1991 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 4 of 12

1991 Acura Integra LS B18A1 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission B18A1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Leaky interior.

Lost 1st and 3rd gears.

CV joint replacement.

General Comments:

Not all that fast, but handles well, although I have put new springs and shocks on it as well as wider tires and wheels.

Fun to drive.

Comfortable.

Reliable for the most part, just don't drive it hard like I did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2007

1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired181000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles

Summary:

Start of something good (hopefully)

Faults:

Car seems to run well, but this fuel problem has me baffled. When the car started and ran for about 5mins, a strong smell of gas came from the exhaust. The longer the car ran the stronger the car smelled like gas. The good news is that it doesn't get into the cabin unless the window is down. The car is in good shape. The motor and trans shift fine. It has a OYB sports exhaust and some sort of air intake on it. The check engine light is not on (hope the bulb isn't blown).My guess is that it's the exhaust or the injectors: maybe the regulator operating too high or dirty injectors. I have a son and this car is my only means of transport so I have to get it fixed. I need help on this site because the car has no tags so I can't take it to a shop yet. Please help me.

General Comments:

Good car reviews on this site made me interested in this car. I don't regret buying it.Yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

25th Feb 2007, 01:14

Just bought the same car with no problem like that. Not a good sign to have a after market intake and exhaust on it, probably bean driven hard by prev. owner! Also after-market parts could be the cause to this. Often they cause more problems then they are worth. All I can say is that your engine is not burning all the fuel, probably or maybe running rich. Had another car with that problem (Toyota Camry) but it had a stuck or burnt valve that caused that problem. If that was your case it would be running rough or like “Putt Putt” not smooth. So I can’t say the exact cause sorry.

28th Feb 2007, 18:29

I had a similar problem on a '90 integra at 200k miles- the cause was rust that had finally eaten a couple of holes in the muffler.

1991 Acura Integra GS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145550 miles
Most recent distance146300 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Great, reliable car

Faults:

Had to replace right tie rod end.

Replaced battery.

General maintenance done.

Other than that, haven't had any other problems.

General Comments:

Great car. Very reliable and would drive it anywhere. A little sluggish on acceleration, but generally not a problem. Quick in corners and really sticks to the road. Gets great gas mileage - 33+ on highway, 25+ city on average. Not expensive to fix and maintain, costs about as much as any other car would. It's a very comfortable car that has all of the options you could want. I would definitely buy another Teg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2007

1991 Acura Integra RS 1.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance484000 miles
Previous carAcura Toyota Camry

Summary:

This car has been epic, hope Acura is still making them like this

Faults:

Only had to replace the alternator.

Nothing else has failed.

Replace timing belts every 120K.

Change oil every 3K, expended oil quality is the only reason parts will wear.

Pass. seat worn out.

Never replaced shocks/struts.

Otherwise just the normal expendables replaced.

General Comments:

Most dependable car mfr on the road.

Was shooting for 500K miles, but will keep driving this car past that mark.

Have driven this car 120 miles every day back and forth over Monument Hill in Colorado since 1991.

Every mechanic has been in awe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2006

1991 Acura Integra RS 1.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, but if it has to be repaired it can be costly

Faults:

My radiator, alternator, and exhaust all went out at about 150,000. Transmission and brakes went out at about 167,000. I had a gasket leak in the engine at 170,000.

General Comments:

Car gets great gas mileage, and can be costly to repair. Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2006

1991 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

One of the best made cars in 1991

Faults:

Had to replace leaking heater core.

Rear wheel wells rusting after 12 years.

General Comments:

15 years and 185000 miles and the car still drives like the day I bought it.

I'm hoping to get at least 250000 miles on it before any major work required.

Even the bulbs in this car last forever. The only one I replaced was where someone ran into me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

20th Aug 2006, 16:55

I bought my 91 Acura in the Spring of 1991 - brand new. I've taken very good care of it (regular maintenance, oil change, tires, timing belt, tune-ups, etc...). Nonetheless, I've had to replace almost every thing on it!! Little by little it has fallen apart. It now has 108,000 miles and I can't believe I still have it. I've put so much money into it now, I'm sort of stuck with it.

25th Feb 2007, 04:08

To last reply. Yours was made in Canada not Japan sorry : (Next time check the country of origin before buying a vehicle. Or maybe you just don't know much about cars?

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 52 reviews