1993 Geo Tracker LSi 1.6 litre i4 8v


Probably one of the more overall fun vehicles available


The Tracker had a replacement engine in it when I purchased it in June of 2005. The engine was the same as the original and the new engine has around 45,000 miles on it. The only problem I have had is the spark plugs need replaced.

General Comments:

The Geo Tracker is a great vehicle all around. Whether you're a seasoned driver or just learning, and with the ever-growing market of upgrades for these cars anyone can make their Tracker their own.

The ride is somewhat rough, but, then again, it is a 4 wheel drive folks. I've driven the 5 speed and heard about the automatic 3 speed and, with all due respect to you automatics out there, I would suggest the manual. Not just for the 5 mpg better than the automatic, but admit it, who hasn't dreamed of going down the highway at 60mph with the wind in your hair and shifting gears.

All in all, the Tracker is NOT a Jeep, but then again, not many Wranglers get 27 miles per gallon either.

In closing, if you are looking for the biggest, brawniest, 4 wheel beast alive, look no further than something else. On the other hand, if you're after fun, affordability, and seemingly endless after market accessories, I think you will find it in the Geo Tracker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2005

23rd May 2007, 05:30

A helpful review because I've got my eye on an old Tracker.

1993 Geo Tracker 1.6L


Less reliable with age, but still goes


Needed a new a/c clutch and power steering fluid changed when I got it. This probably had to do with the over-sized wheels that had been put on it putting more stress on the pump. Everything else seems fine other than the issues I have had with an alarm system someone installed. Needs oil pan changed and it looks like it will be a pain to try and do it myself.

General Comments:

Car is very nice to ride in and gives you a big car feeling with the nice tall windows despite the fact that it is actually quite small. You can buy a wedge cup holder and it fits perfectly into the nerf bar in front of the passenger side seat :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2005

19th Nov 2006, 10:45

The undercoating did not stop serious rusting on my tracker. Both spring brackets on the rear axle rusted through. These are a difficult item to repair, due to the extensive rust on the frame. I welded a patch on the frame and used pipe of the same size to replace the old supports.

1993 Geo Tracker LS,


It's the cutest p.o.s. I've ever owned


The timing has needed fixing twice. The transmission has had to be rebuilt. It overheats when high speeds are reached. It has had too many things go wrong with it than I'd like to deal with.

General Comments:

All in all, I like this car, It is the cutest thing I have ever seen. I just can't deal with spending more money to fix it than I paid for it. It handles like a dream, but has no acceleration or speed. It also doesn't help that it is not 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

28th Aug 2006, 20:02

I finally found out what was causing my 92 Tracker to overheat - it was a collapsing heater hose, fortunately the top one. If your temperature gauge goes down when you accelerate then that's probably it.

22nd Oct 2006, 15:55

I had an overheating problem and it turned out to be a sticking thermostat. That caused it to get very hot several times and ended up splitting a tube in the radiator. I replaced the radiator and rad cap and the problem still surfaced. Took a while to track down because the sticking was intermittent. A new thermostat and it hasn't happened since.

1993 Geo Tracker


Highly Reliable, Cheap to Operate


Clutch was replaced at 122,000 miles. Cost $400.00.

Brake pad/shoes replaced at regular intervals, but had to replace front rotors at 142,000. Cost $200.00.

Drivers side interior door handle broke at 120,000 (super glue fixed it and it still works fine at 145,000). Cost $.98.

Front drivers side seat retractor system broke at about 100,000, dealership fixed. Cost $20.00.

Soft Top falling apart at 145,000 (stitching is rotting and windows are started to get discolored from sun damage). Cost $150-200.

Hard to control in windy situations.

Car does not handle well at high speeds.

Uncomfortable for long drives.

LOUD!! My vehicle has a lot of miles and I am sure that with a new top and weather striping some of the noise will decrease, but it is really really loud. The cross winds can actually lift the top up. I have on multiple occasions come out to my car and found the interior covered in sand, rain and snow.

Front clips that hold the top from flying back wards broke. Cost $20.00.

Timing belt (chain whatever you want to call it) replaced upon mechanic suggestion at 70,000. Cost $90.00.

General Comments:

I had virtually no repair costs with this vehicle until it hit about 120,000.

The car is VERY reliable and the overall costs to fix things has been relatively low.

Other than regular maintenance items, I have had no major complaints with this car. I plan on it lasting another 50-100 thousand miles (knock on wood).

It is extremely easy to work on and parts are generally easy to find (although I have had to wait for parts to come into the shop once or twice).

The heater (don't have A/C) works really well, to the point of almost burning your hands if you are not careful about were the vents are pointed.

The defroster does have difficulty with keeping the side windows free from fogging up, so you do have to play games with the heating system to keep both front and side windows from icing or fogging up. I purchased some anti-fog stuff from Rain-X and it got rid of the problem.

Gas mile when it was younger was good, but now that it is older it is starting to decline a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2005