Proton Gen-2 Reviews from Malaysia - Page 3 of 4

2004 Proton Gen-2 1.6 petrol

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance6523 kilometres

Summary:

Gen-2 is fairly a good car, but don't expect too much of it

Faults:

Co-driver's electric window replaced after 3 month.

Dashboard was making a lot of sound 4 month after purchase.

Passenger doors hard to open.

General Comments:

Gen 2 is good at handling as claimed.

Performance is not as good as what proton's claimed.

Interior quality is the most disappointment.

After purchase, just realized that the boot is not excess-able from outside.

Other aspects of the car seem to be fine for the moment.

Generally, gen-2 is fairly a good car. Don't expect to much out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

9th Oct 2005, 05:34

Hmmmm.

I wonder whether I should change to a gen 2 from proton waja?

5th Dec 2005, 06:27

NO you should not change from WAJA to Gen 2 as waja is much better than Gen 2.

17th May 2006, 11:48

Hi.

Can anyone comment on 2005 /2006 Gen-2 car? Is it reliable? Asked a friend who bought this car for only 2 months- still OK, but I wonder what happens in a long run. Contemplating wo buy MyVi, but shape is not nice.

2004 Proton Gen-2 Campro 1.6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Campro 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Attractive looks, but very problematic

Faults:

Extremely poor quality.

The mileage of the car was more than 100km when I first received the car.

Few light bulbs were fused when the car was less than one month old.

Car got overheated at one month old cause radiator fan not functioning.

Water leaking into the car.

The whole alarm system was faulty and eventually had to be replaced.

The car couldn't start due to defective car battery when the car was not even one year old and I was charged RM270 although the car was still under warranty.

Defective petrol / gas tank after delivery.

Defective fuel indicator.

Faulty power windows and reverse sensor.

Engine gets stuck at high rev all the time even when in free gear.

Extremely noisy engine as compared to other cars in the same class.

Driver's front legs tend to hit the protruding lever of the steering wheel when entering or exiting the car.

Remote control is weak and unreliable.

The interior of the car vibrates and creates lots of noise like a 10 year old car. (This is very typical of proton cars!!)

General Comments:

The performance of the car has improved as compared to Wira and Iswara.

Very sporty design.

However the quality of the car is extremely disappointing. Strongly advice everyone especially females not to buy this car if you travel alone often as this car is very unreliable and you might put yourself in danger if the brakes down.

I was made to pay for the defective car battery and the fused light bulbs although the car was still under warranty. This is very unfair because I have to pay the price for the poor quality components of the car.

I should have learned from my past mistakes (I previously owned a proton wira) that proton cars are poor in quality and will continue to be like this. Proton will always take things for granted because it is exempted from certain taxes imposed on other car brands.

Please dot not buy this car if you can afford other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

22nd May 2005, 05:08

I defintely agreed with you that these car give a lot of problem. Especially the sensor, door knot is not responding and doors always jam where you cannot open from outside. Overall, poor service by proton sales team and technician.

17th Jun 2005, 05:35

This is Proton... if compared to Produa, I would say Produa quality is much better than Proton even I did not own a Produa. Anyhow, now a day, you have much choices...

2004 Proton Gen-2 1.6MT 1.6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance33500 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Good design, good handling, good power at high-rev, but everything else is terrible

Faults:

Poor quality as if QC (quality control) is non-existent at Proton.

Petrol / gas tank replaced 2-weeks after delivery.

Fuel consumption indicator not accurate / malfunction.

Power window on driver's side replaced 4 months after delivery.

Reverse sensor replaced within 4 months.

Sound from front suspension - strut bearing replaced in 3 months.

Front fog lamp covers seem to be made from very thin glass / plastic.

Air-conditioning does not function properly unless car starts moving.

Engine gets stuck at high rev (about 2000rpm) even when in free gear.

Engine and road noise is relatively higher compared to other cars in the same class.

Engine has very low power at low revs. Engine only kicks in at 4000rpm.

Driver's front legs tend to hit the protruding lever of the steering wheel when entering or exiting the car.

Remote control is ridiculously and frustratingly unreliable.

Doors are extremely hard to upon, especially when new.

General Comments:

I took delivery of the Gen-2 in Aug 2004, so the problems are probably because this was one of the first batch of cars from the new Proton factory.

For the price, the car has extremely good handling. Ride is a bit on the ‘hard’ side, but it takes corners very well, thanks to the Lotus-tuned handling and maybe to some extent, also the bigger and wider standard tires. Even at very high speed (190km/h), the Gen2 feels stable. On the other hand, the Wira or other cars in the same class gives you the feeling the wheels are not touching the road.

When braking at such high-speeds, the steering vibrates rather strongly. I suppose the brake disks aren’t properly balanced. At normal 120km/h and below, braking is quite good.

Proton’s Campro 1.6 engine is rather loud. Wind and road noise also gets rather loud when driving above 90km/h.

Engine response at low revs is pathetic, but above 3800rpm, the engine starts to come alive. One will therefore need to adjust his driving style to really get the most out of this engine, but driving at high revs will definitely hurt fuel economy. Top speed achieved on a flat straight was 197km/h, at about 5500rpm. Red line is at 6000rpm+.

From my experience, at normal cruising speed the fuel consumption of the Gen2 is better than the Wira.

The Gen2 comes with a micro-computer that provides data on:

1) fuel consumption (how many Liters per 100km)

2) mileage

3) distance that can be covered with the remaining fuel, and

4) total time engine has been on.

The fuel consumption data is unreliable. It indicated fuel consumption was 5.5L for every 100km, even when I’m driving at 160km/h. That’s better than a hybrid car! When I complained to the dealer, they changed the fuel tank. I could not understand how that could solve the problem. Needless to say, changing the fuel tank certainly didn’t fix the problem.

There are some good touches in the car: the place to store your sunglasses, the business card holder and the overall appearance is quite nice, but that’s about it. The quality of the accessories in the Gen2 is poor. I’m really disappointed with the number of times I’ve had to go to the dealer and get things replaced. Currently, the car is under warranty, so I don’t have to pay for these changes, but I’m bracing myself for the high-maintenance cost I’d have to deal with once the warranty expires.

Power window on driver’s side was replaced 4 months after delivery. The glass actually got misaligned and it took 3 of us to ‘push’ the window back in place. The dealer then replaced the power window.

Reverse sensor malfunctioned and was replaced within 4 months. The sensor went off, even when there was nothing at the back. The high-pitching alarm was extremely irritating.

Sound came from the front suspension, as if something was loose whenever I drove over a bump. Eventually, strut bearing was replaced in 3 months after delivery. Noise also came from the front suspension when I turn the steering when parking the car. The dealer adjusted the tension of the (sorry, can’t remember what the name is). It fixed the problem, but one week later the noise came back. I gave up complaining. The noise coming from the front suspension when going over bumps has also reappeared - this time with a vengeance. There’s even a rattling sound, as if some bolts have gotten lose.

Front fog lamp covers seem to be made from very thin glass / plastic. Both covers have shattered, probably because I hit some mosquitoes or insects when driving at 170kmh.

Air-conditioning does not function properly unless car starts moving. This problem occurs when you start your car. If the car is stationary, the compressor doesn’t seem to kick in until 10minutes later. You need to actually drive the car a short distance for the compressor to work. Fortunately, once it starts working, it continues to operate fine even when you stop at traffic lights. However, its really unacceptable that the air-conditioner can’t immediately operate properly when I start the engine.

Engine gets stuck at high rev (about 2000rpm) even when in free gear. This happens intermittently, especially after a long drive. When I reach the toll plaza or traffic light, the engine keeps on humming at 2000rpm, even though the car is stationary and in free-gear.

The seating position in the Gen2 is much better than Proton Wira, but driver’s front legs tend to hit the protruding lever of the steering wheel (which is used to adjust the angle of the steering wheel) when entering or exiting the car.

Rear seats are not very comfortable for tall people. Externally, the car looks beautiful, but the sloping roof results limited headroom for tall people sitting at the back.

Remote control is ridiculously and frustratingly unreliable. You must be very near the car for the alarm to arm or disarm. If you’re being chased by a convict, DO NOT try to seek shelter in your your Gen2. This would be one horror movie where the hero actually dies because he couldn’t open the doors in time.

Doors are extremely hard to upon, and I mean *extremely* hard, especially when new. Maybe this is Proton’s new anti-theft feature.

I should’ve listened to my friends who discouraged me from buying a Proton. I just wished I had listened to them!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

24th Mar 2005, 01:44

Some addendum to the comments I posted earlier.

I've just sent my Gen2 to the dealer for service. The rattling sound coming from the front suspension has been fixed - at least for now. The front struts were the culprit and have been changed.

Somehow, I find it hard to accept that all these maintenance and replacement is normal for a car that's only 8 months old with 33,500km...

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews