Hyundai XG300 Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 9

2001 Hyundai XG300 L

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Of the 42 cars I have owned, this one is the best

Faults:

A recall for the front power seats wire housing.

A AC vent cover came loose, I broke it puting it back on.

The head lights had to be replaced after about 60,000 miles.

I'm on my third battery and third set of tires.

General Comments:

I bought this car for its seats and great ride. After 118,000 miles and regular service, it still rides great.

The car also handles like a heavy luxury car, but accelerates quickly with its 5 speed automatic. It's not a hot rod, but gets me quickly out of trouble.

I have also hit two deer with it with extensive front end damage and it still handles like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

2001 Hyundai XG300

Model year2001
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Nice car, but repairs are very costly

Faults:

Check engine light is on constantly.

Replaced battery and alternator at 61,000 miles.

Dealership has not been able to correct the problem with the engine feeling like it is idled too low.

General Comments:

Seems like a great car if the hesitation and idle problem can be resolved without costing me a small fortune.

I have spent $1,500 in repairs/service already and problem still exists.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

28th Aug 2005, 12:03

This car did not exist in 1996, therefore there is no way that you could have owned one.

18th Jan 2007, 00:28

It could be the Sonata V6, which is basically the same car, but without leather and rest of the bling.

18th Jan 2007, 11:38

No, the Sonata and the XG are not built on the same platform - they are totally different cars. But the original poster may think he has one even if it was a Sonata.

2001 Hyundai XG300 3.0

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance27 miles
Previous carHyundai XG300

Summary:

Drives well for a piece of crap!

Faults:

Engine Code Light would come on and the vehicle has shut off twice while driving. I am on my third trans. My drive belt and fan belt have went. The harmonic balancer broke off and the A/C clutch froze up. Just to fix the problems with the A/C and harmonic balancer cost over $700. I have had this car in the shop over 20 times with in the past year and a half.

General Comments:

The handling of the car when it works is one of the best out there for its money. BUT, "big, but" I will never buy a Hyundai again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

27th May 2005, 17:12

I am not the one who wrote the review about this car, but I still do not appreciate the wisecrack comment made to the review writer. It is in no way funny or amusing.

You know, anymore I have seen a lot of this lately on this site. People being smart mouthed and rude to the review writers. I have in the past wrote some reviews, but I no longer do them for that reason.

They do it because they are cowards and know they will remain anonymous.

I doubt they'd say such things within the review writer's reach!

Unless things improve and people act their age here I won't be writing any more reviews...

1st Jun 2005, 06:47

According to your review you owned the car for less than a year and put no miles on it?

Having trouble figuring out that computer thing?

2001 Hyundai XG300 L

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A great value in a near luxury car

Faults:

One front brake rotor warped. The radio has a short that is not fixable. LED lights in the dash have burned out twice. The car was stalling, but easily fixed by a quick dealer reprogramming.

General Comments:

Overall the car is a beautiful machine. The longer I have it, the better it drives and the more comfortable it feels especially on long trips. It survived a side collision with a large buck at 60 mph with only a small ding and a couple of small scratches that rubbed out (killed the deer). All cars have some problems, and all models have a few random lemons, but this vehicle has pleased me for its comfort, build and reliability. And the styling is handsome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 33 reviews