1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 11 of 15

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very depenable car, fun to drive.

Faults:

Replaced the Alternator 2 times. ($250+ each time)

Replaced Distributer ($400)

Two months after replacing the Distributer my igniter went bad. ($200)

Replaced the Radiator 2 times ($400+ Each time).

Transmission slips between 2nd a 3rd and will not shift down or up when its cold.

Thankfully I live in Arizona. (I can live with the bad transmission for $2000. Its really not that big of a problem.)

All the motor mounts are busted. (I just live with the shaking) $500 repair.)

Power steering Rack is starting to leek.

General Comments:

It has great pick up still and runs great.

I have really pushed the limit on replacing parts, "transmission, motor mounts". They have both been bad for about 50000miles. Its still running.

My interior and paint still look great, This Teal color really held up well for Arizona.

It only broke down once in 11 years, when my igniter went out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

2nd Feb 2009, 16:39

I am at 257,000 miles now. I just replaced another Alternator, and replaced the AC Blower motor. I did both repairs myself. I would recommend getting a Denso Alternator. I got an Autozone one and had to redo the repair 2 times, then just got a good alternator. Autozone rebuilds cannot be trusted. I did the Blower motor for $60 bucks.

I am still on the original engine and transmission. Transmission still slips, but the engine still runs great.

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

Great car for the price!

Faults:

Front left spring cracked.

Driver seat lower left side torn.

ABS system semi-malfunction.

General Comments:

My first car, great car for first time buyer! Quick and reliable, I drive the car for long distance and it give me no problem. As you see, in three years I added 40,000 miles to the car and it still runs good. Keep rountine maintence on it and it should last for a long time. Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

1990 Acura Integra LS from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired316000 kilometres
Most recent distance319000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

A little taste of power without all the responsibility

Faults:

Windows rattle don't wind to top.

Sunroof rusted opens a little bit.

Changed left front tie rod.

Changed muffler was rusted.

General Comments:

It's a fun fast car with great handling.

Even after 319000 km it starts every time with one turn of the key.

Its very reliable gets me there fast.

Money its very affordable cheap on gas.

And not only speed, but this car has some good looks to for a 1990 the body is in amazing conditions.

All round i love my car it would be hard to lose it for as long as possible I will keep her running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A good first car

Faults:

I had to get a problem with the ignition fixed. My head gasket blew and my timing belt broke at 100000. It has a very noisy exhaust leak.

General Comments:

I like the car, it is very basic. Pretty reliable, a little noisy, but comfortable and sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Aspen

Summary:

An all-around great car

Faults:

Small hole in the fabric of the driver's seat.

Small rust spot in wheel well.

Replaced clutch at 260000kms.

Replaced muffler at 280000kms.

Tires/brakes/windshield wipers average.

General Comments:

Super comfortable seats hold you in while you fly around corners as if on rails.

Braking is sharp and reliable, steering very tight, acceleration great (especially between 5-7000 RPM).

Too much car for a teenager.

I've driven this car across Canada East to West and South to North. It's handled itself like a dream on both local logging roads and the dreaded Dempster Highway (from Yukon to North West Territories).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance301897 kilometres

Summary:

Got my money and kilometers worth

Faults:

Air conditioning does not work.

Power steering very weak.

Power windows replaced.

Transmission replaced.

Muffler replaced several times.

General Comments:

The car is very quick around corners and accelerating.

Muffler makes an annoying rattle, been fixed 3 or 4 times, but still seems to happen again and again.

Doors rattle way too much after I installed new speakers.

Good for rust not one speck of it all over the car, it still has its original shine from the time I bought it.

The front light bulb likes to fall out its holder.

Black steering wheel heats up with the rest of the car really really hot in the summer.

The braking power seems to have been lowered over the years, and the parking brake doesn't not work until it has been lifted all the way up, which is very hard to pull up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

4th Feb 2003, 13:26

For the exhaust that makes rattling noise: check the heat shielding along the whole length of the exhaust. Localize the offensive rattle by having a friend listen outside of the car for noise while you 'rev' the engine slowly.

When you have found the noisy piece of shroud, it may be necessary to remove portions of the exhaust to abate it. For the most part, you can remove it all or have someone else ($$) remove it for you. The shielding is really only imperative if you decide you want hold your engine at upper RPM range and keep your car stationary for a LONG period of time. DO NOT take your car to a dealer to have this done, they are instructed to keep this shielding in place and will most likely just recommend that you purchase new ones ($$). The shrouds are made out of thin aluminum which warp easily and rub against the body or exhaust, hence; rattling.

Hope that helps! Acura's are good cars, hope yours keeps you happy. (From an Acura owner)

19th Mar 2006, 09:38

This is true for all Honda products and not just the Acura Division.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews