1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 8 of 15

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 Liter Dual Overhead Cams 16 Valves from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Dual Overhead Cams 16 Valves Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance210500 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Yes, but there are a few thing that are easy to do that can add performance and engine life

Faults:

When I first got the car I had all 4 wheels aligned. (100,000 miles)

The thermostat went bad soon after. (The vehicle would never warm up in very cold weather.) (115,000 miles)

I purchased rims and performance tires. (120,000 miles)

I changed the spark plugs to Bosch +4. (125,000 miles)

The brakes were sufficient, but wearing out so, I replaced them with carbon metallic on all 4 wheels. (125,000 miles).

I also noticed under moderate to hard braking the wheel would shake meaning the brake disks in the front were warped, but not warn out. I changed them with cross drilled rotors. (125,000 miles)

At about 130,000 miles the shocks went bad.

At about 150,000 miles the exhaust was rusted through.

I changed the fuel filter at about 175,000 miles.

I also changed the timing belt at 175,000.

General Comments:

I have had no major engine problems since buying the car. (No Joke)

The clutch still holds good grip even at over 210,000 miles.

I installed a RAM air intake which added 2-3 miles per gallon.

If you are planning on changing the exhaust after it goes bad I recommend buying a cat-back all stainless steel exhaust.

The interior after 13 years is near perfect.

The paint job is great with a few minor glitches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

6th May 2006, 03:36

Thank you for the "air ram intake" advice. Never thought about that. My 1990 is still going strong in 2006. Fantastic car, fantastic quality. Recommend using only 100% silicone engine oil (e.g. Mobil 1). Less wear, less internal engine dirt and easier cold-weather starting.

13th May 2006, 01:03

I have a 1990 gs, acura, it will drive for your pleasure, and give you the all the safety, that you'll need in a compact car. be safe!!!

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance1875000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

I had to change the spark plugs. The seats started to wear.

General Comments:

This car has been a great car so far. The car is very quick after a few mods. Do you think I should sell the car, just because it has 187K. Or should I kept it will go forever. Please tell me in the comments. And how long do you think it will go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2003

15th Mar 2004, 02:03

I've read on numerous occasions integras will keep going past 247,000 miles.

15th Jun 2004, 11:16

Well my Integra has 360,000+ miles on it,really I have pictures I have changed the engine twice and still, this car have some more miles to go!

16th Sep 2004, 20:59

Don't sell a car that was developed the same year that Acura developed their prized 89 thousand dollar NSX. Yeah, it is very creditable when you see the two cars. The interior looks the same and the chasis on the Integra shows hints of the NSX. Honda spent a decade developing the NSX and the same year they build it they build the 1990 Integra. They're almost the same car!

3rd Jul 2005, 21:56

Keep the Tegie. I'm had mine for 15 years only 125,000 miles, but I'm hearing you should get a good 300K miles. If your Exterior and Interior is looking great even if the engine goes it's not much to replace, but I'd recommend installing a VTech when that time comes.

11th Jul 2006, 15:52

Yeah the nsx comparative remarks are a little on the loony side.

11th Jul 2006, 20:51

My mom has a 1994 Acura Integra RS "5 speed manual". It has 250,000 miles on it, all original parts except the CV axles have been replaced and one lower ball joint, due to my brother turning the wrench the wrong way and breaking it off...

Well I just bought a 1994 Acura Integra LS "Automatic 4 speed" with 127,000 miles on it last month. I've already had to replace the inner tie rod and am about to put 2 new front ties on it. I am going to buy an entire front end kit and replace all of the front end suspension pieces, except shocks and springs.

It is a rare one - I see Integra's all the time, but this one has a different look to it... if it were not for the front lights or the word Integra on the rear and front bumper, then it would be hard to tell it was an Integra from the outside.

22nd Jan 2012, 00:14

Sure, but the NSX is a mid engine, RWD 6 cylinder, while the Integra is a front wheel drive, standard engine position 4 cylinder... so not really.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews