1990 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1990 Acura Legend LS V.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance193456 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Fast, very responsive reliable for 13 year old car

Faults:

At 145,000 had to replace the original transmission which I expected and clutch, also had to replace the timing belt and water pump just as precautionary measures you know. Changed original clutch at 135,000.

General Comments:

The car is still strong and responds well to accelerate. no hesitation what so ever. OK leather is cracked and ripped in half almost, but that what they got seat covers for anyway as long as it runs I am very happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

18th Jul 2004, 21:17

Driven manual transmissions, all of my life, last car retirement, 2-D Legend Coupe grade logic automatic transmission, love it. Did as you did, timing belt and water pump at 77,000 KM. Leather seats are diffinently problem with this car, fortunately I've been able to keep on top of this, lanolin for general maintenance and shoe polish for the crest/side entry of the driver's seat.

1990 Acura Legend 1.6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

A greatly designed car with really nice features

Faults:

The air conditioning compressor went out.

Seats in front are badly worn.

The anti-lock breaks started having major problems at 102k. The pump was not working, therefore causing a loud noise.

General Comments:

The car has great get-up for a 90. The speeds it goes is very nice. The speedometer goes to 140, unlike most older cars.

The handling on the legend is wonderful. No matter what speeds, the car does exactly what you want it to.

The car has defintely had its 100k mile problems. The repairs have been slightly expensive, but not too bad.

I defintely do not recommend this car for a first time driver/owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

1990 Acura Legend Coupe slant 6, front wheel drive, I think! from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission slant 6, front wheel drive, I think! Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance133700 miles
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

Magnificent, and... I can't part with it. It's NOT for sale

Faults:

What has gone wrong with the car? Absolutely nothing. It actually runs like new. It's amazing.

General Comments:

This car has always started every time, always runs great, and has never needed any repair, just a few routine maintenance tasks. Considering the high mileage, I am truly amazed.

The car handles great, and STILL runs like near new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

1990 Acura Legend LS 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

An impressive drive.

Faults:

The rear wheel wells are rusting, along with the area just below the gas cap.

I have just replaced the alternator.

I have replaced brake pads at 130,000.

I replaced the tires at 145,000.

General Comments:

This car handles like a dream.

The steering is sensitive and reliable.

Response time is like no other car I have owned.

However the spot rusting I have noticed on other Legends seems to be indicative of the model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

17th Feb 2004, 18:08

I too have a 1990 Acura Legend. It is one magnificent car.

The ride is as smooth as it was when I first purchased it long ago. It handles like no other car I've ever driven. The pick-up is great and the steering is beyond a car of this age should be. It's like this car has a soul of its own and you're just there for the experience.

Of course I've replaced a few parts. Any car that is this old and this wonderful deserves to be well taken care of.

18th Jul 2004, 21:24

When I bought this car I did a lot of research. There are known rust problems inherent with this vehicle, they are the front windshield cowl, rear filler panel (trunk area), gas cap area and anywhere else if you don't oil treat it (Rust Check, Crown) did mine four times, makes a mess for a couple of days. This is a super vehicle, well engineered and designed for superb driving, but you have to be aware of problems and be on top of them.

1990 Acura Legend L 2.7 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Absolute best value in a reliable used car

Faults:

I have only replaced brake pads and right and left drive-shafts. That is typical for 130k. The glove box fell out, though I haven't yet tried to replace it.

General Comments:

This is the tightest, most reliable car I have ever owned. It is smooth as silk on the open road. The power options are luxurious. You won't hear the typical skweaks and rattles of a car with 150k that comes from Detroit. Nobody can touch Honda on quality of any of their products. When will we Americans figure this thing out?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

18th Jul 2004, 21:34

Glove box, car vandalized, clip in back, breaks easily, have to replace entire front cover, did it, worth it. Lots of used after market parts available, see your Acura/Honda dealer of choice for help.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews