1999 Volvo S80 Reviews - Page 14 of 15

1999 Volvo S80 T6 T6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission T6 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A design winner, but a mechanical failure

Faults:

Transmission failure twice.

Front suspension/ball joints twice.

Front struts.

Transmission shift lock twice.

Air conditioning.

Keyless remote is weak.

Emission sensor daily.

Dashboard display electronics.

CD player.

Power steering.

Various "codes"

General Comments:

I have not seen a car in this class that can compare to the sharp looks and comfort features of this Volvo.

The engine is fast, handling is questionable because of "comfort" adjusted ride.

That said, the style and comfort will never overcome the substantial frustration with the mechanical failures that I have experienced almost on a daily basis.

Only slightly less frustrating is Volvo's (and the dealership's) lack of "ownership" of the problem. Regardless of the cars current odometer reading, each trip to the dealer's service department yields one of two responses:

"I'm afraid that's going to be very expensive to fix" or,

"There's no problem, we checked the error code, reprogrammed, and everything is fine now"

Until next week.

This is the best car in the world if all you ever do is stay parked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

21st Apr 2003, 15:49

I have had my 1999 S 80 since May 2002. It is in the shop once again, this time to the tune of $1,200.00. To date, I have spent around $2,700.00 in repairs. The struts had to be replaced, ABS module went out ($850.00), approx. $400.00 repair something to do with the fuel line, now the head gasket and oxygen sensors in the catalytic convertor needs to be replaced. I had a 1996 S90 before buying this one. We never had a moments trouble out of it. When I get rid of this one, I will never own another Volvo, not the car it once was.

1999 Volvo S80 Optima 2.5 diesel from Italy

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Unstoppable!!!

Faults:

Nothing, absolutely nothing!

The only thing I could say is that sometimes the cockpit vibrates a little, but it's a vibration that none of the passengers has never heard, and it really is very little.

The driver's door has sometimes problems in opening with the remote controller in winter, but one just has to open it with the key and the problem is solved.

General Comments:

The car has a great comfort, plus very low gas- diesel - consumption. I sometimes run 20 km with a litre at 120 km/h.

It is more spacious than Mercedes E Class and even the S Class and BMW 5 Series.

It's really silent and pleasant to drive. I drove 2200 km without switching off the engine with an external temperature of 30-32 degrees, and she was never tired! Great travel companion!

Maybe only the trunk is a bit small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1999 Volvo S80 straight 6 cylinder 2.9 litres from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission straight 6 cylinder 2.9 litres Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

Slightly disappointing yet very pleasing at times

Faults:

At around 50000 km the engine cooling fan failed to disengage after engine had been turned off. Ran the battery flat.

Computer faults have occurred.

Engine mount was replaced.

General Comments:

Lots of legroom.

Very roomy esp. in the back seat.

Side mirror impact folding works like a charm, once scraped a parked car's mirror with my own at fair speed. The mirror folded and didn't even have a scratch.

Very, very luxurious!!!

Great leather seats. Very comfortable (front seats are heated) Excellent electric seat controls for driver seat.

Dash buttons and controls are excellent. There are thumb buttons on the steering wheel to make calls with.

Very good steering and control, although sometimes the car feels a big too large for the city.

Good brakes and engine, fairly meaty.

Very safe and smooth ride.

I feel it is a little too expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1999 Volvo S80 2.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

I would buy this car again

Faults:

The ball joints were replaced (under factory recall).

General Comments:

Smooth ride, great performance, comfortable seating, and a great factory sound system all contribute to a pleasurable driving experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1999 Volvo S80 T-6 In-line six,twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission In-line six,twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVolvo 960

Faults:

Transmission failure based on dealer diagnosis & Volvo of North America input. Symptom was a 'Transmission Service - Urgent' in dash advisory panel coupled with an illuminated Engine Service Light.

Ball joints replaced under warranty at 30,500 miles.

Noticed a vent tube cut off below the engine to prevent snagging on curbs and trashing timing belt (a poor design on Volvo's part).

General Comments:

Rear visibility out of the rear window is unacceptable.

The car looks like a Honda Accord.

Inadequate thigh support on the front seats.

Buy an Audi or new VW V-8. Leave this one for the test pilots & repair crews in Sweden to sort out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2001

12th Jul 2002, 14:35

Are you sure you were in a Volvo S80? Like a Honda Accord? You have to be kidding. The items that were recalled were fixed and are expected with a new design. 99s with the recalls fixed are as good as 00, 01 and 02 which have few to none after early model changes. The S80 is wonderful. Go buy an Accord, it looks like a Honda Accord.

20th Oct 2002, 01:05

Actually I agree with the above survey about the look of the S80. The S80 highly resembles a 1994 Honda Accord, especially from the rear. Many reviewers (even in Car and Driver magazine) feel the same way. I remember when it first came out. That was my first impression: "it looks like a Honda on steroids." The mainstream design falls right in with everything else. Other than the alloy wheels, there is nothing particularly unique about the S80 as far as looks. Volvo's may have once been boxy, but doggonit they were unique and had character...prestige. Now they just look like everything else.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 51 reviews