1991 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1991 Acura Integra RS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles

Summary:

The most reliable car you could own!!!

Faults:

The radiator fan will not stop running after the car is shut off due to a bad relay, it likes to drain my battery, so I disconnected the terminals.

Rusty tail pipe like all other Hondas and Acuras.

Has a little spark knock, but it says it is supposed to in the Integra manual.

General Comments:

Fast, accelerates quickly.

Reliable.

Honda engines break in around 170,000 miles.

The interior is very comfortable, handles nice, smooth ride.

About 25-35 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

8th Feb 2001, 10:04

So so true, these cars are great and can still run 14s on the 1/4 mile with 150,000 miles.

28th Sep 2001, 02:52

Honda engines will last you forever, literally, with normal maintenence and care.

23rd Sep 2003, 16:15

You have to believe that. I own a 91 LS for 2.5 years and it has been nothing, but fun. I have 140000 on the odometer and as said before it feels like it will run forever. Enjoy.

30th Apr 2004, 07:16

Hi.

I have the same problem with my 1990 Integra. The radiator fan does not stop turning even the car is shut off. Is there another way of resolving this problem besides disconnecting the battery terminals? Thank you so much.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Clim.

17th May 2012, 21:05

Did you ever get an answer? I have a 1990 Integra GS, and have been having this problems for years!!! Even Acura says they have no idea. Hard to believe that this wasn't a recall, but I think it takes about 12-15 years for the problem to show up.

1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 L I4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A bargain and a fun car to drive

Faults:

Broken spring coil.

Rust on the trunk hood.

Exhaust pipe rusted.

General Comments:

Pretty good car, except for some odd reason I only can get 21 mpg in the city, I live in Pittsburgh and it's very hilly, maybe that's the reason why. I can get 27 mpg on the highway.

Pretty good car, considering I got the car at a pretty cheap price.

I would definitely want to buy a 2002 Integra when they are out... BRAND NEW DESIGN!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1991 Acura Integra GS 1.8 DOHC I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC I4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance158684 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup Truck 2 Wheel

Summary:

Excellent car that won't leave you stranded

Faults:

The water pump went out at 126,000 miles. Replaced original <--- clutch at 150,000 miles. Yes, that's the original clutch. CV joints needed replacement at 130,000 miles.

Nothing else, just general maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is excellent. I'm a 19 year old driver and bought it as my 18th birthday present to myself. Since I got the car I have put on over 40,000 miles in one year. The car has been relatively cheap to maintain and the gas mileage is great.

I race the car on weekends and have added performance suspension with racing wheels. I average about 25mpg in the city and about 35-40 on the highway driving at 70 with the A/C on. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

19th Dec 2000, 08:13

I have a '91 Integra GS with 186,000 miles. Great car, well built and reliable.

I have had to replace the distributor and ignitor after it died on me one night.

Other than that, no problems.

I question the claimed mileage though, 35 to 40 mpg is a bit high. I'm averaging 30 mpg highway which is right in line with the manufacturer's estimates.

2nd Feb 2001, 22:48

I also own an 1991 Integra, it's a very nice, fast and reliable car. I acquired the car at 164,000 miles and it is still in perfect condition, the only problem I am having is the radiator will not stop running after the car is shut off, probably due to a blown radiator relay, I am just too lazy to fix it.

9th Jan 2002, 20:25

My integra is currently at 215,000 km! Still as fast and reliable as ever. I'm gonna try to make 300,000 then maybe put a Type-R engine in! Yeehaw.

3rd Sep 2002, 22:35

I bought my integra for myself also when I was 18, it runs great still, great mileage, but the paint has begun to blister. (soon to be fixed) other than that I as well have been replacing old parts as they break with preformance parts. I believe this car will make it well past college!

13th Sep 2003, 10:55

I have an 1991 integra and the radiator fan keeps running after engine is shut off. How do you fix this problem?

11th Nov 2004, 16:40

The fan on the integra stays on on purpose, sometimes when you turn off the engine is at the point where the fan will kick on. You turn off the car and stop the flow of coolant so the fan kicks on to cool the motor.

28th Apr 2005, 22:42

I too have a 91 integra that I bought for my 18th birth day it has 300,000 km on her with intake, exhaust, short shift and it is starting to blow blue smoke what can I do to stop if for a cheap price??

1991 Acura Integra RS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Classic looking car, excellent quality and design

Faults:

Had trouble with brake rotors warping, requiring replacement.

Problem with steering wheel shimmy that was taken care of.

Parking brake always seems to require servicing.

Rusting often forms on wheel wells on Acura and Honda vehicles.

General Comments:

A well designed car, well worth the investment if you get one that is well taken car of.

Acura provides excellent service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2000

1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10

Faults:

Tailpipe gets rusted on most if not all 90-92 Integras that I have seen.

General Comments:

One inconvience is that there are not cup holders in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 52 reviews