1995 Volvo 850 Reviews - Page 19 of 20

1995 Volvo 850 GLT 2.5 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 20v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Great performance, comfort and safety

Faults:

Occasionally suffers from a resonating brake problem, shim kit from dealer will fix this.

Front left headlamp wiper motor replaced.

General Comments:

Performance is excellent, always get away from the lights first!

Comfort is second to none.

With regular servicing this car will last forever.

And looks great too. Also have a look at the accessory catalogues from Volvo, there are many options available after purchase. And Volvo dealers are very friendly. But parts can be costly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2001

22nd Mar 2011, 03:42

OK 10 years on and this car is going strong.

It's now hit 220,000 miles and goes like a clock. Irish roads are a little demanding of the drop links, otherwise fine...

1995 Volvo 850 GLT TDI 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance64500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Quick comfortable car with some problems

Faults:

Fault with a smashed side window security sensor at 8,400 miles.

Fault with door deadlock arming at 9,400 miles.

Clutch bearing replaced at 28,000 miles.

Air conditioning failed at 52,000 miles.

Driver's door stay broke at 56,000 miles.

Front brake caliper seized at 64,000 miles requiring a new caliper and disc.

General Comments:

This was not a cheap car to buy and I have been disappointed by electrical and mechanical unreliability.

Front tire wear is fairly rapid. I don't treat it like a sports car, but the front tires last about 14,000 miles. Those who drive with verve can expect much less tire mileage.

This model has a very marked turbo-lag effect. Acceleration is excellent for a diesel when the turbo cuts in.

Fuel consumption is excellent for such a big, fairly fast car. Average consumption is 36 mpg. On long runs at sustained speeds of 90 mph I have had fuel consumptions as low at 44 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

1995 Volvo 850 T5 CD Saloon 2.3 20V turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 20V turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Get one soon!

Faults:

I bought the car knowing it needed a new clutch for £550, and 2 new tyres Pirelli P Zero for £280.

Only thing to go wrong - a brake light!

General Comments:

This car is the CD model.

Leather, traction, climate, cruise, CD changer... Jesus it is absolutely class!!!

It has had a modification done to the turbo - a "TPiece" fitted, which give the turbo 100% compression all of the time, my car is now pushing out 285BHP!!!

Believe me it is so quick.

I love this car more than my wife!

I only paid £5000, it is a 96 N, with 106,000 on the clock. BARGAIN.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

5th May 2001, 04:05

If a T piece can raise the horses to 285, think what adding a chip can also do to it. There is a site where a guy has a 400 bhp 850 T5, looks nice too.

12th May 2002, 14:28

I've got a Manual boost controller (T-piece) on my S40 T4 and if used sensibly it really changes performance to something scary, but you have to be careful not to go to mad or you will fry the engine big time.

1995 Volvo 850 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great car - solid, reliable. I'd buy another in a heartbeat

Faults:

I had to get the front wheel bearings replaced last summer; one started to get noisy, so I replaced them both. The car is a lot quieter now.

No other maintenance.

General Comments:

Great car. We had a 1988 Camry previously (which my wife adored). When I drove the 850 home to let her drive it, she first thought it was big and boxy. After she climbed in the driver's seat she warmed up to it. After 20 miles on the Blue Ridge Parkway, she was hooked. She can see out of it better than her Camry (she's only 5' tall).

Nice cabin, lots of room, even with the rear seat back for my 6' frame I can sit in the back and not hit my knees on the seat back.

This non turbo is fast also. Not blindingly so off the line, but when you need to pass someone and need the engine at 55mph, it's there.

I love the 5 speed.

Nice handling, especially with the Michelin tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

5th Jun 2005, 21:41

You have mentioned you would by another in a heartbeat. I must disagree the 850 is expensive to maintain although it can be cheap if it is maintained properly. My suggestion is you should sell your 850 and by a BMW 3 series.

Or try the Honda accord a sense of luxury at a modern day price.

12th Nov 2005, 16:17

Responding the the previous comment, BMWs and Hondas are both expensive to fix compared to Volvo, not necessarily more reliable, and are more expensive to insure. No thanks!

2nd Sep 2006, 03:08

Good choice. I used to own a BMW and a Honda. Well, Honda was relatively good, except for that plastic interior... BMW 3 series had too many annoying problems, and was little claustrophobic on the inside, not enough room, even on the driver's seat. Volvo 850 is great choice, especially T5 version. Loads of room, great seats, reliable, loads of electrical goods, relatively cheap to maintain... Only bad thing on turbos is fuel consumption, if car is driven hard, other-vise it is a great car.

Oh, I'm currently on my 3rd Volvo (V70T5) and I'm very pleased with it, my previous Volvo was 850 T-5R estate.

6th May 2009, 14:23

I own a Volvo 850, a Honda Civic and a BMW 3 series. I would rather drive the Volvo any day. A comfortable ride, great seats, and wonderful handling, economical, but great acceleration. Both the Volvo and Honda require minimum routine maintenance so my ownership costs is minimal. My 2 teenage sons both rejected the much sexier and flawless looking BMW in favor of the more practical and comfortable Honda and Volvo to take with them off to college. Smart kids!!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 56 reviews