1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America


Amazing performance for the price


Starter went with alternator at 206000.

Transmission went and took clutch with it at 206000.

Exhaust replaced at 180000.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever owned and I've been through a lot of cars.

I have raced a Gran Prix GTP, other Honda's and Acura's, a ford probe, a mustang or two, and a lot of other cars and I haven't lost yet.

This car has amazing speed if you use it properly, and it will take care of you. I race all the time, and this car is stock. Just a few stock parts replaced and my touch. I've had it to 210kms and it ran like a dream. Still does run like a dream, and not a problem besides regular things.

I recommend an Integra to anyone who needs to fill that need for speed and still be great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

28th Apr 2005, 22:45

I totally agree mine tops at 210 and not too many cars in that age can keep up!!!

29th Jul 2006, 19:00

So your 9.3 sec. 0-60 car beat a 6.8 sec GTP?

6th Sep 2006, 13:44

I agree, no way an LS beat a GTP. Maybe if you had a Type R, then it will give the GTP a run.

8th Sep 2006, 15:06

Maybe a GTP with a failed supercharger. They do go out don't they?

1991 Acura Integra LX 1.8 from North America


Perfect sporty commuter with pep


Oil pan cracked @ 120k miles on a road trip; engine was smoking @ the gas station; added oil frequently for the rest of the trip; NO PROBLEMS (compression is still 130psi across all 4 cylinders) except burns 1 qt/3000 miles.

New brakes @ 150k miles (I drive it hard)

New radiator @ 150k miles (mechanic said this is typical of this car)

New front CV axles @ 160k.

Just did major work @ 170k miles:

-Timing belt/H2O pump/all belts

-Cam plug was corroded

-One transmission mount was broken

-Full transmission flush (apparently Honda didn't put a transmission oil filter in these automatics)

-Front Left Upper Control Arm was broken

-Complete 60k mile tune (badly needed, shame on me)

General Comments:

Overall: AWESOME car. I am amazed by the number of these I see on the road every day here in Denver.

This car is very quick and I think it makes some people who drop mad $$$ on theirs angry when I smoke them (and at 170k miles?!?!...amazing)

I agree with the comfort thing... a little tight for my 6 foot frame, but not bad.

Good in the snow.

If you drive one of these and notice that it seems very loose in corners (mine would over-steer on wet roads) maybe look into the upper control arm thing... I was scared to drive it until it was fixed! Now it's back to it's old self, quick and agile!

If/when this one dies I'll probably try to replace it with one just like it (that is, one that isn't dead).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1991 Acura Integra GS 1.8L from North America


Simply, bullet-proof


Front seat is worn. I have only had to keep up with the maintenance which includes a clutch, timing belt & water pump, brakes and muffler. Other than that I spent a $100 on a small oil leak to be fixed.

General Comments:

The car and it's engine are bulletproof. This car handles corners incredibly and it's also a quick little beast. I've take this car everywhere; up mountains, off-road in dirt and rocks, in the snow. I've also driven on 500km road trips numerous times and this car has never let me down. It also looks slick and is dope to drive. Recommended to anyone.

My only gripes are that the seats are not very comfortable and like most other older Acuras and Hondas there is a problem with the windows fogging easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 15:46

I have the same problem with my windows fogging up on my 91 Acura Integra GS. What cam be done to fix the problem?

6th Mar 2006, 08:32

The fogging is due to the gasket seals around the tail lights leaking, I called Acura about the problem and found it was leaking in my trunk, replaced the two gasket seals at 30$ each, took it for a spin in the rain and found it didn't resolve the issue, ended up buying a 1999 integra SE with double gasket sealed tail lights, still leaks so in terms of fixes id just seal it yourself with some kind of window seal, had to do that on my old 1990 GS. Still didn't fix it 100% though.