1999 Volvo S80 Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1999 Volvo S80 T6 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Do not buy a Volvo S80 T6 -- Repairs are Expensive

Faults:

The struts on the right front bent from normal wear and tear and needed replacing. Even though the car was under certified warranty program, the warranty conveniently did not include this defect (even though other aspects of the strut were included under the warranty). Cost was over $800.00 for the work.

The tail brake lights fail every 3 months and need replacing. Although a minor issue, I'm not sure that a more problematic short in the electronic system is causing the problem.

The air conditioner coolant valve leaked. After 4 trips to the dealer and after spending $800.00, the unit needed to be replaced for another $1200.00.

The electronic accelerator module went bad shortly after the certified warranty expired. Cost, $1200.00 to replace. Again, not sure that a short in the electronic system is the culprit.

General Comments:

The Volvo S80 T-6 appears to be a nice car. However, every time I go to the dealer even for a routine maintenance check, I drop between $800-$1000. I seriously question the worth of the car because of its reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

28th Mar 2005, 14:28

I own an 2000 S80 T6 and I have the same issues. my heater core now leaks after a faulty cooling fan caused my car to overheat.

I have had nothing, but issues with this car.

I now understand why they say Volvo for life; you can't get it out of the drive.

15th Sep 2005, 00:46

I own a 2000 Volvo S80 2.9 Your comments regarding the costs of repairs are accurate. I am now replacing the throttle assembly at a cost of $1000. Every time I go to the Volvo dealer the bill is $1000 or more.

I made a big mistake by not trading the car in BEFORE the warranty expired. I will trade the car in by Jan 2006.

Consumer Reports warned me that the car's reliability is poor, but I bought it anyway.

My next car is a Honda Pilot. Consumer Reports first pick of all SUV's.

22nd Jun 2009, 15:18

Quit going to the dealer. you are dumb. I have this car and its great. you must keep terrible care of your car. quit getting ripped off.

1999 Volvo S80 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very Reliable

Faults:

Engine fan motor would not turn off, this was a recall.

Radio failed and was replaced during warranty.

Car door lock would randomly unlock itself, motor was replaced at 87000 miles.

Turn signals and buttons failed on steering wheel mount. It had to be replaced.

Sunroof, door locks and inside lights would not operate on occasion. It would fix itself when I would restart the engine. Dealer said they new about this glitch, but was not worth fixing.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable, but expensive to maintain.

The car has a very comfortable ride and roomy inside.

The car handles very well and has power.

Volvo service has been great.

Good idea to buy the extended warranty. I've used it several times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2004

1999 Volvo S80 T6 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

This car will pay for your mechanic to send his kids to college

Faults:

Many problems with the electrical system. The Engine Control Module has been replaced twice and it still has intermittent electrical failures.

Parking brakes locked up at 34,000 miles.

Motor mount broke at 40,000 miles.

Heater core seals started leaking at 38,000 miles.

Power steering hoses starting leaking at 44,000 miles.

Numerous engine oil leaks. Small, but annoying.

Driver's door has air leaks - annoying wind noise at freeway speeds.

General Comments:

While I enjoy the performance and comfort of this car, it is extremely unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

9th Apr 2005, 20:19

What you must keep in mind is that 1999 is the first year Volvo made the S80. There are kinks that haven't been worked out. The Turbo version, which you have, often have more problems... the more you have, the more there is to go wrong. Volvo's in general are known for their mechanical reliability overall, but not their electronic. You would be better off with a 2000 or 2001, where the problems have been taken care of.

BTW--I happen to own a non-turbo 1999 Volvo S80, and so far, at 37,000 miles, I have had a failed O2 sensor, and, more importantly, my alternator blew. (350 dollar repair). When you think about it, yes, Volvo's are expensive to take care of, But You will have more of the inexpensive repairs, rather than the 3000 dollar transmission problems. Generally, you can have codes reset in the Volvo S80 by a dealership, if all you have is an error on the message screen, but no other noticeable problems (IE, an O2 sensor computer code needing resetting because of a "Emission System Service Required" error. If you take out the battery and then reconnect it within ten minutes of shutting off your car, this is more than possible.) I hope I have been of SOME help.

26th Nov 2005, 11:19

Volvo S80 T6 'multiplex electrical system' a disaster (or an experiment that failed) depending if you are the owner or Volvo. Mounting circuit boards on master brake resevoirs that cost $800 to replace is absolute madness. Volvo lost the recipe with the new front wheel drives. No excuse for 'turbo' type issues, Volvo was a pioneer in this area and the twin turbo S80 is a prime example of failed re-engineering. Funny how this engine was tested for over two years in the 960 body by Volvo and performed extremely well. Cost cutters at Volvo were successful in producing a failed product for the consumer and then added insult to injury by failing to stand behind their vehicle. Save your money and grief, buy another brand with reliability and a warranty that means something, too many exclusions in the new Volvo front wheel drive cars.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 51 reviews