Toyota LiteAce Reviews from Philippines - Page 2 of 2

1991 Toyota LiteAce Toyota 5K

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Toyota 5K Manual

Summary:

Reliable family car

Faults:

Engine temperature tends to rise close to overheating, especially when stuck in traffic, with the air con turned on.

Air conditioning is weak.

There is a persistent knocking noise at the sliding door area that could not be located.

Dim headlight.

Hard starting, when hot.

General Comments:

I like the ample cabin space.

The engine has so far been reliable as long as proper maintenance is performed.

One of the general comments about the car is its being under-powered. Could this be one reason for the tendency of the engine to overheat?

I am thinking of replacing the 5K engine with a larger 7K, what considerations should I keep in mind should I proceed with this? Would there be compatibility problems?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

30th Jul 2008, 07:48

Yes, it's true, I have noticed also on my lite ace van it is hard starting when the engine is hot especially if you are driving from one place to another, I wonder if that's normal. Every time start I still have to pump the accelerator.

4th Aug 2010, 08:12

I owned a Lite Ace van, can you tell me where I can buy cheap parts? Thanks!

1991 Toyota LiteAce Lite Ace 91 5K

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5K Manual

Summary:

The car is a great value-for-money, too bad they already stopped its production

Faults:

Constant problem with the steering and under chassis assembly.

Engine temperature tends to rise close to overheating when used with air-con turned on and in idle.

Weak air-con.

General Comments:

The car is relatively easy to maintain, engine-wise.

I also appreciate the ample space inside the car.

Being a >15 year old car, I can say that I am satisfied with how the car has serviced my family over the years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

1993 Toyota LiteAce GLX 5K. 1.5 cc

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5K. 1.5 cc Don't Know
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance128000 kilometres

Summary:

The Lite-Ace is a very practical, reliable, durable, simple, useful and low maintenance vehicle

Faults:

My Toyota Lite-Ace developed over-heating problems for a while. But this has been solved, as mentioned in other comments. The Toyota Lite-Ace over-heating problems are primarily due to poor cooling system maintenance i.e. worn radiator cap i.e. the spring is rusted or loose/ rubber gasket is worn out), punctured or cracked radiator hoses, installation of a cheap rubber hose that deforms as the engine gets hot restricting water coolant flow in the engine, clogged radiator due to accumulation of mineral sediments from the water (that is why radiators have to be regularly flushed.)

What I would like advice on is how to increase power to the Lite-Ace. My cruising speed is down to 70-80 kph, and the mileage is down to about 7 k/liter. My Lite-Ace is 13 years old.

The engine probably needs to be de-carbonized, but other than this, I was thinking of getting a better air filter, changing the distributor to a contact-less distributor, changing the ignition coil and spark plug wires. I think these would all be of help, but would these changes result in a significant improvement? Would appreciate anyone's thoughts/ suggestions.

General Comments:

The Lite-Ace is a great car - simple/ not too expensive to maintain (non-fuel injected/ no computer chips) ; a car an ordinary person can still do some simple self-maintenance on.

The space is great. I use it to transport our 4 dogs - three Labradors and a mixed breed Pomeranian/ Lasha-apso and one cat. Plus small appliances/construction materials from time to time.

The reason I would like to make improvements to it, is so that I can still keep and use it. My wife wants to change it with a new vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2006

12th Apr 2007, 10:08

The LiteAce is built for work, not speed. If you want more speed, replace the differential with a high speed one. Of course, this will be paid for in torque, especially in steep hills. If you opt for this, better change your clutch to a better one too.

In your case, the problem seems to be in the timing of your ignition. it's probably set too late and your spark plugs fire way after the downward stroke of your pistons. Have your ignition timing checked. You should be able to go up to 110-120 kph on flat roads (no load and no ac).

7th Apr 2009, 03:19

We have a 1993 Liteace as well. It has been very good in the 2 years we have had it. Does anyone know how to remove the curtains so they can be washed?

13th Jul 2009, 09:43

Hello.

Would need advice from you guys. I just got a 93 GXL Liteace and I can say I am indeed very happy driving her around. Taking a cue from the others in this forum, I would like to make sure I drain the water in the radiator at least regularly. But question is I have been trying to look for the drain valve and can't seem to find it. Can anybody please help out? Appreciate it.

27th Oct 2009, 04:27

To the guy looking for the radiator drain plug, it is located at the lower right side portion of the radiator.

It is made of plastic and is not very commonly available. A bit bigger than the older Corolla models.

1st Apr 2010, 19:21

Good Day.

I was wondering if any of you would know where I can buy tail lights for my Liteace? Had my left one broken. I was wondering also if it is possible to buy a piece only, or should it be a pair? Appreciate it.

1991 Toyota LiteAce GXL 1.5 5K

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 5K Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carmitsubishi lancer 93

Faults:

Engine temperature reaches half after 20 minutes drive.

Water pours out at the reservoir after use.

Needs to pull choke lever before cranking to avoid strong vibration.

General Comments:

The van is OK at the moment I already found the cure from overheat which is one of the important factor, here is my idea add silicon oil to the clutch fan if you feel your fan is loose then remove the coil located in the middle clutch fan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

5th Feb 2006, 23:24

I acquired a 91' LiteAce last December and I noticed that it has no water reservoir.

Is it normal for a LiteAce to have no water reservoir?

I find it hassle coz every time I add water in the radiator, I have to lift the driver seat and remove things in the console.

Comment pls..

1994 Toyota LiteAce GXL 5k

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5k Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance164000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Faults:

Knocking sound when engine heat, previous experienced of oil not circulating due to dirty oil screen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

14th Oct 2005, 07:33

I am a 15 year owner of a Liteace. It is cheap on gas and maintenance. Just watch out and avoid an engine overheat which happens when the radiator cap is improperly placed. The van will not give you problems as long as you limit your driving speed to below 90 kph. Where can you enjoy the flexibility and capacity of a van with the maintenance of a small car because of its 1500cc engine. I love it and plan to make it last beyond 20 years.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews