23rd Jun 2009, 01:27

I have a Acura MDX 01 with 191000 miles. I been having problems with it since I remember. I have transmission problems, rack and pinion problems, things are breaking down. It seems the more I take care of it, the more it breaks down on me. Now I having major problems with my transmission and I was wondering if my car will be qualified for the recall.

25th Aug 2009, 14:24

We just got an 2002 Acura MDX with 84,000 miles on it and we probably only drove it like 5 times and then on the dashboard the A/T Temp light went on indicating that the transmission fluid is hot.

Should we be alarmed that this could lead to transmission failure like the rest of you guys?

Does anyone know how to fix this? Do we just refill the transmission fluid with new or should we just take it to a dealer?

16th Sep 2009, 21:05

I have an 02 MDX with 117k miles. I have the same noise / jerking at 30mph that many of you describe. All my service has been done at the dealership and I was informed that a full transmission replacement would be required to cure the problem. Interesting to read about the recall & poor review of the '01 / '02 MDX transmission. After reading, I am certainly going to ask for the "good will" replacement. Curious to see how it will go. Very frustrating that the service department acted like I was the first to ever speak of it...

6th Nov 2009, 12:06

I have a 2003 MDX that is properly maintained. I started hearing a rumbling sound and had tires checked, balanced and rotated. The noise continued and I replaced the tires. recently I spoke with fellow 2002 owner who told me that it was a transmission problem.. I called Acura and the company seems to think that it is an isolated problem. Any others with the same issue?

18th Nov 2009, 00:28

I have a 2003 MDX which has been making a high pitch sound when I start the car. After it is driving for about 5-10 minutes that initial start up noise disappears. It also makes a "clunk" sound when shifting from reverse to forward. I took it into three separate shops and they all just raised their eyebrows in bewilderment. The last one said it was a dead battery and that the alternator was having to work harder. He replaced the battery and the sound persisted. When I took it back, his co-worker said it was the serpentine belt and replaced that. It still makes the sound. It is now moving forward slightly after initial startup with the parking brake on. Who do you take it to???

29th Nov 2009, 08:14

I have a 2002 Acura MDX and am the second owner, so far 122,000 miles and zero transmission problems. I have changed the trans fluid 5 times since 44,000 miles along with the rear diff fluid. My car had the oil jet kit done at 10,000 miles. I let the car warm up every time before putting it in gear. I am just now replacing the front motor mounts and front struts. But other than that it has been smooth. Plan on driving it until 300,000. When the engine goes I'll get rid of it.

Also, I do not tow anything.

1st Dec 2009, 13:59

I have spoken with several lawyers about a class action regarding 2002 transmission failures do to faulty transmissions and Acura not taking responsibility. If any one would like to join in Canada, please email me at imageexcellence@rogers.ca

The bottom line is they had a recall because of a problem. They are trying to say that if the recall was done at 100,000 miles (cooling jet put on) and after that your tranny fails, you are out of luck, even if the tranny broke only 100 miles after the jet was put on. They will say the damage must have been done after they looked at it.

Obviously the damage was more likely cause driving the SUV for 100,000 miles with a faulty transmission. Common Sense.

16th Dec 2009, 21:42

Like many before me. I'm having the same tranny problem. I called Acura and they told me the recall was performed, however like many other 2002 MDX owners, I'm having transmission problems again. What do I do.

6th Jan 2010, 19:11

2002 MDX, original owner, 87k miles, all service done at Acura dealer, had the oil jet installed as part of the 2004 transmission recall and the torque converter replaced in 2008. Realize now that the 04 "maintenance" just delayed the transmission failure until the warranty expired.

Transmission would not shift out of second last week. Made it to the dealership and was told I need a new trans. $5000 but since I've been such a good customer I will get it for $2500. Oh, and I also need a timing belt ($1200) and brakes ($520). Called Acura customer service to plead my case. Said the $2500 discount is all they can do. Bought this car thinking I'd get at least 100k out of a high quality product. Poor customer service for a known issue.

Used to be a Honda/Acura guy but I told them they have just lost a customer. Decided I am just getting the trans done so I can trade it in on a new Ford Flex. Great price, features I want, can't find a bad review, and I feel better supporting an American company that is working hard to do things right.

8th Jan 2010, 09:19

I posted the response on 6th Jan 2010, 19:11.

I have to hand it to Acura customer service and the service manager at my local Acura dealer. They really came through. I called Acura Cust Service. They were responsive, polite, and accomodating. My case was escalated and reviewed, they engaged my local dealership and service manager. My argument was logical - I have done all recommended maintenance at the dealership, there is a known issue with the 2nd gear re heat build up and excessive wear, and a car of this quality and price should not have a major component fail at 87k miles.

In the end, Acura picked up 80% of the new transmission cost and the service dept kicked in another 10% so I only have to pick up 10% of the cost ($480). Now that is customer service and Acura has just retained a customer. Needless to say, I am not in the market for a new car, and when it comes time to trade in my Maxima, I am getting a TL.

8th Jan 2010, 21:36

Considering it's a known issue of faulty transmissions at Acura, are you seriously willing to give up your earlier intention of buying from Ford only because Acura charged you $500 for their rubbish transmission?

Remember, you get what you pay for!

13th Jan 2010, 21:09

I have Acura MDX 2002 114K. Today found out that my transmission is making the rattling noise and needs to be replaced. Dealer said $5k total for repair. I'm reading a lot about transmission recall on this model. I am single owner and got all services at the dealership. How do I find out if the recall applies to me, since 5K is a lot to pay for a known defective recall problem - also the BlueBook cost of my car is about 8K!!

Please guide me as how proceed.