1993 Geo Tracker 1.6L


I love this car; very reliable, fun to drive, easy to work on


Had to have the transmission rebuilt at around 190,000 miles, and now at 263,000 miles. The original engine has given out and needs to be replaced.

Minor problems include interior door handle breaking at the hinges, and now the window crank mechanism has broken. Had to replace the heater fan switch assembly, which I was able to do myself. Minor equipment problems such as these can be expected on a 23 year old car. I think for all of the use it's gotten, things have held up pretty well. Other than that just regular maintenance issues.

General Comments:

This is one of the most reliable cars I've ever had. It just keeps going. I commute around 250 miles a week and this is my main commute car. I'm slightly over 6' 5", yet I'm able to sit up straight without my head banging on the roof, and the seat is very comfortable during my 1.5 to 2 hour drives.

I've changed the oil regularly, every 3 to 5 thousand miles and always add Rislone at the oil changes, and it has kept going for 263,000 miles, but now needs to be replaced. Will be having the work done by a local mechanic. It will cost about $4,500, but it's cheaper than buying another late model used car. It's so reliable and fun to drive that I think it's well worth the money to throw another engine in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2017

28th Dec 2017, 15:50

I think your car is too old to be throwing money at it like a new motor. Use the money to buy a 10 year old Toyota.

31st Dec 2017, 20:25

Or, five more Geo Trackers.

2nd Jan 2018, 23:37


As I mentioned previously, I had the transmission rebuilt a little over 2 years ago. With a rebuilt engine I'll be in good shape. If I buy a 10 year old car from someone else, who knows what I'll get, or how well they took care of it. I might inherit someone else's problems. I know this car and what I'm dealing with. Toyotas also don't have much headroom for a guy my height, which is a big deal when you have to commute long distances. Thanks for your input though!

3rd Jan 2018, 16:54

Well, pray that it doesn't get totaled in accident or some other mishap. Insurance companies don't care that you just spent $4500+ on a transmission and engine rebuild. You will be offered book/market value for it.

1993 Geo Tracker 1.6L


I love driving this car


My automatic transmission has to be in low 2 until it warms up. Then just slip it in drive and go. Changed filter and fluid and vacuum modulator and it got a little better.

Original convertible top, Back window zipper has small tear.

General Comments:

This vehicle is very easy to maintain and economical.

The interior is very roomy and easy to adjust.

Adding a cold air intake increased the MPG by 2.

This is an awesome little car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

1993 Geo Tracker LSI 1.6 8v


Extremely reliable offroad vehicle


General maintenance done (fluids, exhaust work, bearings)

Exhaust header cracked (replaced with aftermarket)

Tranny staring to slip.

General Comments:

If I can say one thing about this Tracker, it is a tank. I used it for daily driving purposes until about 2005, then also got into offroading it. I lifted the Tracker 2 inches and got new wheels and 30 inch tires for it. I thought it would have only been a modest little 4x4, but so far it has conquered ANYTHING I can manage to throw at it.

Even in all the offroading I've done recently, nothing has gone bad in all of it. The engine runs superbly and the tranny still shifts well (starting to slip around corners now when I drive it to school, that's it) Other than basic maintenance and the things I put in for the lift, it's all still factory parts.

I have gotten into several accidents with this Tracker, most just causing scraps and bumps on it, but last summer it hit a car and screwed up the front end a good bit (bent frame, stuffed engine mount, bent steering shaft) Even through that, the thing will still start right up and drive fine (I'm still driving it 80 miles daily to school and back)

When the inspection runs out on it this summer (won't pass again due to the bent frame) I'm converting it to be strictly my offroad vehicle, and I look forward to its years of service it will provide me down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008