1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance242000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A sporty car that is fun to drive

Faults:

Muffler rusted out and piping underneath that connects to the exhaust was cracked so it had to be replaced at 235,000km ($385 Canadian)

CV joints are making noise when turning (Since I got the car) but has not been replaced.

Rear defroster does not work.

Windows are not study. Tons of wind noise on the highway. Doesn't close all the way on the side of the window.

Starter went at 240,000km.

General Comments:

Very nice car, great acceleration for a 4 cylinder, revs nice, awesome handling, and very comfortable front seats.

Still has original battery and clutch after 242,000 km's.

A very reliable car that is a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8L DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L DOHC 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

Excellent value, performance and reliability

Faults:

Alternator replaced.

Both front CV boots tore - CV axles replaced @ 198000kms.

Brakes often squeal.

Normal wear - replaced front tires & tire valve stems, muffler, brake pads.

Adding a litre of oil every couple weeks.

Rust spots touched up on gas filler door and around trunk lock.

Driver's side window loose and sometimes doesn't close tight - windnoise, particularly on the highway.

General Comments:

Adequate power and above.

Average handling from the double wishbone suspension.

Above average reliability and quality in build for a car of its age.

Attractive styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

1990 Acura Integra GS gas from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission gas Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120 kilometres
Most recent distance170 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

I don't think it was worth it

Faults:

1. Timing belt and water pump.

2. CV-joint.

3. Control arms.

4. Front and rear axle.

5. Front springs cracked.

6. Drive belt.

7. Ignition system.

8. Clutch.

9. Radiator.

10. A/C compressor.

11. Suspension.

General Comments:

It was a good car till I started driving it fast. Unfortunately, I had to change all those parts on my Integra, even though my car had only 120ks which is nothing. I don't know who was the previous owner and I don't think he cared about this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Got to have one!!!

Faults:

I don't have many negative judgements about the Toyota Supra. Overall, it is the best sports car ever made at an affordable price range.

A couple of negative facts to mention about the Supra are, it's too bulky and massive. I bought it at 75,000 miles in 1991. It finally died (bhg) on me in 01/2000 at 300,000 miles.

Top speed I experienced with it is 135 MPH. Sold it to the junkyard for $200. The interior is still in 90% of the original condition, exterior is about 70%.

General Comments:

The Supra is superbly engineered. However, its weight and height decreased its acceleration and handling around curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74340 miles
Most recent distance137600 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Overall, great value

Faults:

First level of air conditioning switch doesn't work.

Gasket around the passenger window is loose causing air to seep in.

Lately the shift lock in the gear goes into effect and I have to put the key in its slot to unlock this.

General Comments:

This car still runs like it did when I bought it.

The seats are very snug and comfortable.

Size and economy make this a great car for a single driver or student.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 10:44

My mom had a 1990 accord, and the same shift lock thing happened to her starting around 150k miles. Guess all Hondas had some glitch with this, but its really not that big of a deal.

21st Jan 2003, 11:31

The shift lock release has become an extreme pain and tends to make me really upset because it can take up to 3 minutes for it to release. The shorter of a distance I drive the longer it takes for it to release, I'm a very small girl so when I try to push my spare key in I have to be very forceful to it because it doesn't want to take - other than that... it's a beautiful well engineered car, that I enjoy and LOVE to drive.

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8L DOHC 16v 130 BHP from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L DOHC 16v 130 BHP Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99752 miles
Most recent distance186361 miles
Previous carAcura '88 Interga LS

Summary:

This car is the most usable, most enjoyable 2 door coupe available

Faults:

Air conditioning compressor belt @ 155,000 miles in sub zero temperatures.

New rotors @ 180,000 miles.

New clutch @ 140,000 miles.

Tune up @ 140,000 miles.

The sunroof sticks sometimes in cold weather, but WD40 seems to fix it.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is my road trip car. It has gone across the country 13 times. It has been in all but 3 states in the lower 48. It's fast, smooth, reliable, gets great mileage.

This car is unstoppable, and has better visibility then any other car I have driven except the Acura NSX. I will keep this car until it is dead, or I am dead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

16th Sep 2004, 20:53

Dude.

The Acura Integra LS 1990 came out the same year that the NSX came out. When Acura built the NSX in 1990 they put a lot of their best into the Integra they built the same year. Isn't this so cool? I own the same car and I think so!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews