1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 13 of 15

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8 petrol/gas from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol/gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance127500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Zippy and upgradable

Faults:

The speedometer cable was broken when I first bought the car. A problem the Acura dealership had neither heard of nor encountered before. Repairs costed approx $150(US). Actual starting mileage is probably quite wrong.

Also, the car had been jump-started incorrectly and this blew most of the fuses. Replacing them was easy and no other components were damaged. Every part of this car is readily accessible for the do-it-yourselver though.

Parts ARE expensive however (and getting harder to find), and most work has to be done by an authorized dealer. Fortunately, most of the minor things the average owner can do themselves, often with just a 10mm box-end wrench and a #2 phillips screwdriver.

General Comments:

I picked up my '90 Integra LS for $2900 (US). It had a few body dings but ZERO rust even after 11 years and 127,000+ miles. After replacing the fuses and speedometer cable, it's running great!

Eventually, the plan is to take advantage of the multitude of aftermarket performance parts available for such Japanese imports. But for right now, there is enough performance to satiate my driving habits. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

12th May 2002, 04:30

I also expienced what you did with your speedometer cable, and I was wondering where you got a new one, because I have been looking forever.

21st Nov 2002, 17:22

I am wondering about the speedometer also mine is broken.

26th Aug 2004, 00:22

If anyone is looking for a new speedo cable you can find one at any acura dealership. It will only cost about $50 and a half hour to install.

1st Oct 2004, 04:09

Hi I also have to replace my speedometer cable can anyone give me an idea as to how difficult this is? and if its something that should be left for the dealer to do? Thanks Cano.

21st Aug 2006, 11:42

It's really not that difficult to replace. You take your gauge cluster out and disconnect the cable from the transmission. You slide the new one in and put it all back together. Takes an hour if you don't hang out under the hood very much. Half hour if you do.

26th Nov 2006, 19:26

Ya it took me a bit to figure out there are screws under the AC/HEAT knobs and under the little shield at the end of the sliders.

8th Feb 2010, 16:22

Yeah I put a new speedometer cable in my car. Did everything right and my speedometer still doesn't work. I think my gauge cluster is garbage.

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 kilometres
Most recent distance217374 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Very fun little car!

Faults:

Since I have had the car, I have replaced just about everything:

New motor at 203,000 km.

New alternator, radiator, timing belt, clutch, muffler, driveshafts, you name it!

General Comments:

This car holds up to a lot of abuse!

Quick car with lots of torque.

Looks and rides great.

Costly for repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

A well-built and reliable car

Faults:

Lower controlaArm: replaced at 150k km.

Climate controls: flakey, need to be pushed hard, lights not always lit.

CV joints: one cracked, one ripped.. crud got inside.. left CV joint needed to be replaced at 180k km, maybe wheel bearings as well.. still making a popping sound around corners when accelerating.

Oil: loves to drink it up like it's water.

Power windows: creak and shudder while in transit.

Door seals: water gets in, wind noise on the highway.

RPM: revs WAY too high and thus drinks gas on the highway... needs another gear in the auto-transmission :).. design issue though.

Started rusting on rear 1/4 panels at wheel-wells (like all Hondas it seems)... had to cut out and rebuild the areas... removed the rubber wheel-well liner to stop water from collecting there anymore.

Power antenna grinds and will not retract. I just disconnected the plug for it in the trunk so it's always up.

General Comments:

Fun car to drive. I installed the Eibach pro-kit and lowered the car 1.5 inches with it. WHAT A DIFFERENCE to drive. Made the car more nimble, annoying on bumpy roads... but much more fun to drive.. Hey, I'm young! :)

Installed 15" 205 rubber on new rims and she looks fantastic :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 08:19

Do you live an area with bad potholes? I have a 93 Integra and I want to upgrade to 15x6.5 alloys with 205/55-15, lower the springs by 0.75 inch and install adjustable KYB shocks. The roads in NYC suck, especailly in the winter, so I would appreciate your comments (pros/cons) on your setup and general advice on redoing the suspension.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews