1991 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1991 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired166448 miles
Most recent distance168562 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Nice smooth car

Faults:

I just purchased the car. It's been good the only thnig I don't like about the car is when it's cold and rainy the windows fog very bad. What can I do to solve this problem. Is it a circulation problem?

General Comments:

Nice car for a small 4 cyl. very fast at high speed. Handles well. I love the little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

22nd Mar 2006, 21:00

I appreciate your comment. My little integra is a fast and smooth running car.

1991 Acura Integra LS DOHC 1.8L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission DOHC 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

Great, reliable, quick first car

Faults:

Drivers seat is torn.

Oil leaks into spark plug area.

Automatic antenna broke. Replaced with non retractable.

New brakes @ 11000 miles.

Sunroof FLEW OFF on the highway doing seventy! I went back and picked it up, and later used silicone caulk to glue it back on. Then I disabled the motor.

General Comments:

I love the manual.

Very quick and I love the way it sounds when I rev the motor to redline.

Have smoked plenty of Celicas and Civics.

Probes (non GT) and Berettas do not stand a chance!

Great interior, controls fall easily to hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

12th Dec 2006, 14:20

I also have an Integra with a little 4 cylinder. It's been a great little car however in general all 4 cylinder's cannot take the abuse of redlining. This is not a car that can take a ton of abuse.

12th Dec 2006, 19:31

A Probe GT is a Ford Probe with Wal-mart effects glued to the bottom and a roof vent purchased at Home Depot duck taped to the hood. I could see your car beating it easily.

13th Dec 2006, 09:54

I also have a 1991 teg and agree it's a fast car, but for god's sake don't redline it!

1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

This car is reliable and has the potential for endless possibilities

Faults:

The radiator went out.

A/c went out.

Pumps gave on the hatch.

Threw a rod.

General Comments:

The car handles like a champ.

Acceleration is great.

When I first got the car I topped her out at around 150mph. That was amazing for a stock car it thought.

Engine space is little to none, but with the right modifications you get just enough room to put what you want or need.

Now that I have had the car for a couple of years, I have been able to turn this car into a beauty. She tops out anywhere from 175mph to 180mph. The last time I ran the quarter my times were in the low 11's and high 10's.

So if you really love your Integra, tune her up until you can't do anythng else to her.

Oh I almost forgot, when I first got the car it had 190,000 miles on it. The rod threw right around 293,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

24th Aug 2005, 04:52

This is pretty unbelievable unless you added a jet engine... by the way I own a 2002 Acura TL type S...

25th Feb 2007, 02:08

Don’t listen to those people. You know what your car's about! I have a 1991 teg stock and put these “NEW” cars to shame ;) ~ They have more emissions restrictions on there cars than we do. That means they don’t get the power the brochure promises. Now 240hp is down to 160hp. I had a Toy. Camry 86' that could do 125mph. Comfortably :)

27th Feb 2008, 01:29

Make sure you look at the "MPH" speedo, not the kph section. Also, don't confuse 1/8 mile times with 1/4.

7th Feb 2009, 12:58

Da9's can easily get into high 10's or 11's after building the engine for boost properly, and throwing a gt40r turbo on.. 400-500 hp in a 2400lb car will go. After that it's just a problem of traction, which can be solved with drag radials or slicks.

1991 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129300 miles
Most recent distance129600 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Speed, Reliability, and Affordability wrapped in beauty

Faults:

My steering makes a clicking noise when turning sharply at slow speeds.

This will cost 270 dollars plus tax in totals.

Had it checked out and it, and nothing wrong with it. After 129 miles, it runs basically new. Acuras can be trusted for quality and long lives.

General Comments:

I only had my Integra for about 10 day and other than the turning problem, it runs like to wind.

Fast from the start and has a, deceivingly, very strong acceleration.

Never maxed out the speed, but plan so when I get my license june 6th. Yes, I'm 16 and just bought my first car and been driving with my cautious dad.

Strait 9's and 10's,A's and B's across the charts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

16th Apr 2005, 10:10

Thank you for a very nice review. Please though, I am sure you hear this all the time, but let me give you some advice. Do not run your car flat out, as you state you intend to do. That is very dangerous. Cars today are very well made, and they give you an excellent sense of security while you are driving, to the extent that you feel you can do anything. But, that perceived security is largely just an illusion. You are still a big mass barreling down the road, with momentum, and only finite frictional tolerances between you and the road, keeping you from losing control. At high speeds, things that will happen, will happen in a split second, and will be catastrophic. That is how people get crushed, and/or splattered all over the road. I have seen it happen more times than I care to remember. I am sure you are getting these lectures all over the place, but after some years of driving experience, you will realize that driving cautions is the best way to go. Please, have fun with your car, but make safety your absolute number one priority.

Regards.

10th Jun 2005, 12:57

To fix the clicking noise when you turn at slow speeds. Try replacing the CV Joints.

The boots may not show damage, but the internal parts are probably worn. We had the same problem with my wife's Integra, and replacing the CV Joints took care of it.

GW.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 52 reviews