2003 Peugeot 307 Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 5 of 11

2003 Peugeot 307 XSi 2.0 xsi

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 xsi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Not very reliable at all!!!

Faults:

1 Indicator stalk not working correctly.

2 Carpets coming away.

3 Lumpy idle.

4 Blowing fuses.

5 Paint defect.

6 Ripping leather on seats.

7 Bubbling door cards.

8 THE CURTAIN AIRBAG ACTIVATED FOR NO REASON.

9 Wrong readings on oil level gauge.

10 Anti pollution fault light.

General Comments:

I brought my car from Peugeot in Cyprus and as a result have experienced untold problems with dealers, they just don't want to know.

Good car, lots of nice gadgets, some useful, some not, and in the end more to go wrong.

Make this car reliable on it would be a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

2003 Peugeot 307 LX 1.4 HDI

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 HDI Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

It is not safe and should be inspected by an independent Safety Authority

Faults:

A suspected electrical fault caused the engine to catch fire.

General Comments:

I am of the opinion that this car is a risk to drive.

The engine and all electrical parts failed whilst I was driving and then the engine caught fire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

2003 Peugeot 307 SW SE 110 HDi turbo diesel

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 110 HDi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

More cheaply built than it looks

Faults:

Whine in 3rd gear. (Unresolved)

Folding mirrors sometimes erratic.

Turbo blew at 6 months old. (Fixed after 6 week wait for parts)

Suspension rattles. (Fixed)

Door handles jammed in temperatures over 40 degrees Celsius and the trim falls off them.

Clutch and flywheel failure at 50000 miles (Fixed after 3 week wait for parts)

Carpet and door trim falling off. (Unresolved)

New turbo now reported as noisy by dealer. (awaiting decision on whether to replace.)

General Comments:

A lovely, comfortable car to drive and be in.

I get 40 miles per gallon which I think OK for a heavy car.

Repairs all under warranty so cheap for me, but will be a risk when warranty lapses.

Delays for parts unacceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

2003 Peugeot 307 SW SE 2.0 HDI

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

A joy to own, drive and look at every single day

Faults:

Rear seat strap release broken.

Driver door carpet comes out of trim.

5 disc CD player stopped working.

Nearside rear door handle broken.

All of the above problems were fixed immediately by our dealer.

General Comments:

With the SE model every electrical option has worked from day one and are all still working without any problems.

Automatic head-lights, windscreen-wipers & folding wing-mirrors are amazing inventions!

Handles at speed better than a 3-series. The 205/55 x R15 help I'm sure.

Better spec on our £15k car than my brother-in-laws £36k 5-series.

Managed to get 30 cases of wine in recently (with all 5 seats removed) & the boot was still only half full.

We are getting an average of 42mpg even with lots of short journeys.

I also believe that we have the best dealer in the UK at Gillingham, Dorset.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

2003 Peugeot 307 LX 2.0 HDI 90

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI 90 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12500 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Absolute Rubbish!

Faults:

Rear window replaced, heater strip faulty.

Problem with oil level indicator sensor, replaced with modified unit, control unit also replaced; and soldered connections made.

N/S/R door handle replaced (Twice)!.

Door trim replaced, (Kept falling off)

Spare key replaced/reprogrammed.

Squeak from CD changer (Unresolved)

Gearbox whines on over-run.. worse than a land-rover (Unresolved)

Vibration through drivers floor-pan when engine cold (Unresolved)

Air conditioning mists up screen if turned off (Unresolved)

Engine smokes heavily under acceleration (Unresolved)

General Comments:

In the process of trying to reject this vehicle under the sale of goods act!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

4th Nov 2004, 14:27

Added by author of review!.

Had the car on a lift today...

1) The dealer has "Lost" the undertray.

2) Back axle manufactured incorrectly, rear tyres illegal after 21,000 miles. We have checked the rear track, tows in by 12 degrees.

After massive "Public" argument with dealership director they have finally agreed to exchange the car for another, however I would have been far happier if they gave me a refund!.

2003 Peugeot 307 LX 2.0 90 bhp diesel

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 90 bhp diesel Manual
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

It's OK, but the two niggles nearly led me to change it

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, but seriously let down by two major niggles. The blind spot created by the sweep of the windscreen supports is bad enough, but the 5 inch band which the wipers don’t reach on the right hand side of the windscreen is ridiculous and positively dangerous. My local dealer adjusted them and said ‘everyone complains about that.’ Why don’t Peugeot provide windscreen wipers designed for right hand drive?

The clunk from the rear suspension on slightly bumpy roads when you have people or luggage in the back indicates the suspension simply isn’t good enough. Come on Peugeot, beef the suspension up to a decent standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

31st Aug 2004, 11:31

You got the windscreen wiper problem fixed?! I didn't know it could be done. I'd love this to be fixed on my 307 - can you let me know more details please? Thanks, Ben.

14th Oct 2004, 12:11

Ben... Did you get any information re adjusting the windscreen wipers?? or have you done it yourself?

Could you let me know?... cheers Phil.

8th Nov 2004, 12:09

No news on the windscreen wiper front unfortunately - I can live with the problem, but I'd much rather get it fixed!

17th Nov 2004, 11:52

Re adjusting wipers on 307. I had mine serviced today the dealer told me this (problem) was a feature of the car and couldn't be adjusted. Would still appreciate it if anyone could tell me how it can be lessened as a problem either with or without Peugeot consent.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 38 reviews