1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 14 of 15

1990 Acura Integra LS 4 cylinder DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I love my Integra!

Faults:

Air filter went bad, and the moulding around the rear window is coming loose, but otherwise it's like the best car!

General Comments:

I wish I had the money to completely redo this whole car, as it really is a great car.

I wish the doors would shut tighter, because when I wash it the inside gets wet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carIsuzu I-Mark

Summary:

A nice looking car with fairly peppy performance that also gets good mpg

Faults:

Replaced all brake rotors due to warping.

Leaking camshaft oil seal (managed to fix with silicone RTV).

Exhaust system about to fall off due to rust.

General Comments:

I have absolutely no reason to complain since a friend of mine sold me this rust-free car in very nice shape for only $940 (!!)

Generally, the Integra is a nicely made car that provides reliable transportation. The performance and handling is peppy, but it would be a real stretch to call this a sports car. The engine has fairly poor low-end torque, which means anemic acceleration unless you really wind up the rpms in each gear.

The seating position is OK, but can get uncomfortable on longer drives. Getting into and out of this car can get to be a pain if you are running errands, because it does sit pretty low to the ground.

Mileage is very good - rarely below 30 mpg in city driving, much more on the highway. Parts and repairs can be expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

9th Feb 2001, 16:46

Update: Recently I had to have the alternator replaced on the Acura, which cost $312.

Also plan to replace the blower motor, which is dying. I found this part at a salvage yard for $30. Pretty good price, considering that a new blower motor from the dealer is almost $300!

Honda parts are expensive - always look for used before buying new.

The Integra is still running excellently as of Feb 2001, with 171,000 miles.

23rd Oct 2002, 20:24

I just bought an Acura Integra LS (1990) today and I would just like to say that it has a highly greater performance than a 1999 Ford Taurus. Acura's are the best!!!

17th Mar 2003, 18:55

I have a 1990 Acura Integra, I just paid 324 for a new alternator. My car has 175,000 miles and runs like a champ. March 17, 2003.

21st May 2006, 22:38

How much do rotors cost? I gotta get the rotors replaced, and I am wondering what prices you guys looked towards? Also I gotta get new brake pads.

27th May 2006, 01:42

I am the author of the original review. Still got the Acura as of May 2006, believe it or not. 217,500 miles and the car is still kickin' A! In my opinion it's adequate to get the "no-name" generic brake rotors from Auto-Zone, or wherever. Generally these will be made in Canada, etc. Not sure how much they cost, but they're pretty affordable. People who are into high-performance driving will no doubt disagree with me, but if you are moderate driver like me, then as long as you don't overheat these rotors, they will last a long time and not warp. I do think that the genuine Honda brake pads are the way to go, when it comes to pads. I replaced the front rotors and pads way back in 2000 with genuine Honda pads, and they are still doing a fine job.

1990 Acura Integra LX 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Faults:

My car has almost 200,000 miles on it... but it still runs good!! The only problem that I have encountered in the past year is the wheel bearings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2000

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance210761 miles

Summary:

A great car for the amount of miles, but time to retire this one

Faults:

Both CV axles replaced at 110,000 miles.

Alternator replaced at 190,000 miles.

Starter rebuilt at 180,000 miles.

Overheating at 210,000 miles.

Using 1 quart of oil every 300-400 miles.

General Comments:

A good solid car for what it's been through, being driven all over the country and being run hard, still on the original clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews