1990 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 7 of 15

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A highly reliable and sporty coupe

Faults:

No major problems.

Need new tie rod ends, they squeak now.

Driver side coil spring is broken.

Rear suspension bushings all dry rotted and need to be replaced.

Needs new ABS sensor for one wheel. My ABS light is always on because I haven't changed the bad sensor. So the ABS doesn't work.

My passenger power window switch doesn't work. And my driver side power window switch I have to press really hard to make the window go up.

My left blinker only works when its warm outside. I need a new "stalk" (on the steering wheel) When its cold outside (below 50 degrees) it takes a minute before the blinker starts to work.

Driver's seat has major wear on left seat bolster, but I fixed that with a Panther seat cover.

General Comments:

I really really like this car! I got it cheap with low miles. I only wish it was a stick shift. Much more fun then.

Great Gas mileage!!!

Handles great!

Great view of the road for the driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2004

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Great car...small problems

Faults:

I bought the car pretty recently...it was in good shape, but it had cv joint wear because of torn boots so replaced the drive shafts and all the timing belts. So far no problem except that because of the frameless design it whistles at high speed... Does anybody know how to correct it?

What else should I check in a car of this mileage.

General Comments:

Great car... pretty fast...good brakes... drives great even after so many years... will update this review with time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

18th Dec 2006, 21:10

I am buying a 1990 Integra LS tomorrow. Just wondering when you bought yours how much mileage was on it? Also, how much did you pay?

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired284000 kilometres
Most recent distance296000 kilometres

Summary:

This Car just keeps on driving

Faults:

My rear brakes had to replaced at 285,000 kilometers.

Muffler had to be replaced at 285,000 kilometers.

Oil pan gasket replaced at 296,000 kilometers. I was constantly fully refilling the oil once a week. (although the engine burns a little oil once the gasket was replaced my oil consumption was greatly reduced)

Ignition coil replaced at 296,000 kilometers.

Alternator replaced at 296,000 kilometers.

Both front springs have been replaced. One at 284,000 kilometers and the other at 294,000 kilometers.

Radiator fan replaced at 295,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car is a lot of fun to drive.

It handles well and is cheap on gas ($120.00/ month.)

A great car to modify. I have a full body kit, hood scoop and fender vents.

The engine runs great. Always starts even in -25'C.

My only complaint is the windows don't seal properly because there is no window frame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

29th Mar 2004, 15:43

If you take your door panels off, there is an adjustment to fix your window problem.

23rd Jan 2005, 00:22

I am wondering where a person can find aftermarket body kits and parts for the 1990 Acura Integras'. write me at joseph_skorick@yahoo.com.

17th Jan 2006, 17:46

It's a good car, but I'm also having a lot of trouble with the non-sealing windows. What can I do exactly?

1990 Acura Integra LS 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Outstanding buy, top notch quality

Faults:

Original timing belt went at 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent car. I loved my Integra. EXTREMELY dependable, and fun to drive. I sold it with the original clutch at 230,000 miles! Acura's are excellently built and quite a bargain as a result.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

1990 Acura Integra RS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 kilometres
Most recent distance222000 kilometres

Summary:

It's a great little car

Faults:

Radiator cracked at 180000KM and again at 190000KM, but I sealed it both times for $30.

Down-pipe rusted at 170000KM.

Exhaust rusted at 200000KM.

Replaced front brake pads and rotors at 221000KM.

Timing belt went at 222000KM.

Distributor went at 222009KM.

General Comments:

It's a great little car. It gave me problems sometimes but over-all I loved the car. It has good mileage and is very fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

1990 Acura Integra GS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

The 1990 Acura Integra is a high performance car that is perfect as a first car, I won't junk it

Faults:

My muffler has been replaced 3 times.

The front and rear struts were replaced at 120000.

The top and bottom control arms blew out at around 142000 miles.

The transmission kicks into 2nd, 3rd gear.

The tie-rods needed to be replaced at the same time as the control arms.

The car tends to rust on the rear quarter panel where it meets the bumper.

The seats wore out a little from getting in and out of the car.

The ABS modulator died at 146000, but wasn't replaced because it would cost $1500.

General Comments:

This car isn't a toy, It's a performance machine hidden in the shell of a very attractive body.

Since I replaced the front end the handling feels like the new Subaru "WRX".

Even though the ABS went the car still stops on a dime.

After timing it the car does 0-60 mph in about five or six seconds honestly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews