2012 Chery Tiggo TX 1.6

Summary:

A great car at the right price

Faults:

Cat converter at 50 000.

General Comments:

What a lovely car.

Apart from normal servicing, I did not spend R500 in 100 000 km. That was for removing the cat converter at 50 000 km. The door rubber kept on coming loose, but that was solved with a bit of Bostick.

Tires were replaced at 100 000 km with slightly smaller ones (225/60/16), which made the car a lot nicer to drive, and you can drive around in 5th gear, where you previously had to change down to 4th or 3rd. I can strongly advise owners to consider this change in tire size. It is much quicker and has better fuel consumption as well. It is also much easier to pull away with the air con on.

Service from the dealer was pathetic to say the least, and I decided to do the servicing myself.

It is basically a Toyota RAV of 3 models back. It uses a lot of RAV4 spares.

Ride quality is a bit hard, but bringing the tire pressures down to 1.8 bar sorted that.

I would buy another one without thinking twice.

Any enquiries about the tire changes can be sent to carel@trailerboys.co.za

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th September, 2014

13th Sep 2014, 09:40

It's a nice car and I own it!!

10th Oct 2014, 21:38

Lovely car, but the dealer here in Egypt doesn't care about his client, so the customer service is a disaster. I love my car, but it has many faults.

20th Oct 2014, 07:03

Hi, I seem to be experiencing the same problem of the catalytic converter giving in at 51,000km. Where can I have this part removed, and what sort of cost can I expect it to be?? I live in Durban, KZN. Thanks.

2009 Chery Tiggo TX 1.6

Summary:

Great car for little money

Faults:

Great car in my opinion. The car had a few problems, but how many cars are problem free?

1. A small metal plate under the gear stick (it was difficult to change gears) had to be replaced. That was faulty, but it wasn't that expensive to do.

2. Catalytic convertor had to be removed, but I now drive without it. I had the exhaust system bypass the convertor (makes the car sound like a diesel, but it doesn't bother me at all).

3. The river flooded once (45000km), my whole engine flooded when driving through the deep water, but had it air cleaned (all water blown out of the engine) and it never gave any problems again.

I couldn't afford to service my Chery most of the times, so in its entire lifetime it only went for 2 small services, and it now has 145 000km and is still going strong (the warranty expired because I couldn't afford servicing).

4. I've noticed the Chery Tiggo in South Africa has very bad resale value.

General Comments:

1. Great on gravel roads, nice ground clearance.

2. Great to drive, easy to drive; my son learned to drive in this car.

3. Lots of space. HUGE boot and lots of space for everyone.

4. In my opinion, a very reliable engine with a very solid body.

5. I don't know how it is possible, but I never replaced any of the tires on my Chery Tiggo in 145 000 km and they are still legal according to SA requirements.

I noticed most people complain about the auto gearbox having major issues. I have the manual gearbox.

Great, great car for the money; it is well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2014

2011 Chery Tiggo LXE 2.0 petrol

Summary:

Good car - No after sales support, don't buy

Faults:

Power steering pump failed twice; once under 1000km, and the other time under 30 000km; both times replaced under warranty.

Rear tires were swapped with worn out ones at the 15 000 service. I had to purchase new ones as the garage denied this.

ABS light is always on. Been to the service station 5 times; they are unable to fix this.

Catalytic converter had to be replaced at 60 000.

Spare wheel cover at the back was broken when I received the car. Was promised a new one. After 76 000 km and 16 months, still nothing, except that they expect me to pay for the replacement.

Service book not stamped at services.

Tow bar fitted by the dealer catches the bottom of the boot door when opening and closing, and reduces the car's ground clearance by about 200mm as it's mounted under the body.

Lists of issues reported before services do not get looked at at all, like replacement of batteries on the remote, checking of oil leaks.

Shudder and noise when I reverse, started directly after I received my car back from a week's service to fix a problem caused by the catalytic converter.

Service team did not do the scheduled check and replacement of front brake pads at the 75 000km service.

General Comments:

This car is really great to drive on gravel roads; very soft and comfortable. However the ground clearance is significantly reduced by the tow-bar and this limits me a lot, as it catches on the average speed hump in my complex.

The service in South Africa is past the point of being unreasonably bad; I serviced my car at the head office and three other garages; only one gave me service where I did not have to go back to them afterwards. My car was booked in for a week at one dealer with a list of issues to be looked at; they only did an oil and filter service, and ignored all the other problems. Got the car back after a week with all the problems listed exactly as they were before. The service manager just ignores emails, and claims they fixed everything. Remote battery is still dead, oil leak is still there, shudder on reverse is still there, non closing spare wheel cover is still not closing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2014

6th May 2014, 04:21

How can this car be considered "good" when it has gone through 2 power steering pumps in 30000 km and a cat converter (!$) at 60000 km! Plus all the other faults mentioned.

8th May 2014, 03:34

I have had too many problems as well. I have a Tiggo 2.0 TXE Auto.

The cat was replaced at 45000KM under warranty, then it stuffed out again and had to pay R2000.00 for them to weld the sensor on.

The high pressure pipe on the power steering burst while I was driving and had to be replaced.

The ABS sensor gave in and I had to replace the whole hub unit.

The temperature sensor for the fan stopped working and the car was getting overly hot; had to pay R1500.00.

Now the gearbox light comes on when the car changes from 1st to 2nd gear, only when cold. The service centre says they can't see that.

Too many issues for a new vehicle. I would seriously not recommend this vehicle for anyone to purchase.

14th Jun 2014, 11:51

I think the writer said good to drive, and does not recommend this car at all. It's definitely not a good car with all these issues listed. I will not purchase this car; as you mentioned with all those issues, this is not a good car, not even a bad car, but a really bad, stay far away car.