AMC Rambler Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1963 AMC Rambler Classic 660 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Bloody beauty!

Faults:

Replaced bias ply tires with radials.

Replaced master brake cylinder.

Replaced vacuum wiper motor with an electric one.

General Comments:

I picked this car up from an auction in San Francisco for $800 and drove it back to Seattle, and this beauty did not skip a beat.

The vehicle has a great bench seat system that when unfolded, turns into a complete double bed. What a simple and great idea.

I drove the car 60-70 mph and averaged 20 mpg for this trip. Not bad for a 44 year old car. It's a keeper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2007

2nd Sep 2007, 10:16

Just an update. The car recently started to sputter and a simple cleaning of the Distributor cap solved this. The point I am trying to make is that this car is so easy to maintain. I am getting 20-22 MPG with a 6 and it makes me wonder what we have really achieved in the last 40 years in automobile engine technology. Certainly, from an engine point of view - nothing.

GO RAMBLER!

1968 AMC Rambler Ameircan 220 199c.i. inline 6 from North America

Model year1968
Year of manufacture1968
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 199c.i. inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired29092 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle

Summary:

Too bad they don't make 'em like that anymore

Faults:

Fan belt.

Radiator hoses.

Valve cover gasket.

General Comments:

By far, the best car I have ever owned!! Bought the car at an old lady's estate auction for $500. Drove the car to and from college for three years. About 250 miles one way to school. After school, I drove it daily to work for a short time. Regularly got upper 20's MPG -- sometimes 30 - 32 MPG. Never failed!! Liked speeds 60 MPH or less. Not much of a performance machine, but very reliable and thrifty. Little one v carb had a sound like blowing across the top of a Coke bottle at about 50 - 55 MPH. Sold the car for a new Dodge truck...OOPS!!! That's OK. I replaced it with a Studebaker which is a work in progress.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2006

6th Nov 2006, 20:30

I bought a 1966 Ambassador for my girlfriend way back in 1993 - I was tired of driving her around and it only cost $300. It was a bit smashed up, but had only about 50,000 miles. I'm not sure if mine had the 199 inline six. It probably had the 232, but I do remember that odd, but pleasing noise from under the hood (which you describe as blowing over a coke bottle. I like inline sixes!

1966 AMC Rambler 440 199/6 from North America

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 199/6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I love my car

Faults:

The brakes periodically need work.

We have replaced the universal joint.

The carburetor gets worked on now and then.

The heater does not heat and part of it leaks water into the passenger seat.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car we have ever owned and we have owned many different company's cars. It always starts, even when it is 3 degrees out.

It is very comfortable on long trips. There is plenty of head and foot room.

It is beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

11th Feb 2006, 17:44

Interesting review. I have a 1963 Rambler American 440 that is a lot of fun.

Although I would not take it on any long trips ;)

1968 AMC Rambler 4dr 440 American 199 I6 from North America

Model year1968
Year of manufacture1968
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 199 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carChrysler Dynasty

Summary:

Great classic daily driver

Faults:

Not much as I just obtained it.

I have fixed small things like the carburetor and tuned it up.

The manual washer fluid pump needed TLC and the e-brake needed freeing up.

The car in in great overall shape and was previously owned with pride.

General Comments:

The car has reasonable power and more so torque. The air cooled Borg Warner auto trans shifts nice and firm. It has all new shocks and the undercarriage is in great shape so it rides and handles very tight. For having non power assisted drum brakes front and rear the car stops amazingly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

1969 AMC Rambler 199ci from North America

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 199ci Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60574 miles
Most recent distance62044 miles
Previous carMercury Bobcat

Summary:

Amazing little car

Faults:

Had trouble with the wiring for the tail lights, brakelights, and signal lights.

Vacuum wiper motor doesn't work so great.

Had to replace a brake cylinder.

Had to rebuild the starter and alternator.

Seats are worn pretty bad.

But still, the car is 36 years old, and I would say that is a very good track record for how long I've been driving it.

General Comments:

These are excellent cars. the motor and drive train are very solid. While the car isn't that great on the highway (have to keep the accelerator down halfway most of the time, hard on gas at high speeds), in town the car has great pickup and is extremely easy on gas, even when compared to newer small cars. Not a great car if you want power (at least with a 199 inline 6) but for reliability, comfort (lots of leg room up front) good looks, and fun. I would never hesitate to buy one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

24th Feb 2005, 16:43

Pretty low mileage for a '69.

Was it sitting in some old coot's garage somewhere for 20 years before you bought it?

15th Apr 2005, 16:09

Not sure how the miles are so low. The odometer only has 5 digits, but by the way this thing runs I really doubt there is a 1 in front of that 65000 miles, apparently I guess the car was taken out of the woods and restored about 10 years ago.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews