8th Feb 2006, 10:10

Another thing to be aware of, which is big in Europe, is to watch out when you lock your car using the remote.

Thieves, using I believe either another remote or a garage door opener, push their button the same time you push yours. What happens is the signal is cancelled out and you think you've locked your car, but, in reality, the car doesn't lock. You leave, and they gain easy access, and you come back thinking it's your fault for not locking the car.

10th Feb 2006, 09:33

Um, well, the Acura TL is a sports sedan so therefore has sports tires. You should have known this on your test drive. If you don't like how a sports car rides you shouldn't have bought one.

17th Mar 2006, 01:38

I wish I would have seen this page when I bought my 2006 Acura TL. The car is two weeks old and rattles like it is a 100 years old. Because of the build quality I do not recommend this car to anyone.

17th Mar 2006, 11:42

My friend bought a 2005 TL and now a year later it is running in perfect condition.

That said, the April issue of Car and Driver has a long term review of the RL and they reported endless problems you would expect in a Yugo, not an Acura.

Maybe Acura is following BMW and Mercedes in choosing high tech over quality. I hope not as Acuras have always been great cars, and they have never treated their customers like beta testers.

22nd Mar 2006, 23:50

I have a 2005 Acura TL with 13K miles. I took it in for normal service today and they replaced my tires for free. I didn't even know I was having a problem with them. I have had nothing, but good things to say about this car and how Acura has treated me. Thank You.

28th Mar 2006, 12:30

Why were tl tires replaced after only 13,k miles?

Any comments by anyone out there would be appreciated.

7th Apr 2006, 16:34

I love my 06 Acura TL, it drives like a dream.

This is my first new purchase and I could not have made a better choice. The interior and exterior fit and finish is tight, very pleasing. Great quality.

The dealership treated me like family and completed follow ups to ensure I was happy. Thanks!

12th Apr 2006, 08:33

I recently purchased a 06TL. It has 3500K and I have found the fender, both right and left, have chips in the same location. The chips are above the mudguards. I cannot believe it would chip that easily, already. The car has not been driven hard or on an unpaved road, just general driving. Has anyone else noticed this???

16th Apr 2006, 21:45

I bought my 05 TL in Oct04. I had tire problems right from the start. The car would pull to the right. The dealer replaced the two front Tires and Rims. Since then, I have to constantly take it back because the alignment is always off. Other than that it has been a great car. FS.

22nd Oct 2006, 12:13

I bought a new Acura TL in September 05. I have not had any major mechanical problems. However I have had too replace three tires in a span of a year. Something is definitely up with this car with the front tires. I have also had some paint chip problems too.

24th Oct 2006, 19:16

I too have had problems with the tires on the TL. All 4 needed to be replaced within less than 30,000 kilometers.

30th Oct 2006, 10:24

Purchased my 2004 TL in March 2004. Tires have been a problem ever since. I have had the original Turanzas (14,000) a replacement set of Turanzas that cost me a 4 wheel alignment (17,000) and a new set of Avon Tech 550's that are now gone after 20,000 miles. Car has 56,000 miles and will be on it's 4th set of tires. Trust me, I am not a hard driver either. So after 4 sets of tires, 3 four wheel alignments and tire rotations every 5,000 miles, I doubt I will be buying another one of these.

11th Jan 2007, 11:47

Did the shifter even move? Did it move without the shifter moving? Was the car in gear and you did not know it? My dad has left his car in gear and gotten out of the vehicle to find it driving a way. Could this have happened?

11th Jan 2007, 13:42

I am sure an Acura owner knows if he left it in gear. Get it to the dealer right away!

15th Sep 2007, 23:30

I have 44,000 miles on my 2004 TL. At 12,000 miles, I was told I needed new tires, which I bought. Then at 27,000 miles I was told the same thing, and purchased my 2nd set of new tires. Just this week, and 44,000 miles, was told my tires were bald, and I purchased 3rd set. I rotate every 6,000 miles, and do not drive on any rough roads, peel out, etc. Just your average driver. Does anyone else have problem with having to replace tires so often?

14th Nov 2007, 15:04

My '04 has a lot of the typical things people are talking about:

All new tires after 20K miles.

Horn replaced twice.

Rattling parts (dash speakers, plastic around seat heater switches) constantly being replaced - the latest is center console.

Moonroof visor slides at will.

I'm looking forward to '09 design changes, but not the kinks the will have to be worked out.

14th Nov 2007, 20:27

Horn?? I have never heard of that? Although my 97 Accord sounds only one of the two horns.

21st Nov 2007, 08:42

I bought my 04 TL in may of 04 it has 47k miles and has had 4 sets of tires. The last set has lasted for 6k miles and they need replaced.3 alignments all different specs.,and acura continues to blame the tires. The tire dealers blame the car and I am frustrated. I also have a 02 RL, it is a simple, but very dependable car and we love it. I WILL REPLACE THE 04 tl, but not with another acura.

22nd Nov 2007, 11:35

But not another RL? You make no sense.

26th Feb 2008, 23:42

Hi I bought my Acura 3 days ago; it has 53k.

The first thing I noticed is that if I am driving for more than an hour, the car starts making noises when I make hard turns. It seems to that it is the steering wheel pump, but I am not sure. I am going to dealer tomorrow, so he may solve it.

Also, 3d and 4th gear has very low rpm and the car some times is shaking. You can't drive exactly 50mph because there is shifting point from 4th to 5th gear :(

I am 20, and the car is looking amazing, but for 4 years old 53k it has big issues. Thank God that I have a 2 year warranty, but I got it for 7 years finance :(

17th Jun 2008, 11:57

Someone suggested buying a newer Mercedes rather than a TL.

Take a look at Mercedes' newer reviews and tell me if you still feel the same way.

I agree that a lot of these problems shouldn't be happening, but in reality the bulk of these issues should be classified as MINOR ANNOYANCES, not something you contact your lawyers on. I mean come on, the car rattles, the center console gets scratches easily, and your dash is fading. Do you seriously believe that your case will hold up in court?

People are getting all worked up because their factory tires are wearing out earlier than they expected. Blame your tires, not the car!

For the majority of you, let me ask: is your engine smoking or catching fire every month or so? Have you went through 6 transmissions? Does the car turn off while you're going 75 MPH on the interstate? Does the airbag deploy when you turn the radio on? That is what most people would classify as a dangerous car or a true LEMON. The majority of your complaints are not that serious.

Like I said, I totally understand that your problems are unfortunate, but all in all, no car is going to be perfect, not even a new one, it doesn't matter what brand it is; all cars have problems. Should some of these problems be fixed in future model years? Sure. But don't go calling the TL a lemon when little stuff is wearing out. Just sayin'.