1999 Volvo S80 Reviews - Page 11 of 15

1999 Volvo S80 T6 T6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission T6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

I would not recommend this car

Faults:

The computer system failed several times. We went to a Volvo dealer and had it completely reprogrammed only to have it fail again after 3 months.

The struts needed to be replaced at 40,000 miles.

The leather console flaked and chipped away after only 3 years.

There is an oil leak that doesn't seem to go away even after 2 $800 trips to the repair shop.

The electrical system would shut off the windshield wipers. You have to shut off the car and restart the car to get them to work.

General Comments:

I love the look of this car, but am extremely disappointed in the reliablity of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2004

10th Jan 2005, 09:02

Thanks to all the kind folks who reviewed this vehicle. My husband and I have two older Volvo's we love and are going to buy another two to replace them this year. Thanks to each one of you, we will not buy an s80.

We still think our best bet is the 850 GLT series.

Thanks again. This is why I love and read this site before buying!

1999 Volvo S80 2.9litre from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.9litre Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Watch for costly repairs post-100K miles

Faults:

Brake booster failure.

Stabilizer bar failure.

Window lift mechanism failure.

Transmission, O2 sensor "service urgent" warning lights inappropriate for actual repair needed.

General Comments:

My chief complaint is that the computer codes read at the dealership may not accurately reflect the real repair needed: for example, the codes may indicate the need for new O2 sensors when all the car needs is the gas cap tightened. Similarly, my dealership asked me to pay $3800 for a new transmission when a flush was all that was needed. Owners should confirm the problem before spending the big bucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

26th Mar 2005, 07:32

Steve.

I have a similar problem with my 1999 s80 t6.

Transmission lite came on the dealer reset & 2 months later it's back on. It runs fine. What do you advise or recommend... I don't want to get ripped for 3k +- thanks Bob

teto.

email address rtestate@comcast.net

1999 Volvo S80 s80 2.4 SE (140) 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

Disk brakes are pitted and need replacing a 400 pound exercise.

The Emission Warming light keeps on coming on and going out. Volvo informed us to keep on driving its fine.

General Comments:

A superb car.

A bit on the large side for handeling in tight car parks.

Goes like the clappers on motorway, even in 2.4 liter form.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

9th Apr 2005, 20:24

Try to find an "Advance Auto Parts" that has the codes to reset your computer (ridding you of the Emission Warning). You could also have a bad O2 sensor, causing you to lose a lot of gas mileage (getting maybe 15mpg), and you will not pass inspection if that error light comes on.

13th Feb 2010, 07:20

I own a 1999 140hp 5 cylinder S80. It's now 11 years old and has 122000 miles on it. It still runs good and I find it beautiful.

The maintenance on a regular basis that must be religiously made are just two. Cleaning the electronic control unit every three months, and changing the oil and filters ever 10000km. So far she's still my uber babe! By the way, mine has manual tranny. I intend to keep her for life!

Arolf.

1999 Volvo S80 t6 2.6L turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61500 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Luxury in the past, refers to quality...Jury's out

Faults:

New Steering Rack at 61k. New Swaybar links. New pulley. CD player does not work. AC Compressor replaced. ABS sensor replaced. Speed control sensor replaced. Mass air control sensor replaced. Hoses re-routed. Throttle control replaced.

This is above and beyond the recall items.

General Comments:

I bought this car used and knew there were a couple things that needed repaired. However, after only 6 weeks, it's been in the shop twice, w/numerous issues. It wouldn't start at all this last time. This car has not been wrecked, or salvaged... yet the mechanics/electronics of the car appear to be a nightmare. I hope I'm wrong. But, why would a luxury car, with 60k on it, need so many repairs and major component replacements. I've had my Saab for 6 years, 140k on it... and in all that time, never spent more than $500 on repairs. Maintenance is expected... but replacement unnecessary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 51 reviews