wasn't maintained before you got it.

Check out the helpful forum at brickboard.com. Those Brickfreaks (myself included) are a fantastic resource when it comes to DIY repairs/maintenance.

Good luck!

1994 Volvo 850 Turbo 2.3L turbo from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Recommended

Faults:

Drivers side seat heater doesn't work. Check engine light was on, but I turned it off using the jumpers. Other than that nothing if the car is maintained properly.

General Comments:

I don't know what you people are talking about. I've had absolutely no problems with this car and its 14 years old. Before this I had an 1989 740 GLE and didn't have any major problems with it at all. If you change the oil and filters ect... you will have no problems with this car at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2007

1994 Volvo 850 Estate 2.4 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired296000 kilometres
Most recent distance303900 kilometres
Previous carAcura Vigor

Faults:

This is a high kilometer car so "please" don't be too shocked.

Front left axle - ABS sensor ring rusted, lost a piece and them fell off.

Front left caliper as it was sticking.

Front and rear rotors.

Front, rear and emergency brake pads.

Front struts and rear shocks.

Sway bar links.

Ac compressor as the clutch in the old one, I'm guessing, was worn and began sticking and then smoking on occasion (scaring the hell out of me) causing the temperature gauge to drop to zero and scaring the hell out of me.

Smoke is supposed to come out the back and not the front of the car.

Steering rack and power steering lines and an alignment.

Front right headlight and all four tail lights.

Tail lights were fogged over, as thought lightly sand blasted and they wouldn't pass the safety.

That was the first $1000 to go into the car.

Rear main seal. Don't recall the replacement cost exactly, but I'm sure it was a little over $350.

Got an exhaust leak that should be taken care of 08/27/07.

10% tint on drivers and passenger windows and 5% on the rest. Have to remember to get a backup camera.

General Comments:

Reason for Purchase.

I bought this car because the 1994 Acura Vigor GS was a great car and was quick as hell, I wanted and needed a car with more room for, you know, stuff.

The car is a high kilometer car so I knew that maintainence was going to be needed.

While the list was long, I'm not going to have to worry for the next few years as now that most of the work is now complete and unless I use the car as a "Rubarb Harvester", I'm not going to really need anything else, but I'm not ruling anything out.

I'm still waiting on the steering lines from Volvo Home to complete the rack and alignment portion.

I'm really happy with the car as before the suspension change the car did handle fairly well, but now, "Ho-ly Cow", it's got turn in, great side to side quick manuvering and stops like no other car I've ever owned.

I've owned a number of P.O.S. and replaced brakes on most all of them and still have to say that this is "Sick Quick" on the haul down.

Interior.

The seats in this car are fantastic. The Acura Vigor GS had good seating, but the Volvo has what I call "Long Haul Seating" as this is a car that I would have no problem driving to Toronto or Montreal in without any back ache.

The power drivers seat is adjustable in just about any direction and if you can't get or find a comfortable seating position then install a couch. This seat is the most comfortable thing next to a La-Z-Boy.

Back seat room is fantastic and unless your Karim Abdul Jabar or Yow Ming you'll have more than enough room in the rear.

Being an Estate, don't like the term wagon as this isn't the wild west, it has loads of room in the back and I can stuff more than I really need and now going to the cottage won't be such a pain to load/unload.

Mileage & Horse Power Foot Pounds ofTorque.

1994 Acura Vigor - not so good, but fun, 176hp and 176fpt. Topped out at 202km per hour.

1994 Volvo 850 Estate - great with 168hp and 162fpt. Topped out at 186km per hour.

Compared to the Vigor, which needed premium and got not quite 400km per tank (ouch) with an easy right foot, the Volvo will run on regular gas which saves me a lot as I do a lot of driving and am now up around the 650km (sweet) mark which is fantastic. And this is with a good highway cruising speed at around 2500rpm to 2800rpm.

The Vigor, when run in this range, would almost allow you to watch the gas gauge drop, but then again it was a performance sedan and when some "Duh Da Duh" pulled a bone head in front of you, you could leave him/her in the freaking dust where they belong.

Remember the line "What's behind me does not concern me" (Cannon Ball Run), well the Volvo has got some scoot when you hit the "Sport Mode" button, which shifts down an extra gear, which in my opinion, and changes this heavy Estate into a "Get behind me where you belong" type of ride that puts a smile on my face every time. "Me likey"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews