1994 Volvo 850 Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1994 Volvo 850 Turbo 2.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz Mercedes Benz E190

Summary:

Drives well but extremely expensive

Faults:

Suspension, transmission (replaced two of them), replaced at least 3 set of tires due to suspension problems, replaced all front end suspension parts, replaced rotors, starter, radiator, fuel pump, camshaft position sensor, etc.

General Comments:

This car has been a hole in the pocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

25th Sep 2005, 07:20

The 850 Turbo wasn't introduced until 1994.

11th Nov 2007, 02:48

It was only re badged as T5 in Europe. In America was 850 Turbo till the end of production.

1st Feb 2008, 15:20

OK fair enough you are correct about the rename in europe only. I live in Northern Ireland. But here is another little bit of info which you may or may not find useful; the 850 was introduced almost a year earlier to europe than america which may answer why you cannot get a '93 turbo in the states.

3rd Feb 2008, 05:43

You can't get 93' turbo in EU either. Turbo was available in 94'.

1994 Volvo 850 T5 2.4 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carVolvo 360

Summary:

Fantastic, but expensive to run

Faults:

Continuing problem with emission sensor warning light. Six visits to dealer to rectify!

Lost second gear, requiring new gearbox (scarp yard). Engine is too strong for gearbox, especially if someone's been hot rodding. Volo service is aware, but didn't let on.

Front tire wear.

General Comments:

Fabulous drive. A butt clenching rocket, that will blow off most anything under $75K.

Beware of turbo torque thrust under punched low gear acceleration. The amount of torque is enormous and being front wheel drive she'll twitch for a second. Very easily handled, but scares the hell out of you at first when you don't know it's coming.

Don't buy anything over 100k miles. The computer which help make this a wonderful car starts to play up after living in the hostile realms of the engine bay. Buy low mileage and have a couple of wonderful years, then get shod of it before the boogie men come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

1994 Volvo 850 SE 2.0 injection 20 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection 20 valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carTata Safari

Summary:

A well built, stylish car that has only improved through time

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is quick and handles beautifully.

However, although the acceleration is good, the real power only kicks in at approximately 1500 to 2000 revs with this model.

Although the cabin accessories are simple to look at, they are very well made, and plentiful.

The accessories include heated seats, electric and heated mirrors and electric windows, however only the passenger side mirror is electric and the tilt and slide sunroof is manual, maybe this is Volvo's way of separating the models.

The car is very spacious in both front and rear cabins and the boot.

One of the best things with this car is it's towing power and the very good economy whether towing or not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1994 Volvo 850 GLT from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Mechanics dream - owners nightmare

Faults:

Before purchasing this car from a used car dealer, we brought it to a mechanic for a check-out. He indicated no major problems.

After purchasing it, we brought it to a Volvo shop for a tune-up, changing the timing belt (as it was due). -> ~$1000.

A couple of months later, we spent another $800 on the heater core - as it went out - thus flooding the interior of the car.

Just recently, we had to replace the transmission with a new one (this is a notorious problem with this year and model Volvo as it was the first year they came-out with this configuration - front wheel drive - on this model.

We've become to know the Volvo dealer all too well. Sian-ara, this lemon is going up for sale.

General Comments:

Looks nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

1st Jul 2002, 21:10

I purchased a 1993 850 in July of 2001. 30 days later, I replaced the tranmission. Needless to say, I was very upset. Just last week, my heater core went out and I am now having it replaced. In the course of a year, I have put over $3,000.00 into my car. Oh, by the way, when I bought the 850 a year ago, it only had 75,000 miles on it. I thought I was safe. After all, my 1989 740 had 206,000 and was just fine. Go figure. I wish somebody would by this thing off of me.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews