Hyundai XG300 Reviews from North America - Page 7 of 9

2000 Hyundai XG300

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance80723 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Solid car for the asking price.

Faults:

Transmission replaced at 80,000 miles due to "shudder" when shifting from 4th to 5th gear.

General Comments:

I have been very pleased with the quality, ride and handling of the XG.

When carrying four adult persons, the car will tend to "bottom out" on rough roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

4th Jul 2004, 07:40

I too had (and continue to have) a tranny problem. Mine is from 3 up to 4. I have had one tranny replaced (I am sure it is a computer problem.) I also have a near-death experience with hard acceleration from a stop within the first 5 minutes after starting the car.

2001 Hyundai XG300 3.0

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance59623 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

A big piece of worthless junk

Faults:

I have a problem almost from day one with this car in poor transmission shifting and hesitations. The dealers has put in two transmissions and it still doesn't run right.

The way they get around their warranty is to try and tell the owner that, "That's the way it's supposed to run". So in doing that they get rid of you for awhile.

My windshield wipers had to have the linkage replaced after complaining and almost getting killed 3 times. Finally they got it right.

My leather seats are horrible. The drivers seat had to have the complete frame replaced. The seat adjustments are terrible.

The aluminum wheels have been replaced once because they were peeling and should be done again.

General Comments:

Hyundai should train their dealer mechanics in how to fix their cars.

The worst driving experience that I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

4th Sep 2003, 23:00

What means "aluminum wheels were peeling"?!

16th Feb 2004, 00:11

I'm sure it means the clear coat. Cosmetic, not a safety issue.

22nd Aug 2008, 21:35

I own a 2001 XG300 with about 95k miles. and I have been very unhappy with the car! The car has never shifted very well and I had problems with my ABS light coming on for no reason. I was driving one day and the next thing I know, my car jerked really hard and my check engine light came on. Well, it turned out to be nothing and once the computer was cleared, the check engine light disappeared and it's running fine. All 6 spark plugs were just replaced last weekend. All 3 timing belts, transmission fluid, air filter, power stirring, were replaced 4 months ago. My car still has problems.

2001 Hyundai XG300 L 3.0 DOHC V6

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance22596 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

A Wonderful Luxury Car

Faults:

No Problems with the car, except for recalls.

General Comments:

The best car that I have driven in, very comfortable and quick. The XG300 is one of the best cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

2000 Hyundai XG300

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance39900 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Faults:

I like the car for the most part, but this horsepower thing is wrong. It is not the car that I bought or was advertised. I sent Hyundai a letter and have gotten no response. False advertising??? If there is a class action suit count me in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

2001 Hyundai XG300 L 192

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 192 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance13331 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Hopeful that Hyundai will continue to build a value added priced vehicle that people can trust

Faults:

The sheet metal dents with less pressure applied, compared to any of the 42 previous vehicles that I have owned.

I am angered that they lied and stated horsepower rating was 192, when in fact it is only 182.

General Comments:

I am not pleased with the options Hyundai is offering owners of missed rated horsepower vehicles.

Based on my knowledge as a recruiter staffing Engineers in the development of power train systems. I feel this error was willful and wanton.

I think over all Hyundai has come along way.

I highly recommend that you follow the service schedule to the letter. Failure to do so could void their Warranty.

I hope Hyundai resolves this error of horsepower rating without the need of a class action lawsuit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

11th Nov 2002, 13:04

Did you live in a high place?

Because performance is different at the sea level than in high places. A car loses like 10hp for each 1000 mts. So don't use a Daewoo Tico (40hp) in the Peruvian mountains (over 3000 mts)

9th Dec 2002, 17:32

I just got off the phone with Hyundai. They offered me $300 for the HP problem. I denied this offer. An extended warranty will do me no good, I don't think my car will make it through the warranty it already has.

After speaking with the representative, I firmly believe Hyundai thinks they did no wrong and don't care about their consumers.

T Murphy.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 33 reviews