1990 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1990 Acura Legend L Coupe 2.7L SOHC 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L SOHC 24v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

The perfect luxury car

Faults:

Slight wear in the leather seats.

Lifter "ticking" noise (when cold) @ 121,000.

New brakes @ 122,000.

General Comments:

First off, the "ticking" noise. The design on this engine is one that causes the lifters... to make a "ticking" noise when the engine is cold.. What I recommend is, a can of engine restore.. this will work for only 200-500 miles. Also you can, let it warm up normally for 5 minutes, then rev the engine to 3000RPM for a couple of seconds and the noise goes away. THIS NOISE IS NOT HARMFUL TO THE ENGINE.

This car has a great amount of power.

The steering of this car is among the best.

Great suspension and ride.

Great interior positioning of items.

Smooth V6 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

18th Jul 2004, 21:48

It's amazing how consistent this car is, lifter noise start-up, inherent rust problems or potential treatment if you know about it's history first. Classic car, oh yes, never to be another. Leather needs constant attention.

29th Nov 2004, 19:37

I have the same lifter noise when engine is cold. My mechanic told me that was normal on this engine after 100k. My car is a 1990 Coupe with 123,000. By far the best used car I have ever owned. The power and smooth ride for a car reaching 15 years old is amazing. Purchased the car for under 2-large. A little crusty around the wheels and the legend sign on the trunk, but overall a great car.

1990 Acura Legend L 2.7L 24 valve SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L 24 valve SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance12200 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Great luxury car

Faults:

Transmission gave out within the first 30 days when purchased (112,000 miles), dealer rebuilt at no cost to me.

Leather seats show slight wear along the sides.

General Comments:

The car is very responsive, speed sensitive steering is a great feature. The V6 engine generates a good amount of power.

The comfort of this car is great, you can ride long distances and still feel great.

The styling on this car is pretty good, however, the later models 1991+ have a little better styling on the front end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1990 Acura Legend L 2.7L V6 PGM-FI 24v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 PGM-FI 24v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Faults:

Oxygen sensor replacement.

Leather seats wear.

Valve tapping noise for the first 8 minutes when cold.

General Comments:

This car rides very well, truly a luxury car. Great steering, good acceleration, very safe.

The interior is nice and the exterior is great. Could use a couple of modifications (exhaust/intake, for some more performance).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

1990 Acura Legend LS 2.7 PGM-FI SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 PGM-FI SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carHonda Nissan Sentra

Summary:

Good looking, well made, and fun to drive

Faults:

One unfortunate item that went wrong with the car was its transmission. It was a burden to get repaired, but other than that there have been no other problems with the car and it is in great condition.

General Comments:

This is a very well built and reliable car. It is the best car I have driven so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1990 Acura Legend 2.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Luxurious, sporty, sophisticated, kick-ass!

Faults:

Start of transmission failure (rebuilt).

Oxygen sensor (replaced).

Leather seats starting to tear.

General Comments:

When I got this car the transmission was faulty, I had it replaced and it has been running like a dream since.

The leather seats require attention, as to prevent wear and tear.

This car rocks!!! I love Acura, and will definitely buy another one if this one ever gives out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

1990 Acura Legend LS Sedan 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carBMW 3.0Si

Summary:

A good looking, solid, reliable automobile

Faults:

Generally just routine maintenance.

Front brakes and suspension wear relatively quickly.

Rust around the gas cap and rear wheel wells is also a problem.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I have not had any major unanticipated problems with it. Would not hesitate to drive it anywhere, performance is great, gets about 25mpg and is just a very comfortable car.

Also recently bought a '90 LS Coupe - so you can see I am really a fan of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

1990 Acura Legend Sedan LS 2.7 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

With only 89,000 miles, the car has developed rust in the rear wheel well, and the side, and oil pan gaskets had to be replaced as well as the front oxygen sensor (due to the side gasket leaking). The automatic transmission requires TLC to keep it running well, and the car does have its quirks. The check system light comes on saying check engine oil level (it's fine), and check coolant level (it's fine too).

General Comments:

Even with the quirks I could count on this car to take me wherever I want to go safely and without problems. This car has never left me stranded. Maintenance is expensive at an Acura dealer, but if you can find a good certified Acura mechanic outside of a dealership the cost of ownership goes down dramatically (yet is still a bit high). The 1990 Acura LS sedan is always a pleasure to drive as well as FUN to drive. I expect to get well over 300,000 miles out of her before she retires!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

3rd Oct 2001, 09:55

Did you every have a high pitched noise while you were driving? A high pitch whining sound. Possibly the ALTERNATOR?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews