1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 2 of 15

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Overall this is the best car Acura ever made..

Faults:

Sarter coil replaced with MSD coil.

General Comments:

The car has great performance with all of the mod's I have installed...

The suspension has great response...

Acceleration and handling is very impressive...

I would recommend if you find one in good shape GET IT...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

1990 Acura Integra LS 2-Door Hatchback 1.6 Liter from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired113213 miles
Most recent distance113346 miles

Summary:

A great car that will provide many years of service

Faults:

I recently just bought this Integra. The only thing that I can see that has gone wrong with it is the A/C doesn't work, possibly due to needing to be recharged (because the compressor still comes on), and the speedometer jumps until 70MPH...then it stays still. It has a small patch of rust on the hatchback lid lock, and the front brake rotors are shot.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The automatic transmission still shifts smooth (even though it would be more fun with the 5-speed). The car is designed really well, being an early '90's car. *If anyone has any idea on how to make the speedometer needle quit jumping, please let me know*

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

27th Sep 2006, 20:46

Possibly a loose speedo cable.

1st Dec 2006, 11:43

The jumping speedo needle is caused by a worn speedo-cable. You will need to replace it before it finally breaks. I have no experience changing a Honda/Acura cable, but it is usually a fairly easy procedure. Good luck.

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40300 miles
Most recent distance44350 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Great reliable car with good looks and Acura craftsmanship

Faults:

Front rotors are a little warped and needs new pads all around.

General Comments:

I bought this car 2 months ago with only 40,000 miles on it. The thing looked brand new! I used to work at a Honda dealership and it was nothing to see cars with Honda's 1.8 liter motor to come in with 3 and 4 hundred thousand miles on the Odometer. I have noticed the brakes are a little soft and shake somewhat, but new rotors and pads all around should fix that. I have been a little disappointed with the 23 city and 25 highway M.P.G. I've been getting. I think with a better intake and a tune up the situation should improve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8L DOHC from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124200 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Outstanding value. If you can find one in good shape, buy it

Faults:

Exhaust system was replaced at 131,396 miles.

Distributor failed and was replaced at 135,396 miles.

Both front axles replaced at 138,956 miles.

A small amount of rust has developed around the trunk lock, the rear wheel wells and door.

General Comments:

This is the first Acura I've owned and I have to say I am really impressed. The Integra is the most reliable car I've ever owned. It's amazing how well it runs, drives and looks considering it's 16 years old. Aside from the work mentioned above, I've only had to perform general maintenance on this car.

The car is fairly quick mated with the manual transmission and handles. Gas mileage averages 29-34 mpg. Not the smoothest ride, but this is to be expected from a compact sports car.

Interior layout is convenient and controls are easy to navigate. Space in the back seats is pretty limited, but the seats fold down for a heck of a lot of cargo space. The only complaint I have is that the designers didn't feel the need to include cup-holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired177000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Value and fun for money, Great little car!

Faults:

I have had this car for only a month now and it has not given me any major mechanical problems so far, but there is a rattling sound of some sort from the back of the car as soon as you turn on or off the ignition (I don't know what it is, I guess fuel pump or some other motor!)

General Comments:

It's a fun little car to drive and it's an absolute steal for the price I paid for it. Has 177800 miles on it now, but drives, sounds and handles very handsomely!! Doesn't burn or drip oil and the combustion is good. Transmission shifts OK, but I liked my jeep's transmissoin better (I thought it shifted better and smoother). For a small car and engine its pretty zippy, this one's not even a Vtec. This is a GS model so comes with all the goodies except for airbags. Rear disc brakes and ABS for a 1990 car is not bad at all. Ergonomics is good considering that it's a 16 year old car! My friends liked the looks of the car except for the dings (which the previous owners managed to make on this small little beauty, but they did all the other regular maintanance). I am planning to put a K&N performance air filter and a new cat back exhaust on it!

I wish to drive this beauty for a long time, as long as it runs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews