2002 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2002 Audi A4 3.0 6 cylinder 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Near perfect

Faults:

Nothing. I haven't had it long, but so far so good.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's interior is pure luxury. I have yet to ride in a smoother, quieter car. It's fast and handles like a dream, almost too good. The first day I drove it, I was over 100mph before I noticed how fast I was going. On the curves, it grips beautifully. I drive a very curvy, steep road during my commute and this car makes it fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

2002 Audi A4 1.8T Sport 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Expensive, but worth it

Faults:

Internal trim strip on door's door rattled.

General Comments:

Great performance from 1.8 turbo (163bhp) engine. Great torque at low revs for relaxed driving.

High quality build and trim.

Handling and road-holding good.

Sports seats are great.

Foot rest for left foot too narrow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

2002 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance6023 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Cheap to buy and cheap to run. Surprised?

Faults:

Sometimes windows do not close fully when using the automatic "close" feature when locking.

General Comments:

This car is classy yet relatively inexpensive.

The engine has good passing power, although a little short on torque sub-2,000 rpm.

The steering is very precise and overall handling sure-footed.

The exterior design is handsome.

The interior design is handsome and well assembled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 23:22

Cheap to run? Enjoy it while its under warranty. Get rid of it after.

2002 Audi A4 1.9TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from South Africa

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

This is THE benchmark vehicle in its class

Faults:

No problems to date.

General Comments:

The diesel engine has evolved: 0-100km/h in 10secs, tops 210km/h.

At 120km/h consumption is a mere 5L/100km, which means 1400km per tank. Best to date was a holiday trip of 1456km on 67L.

Quality finish, inside and out.

Lots of standard equipment which is optional on competitors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

4th Jan 2005, 13:14

I bought a used 1999 Audi A6 saloon 2.4 petrol engine. It drives well but could anyone tell me what I should look out for in terms of maintenance, fuel consumption etc? Anyone who owns an A6 and would like to advise?

Yonah Matemba, UK.

2nd Jun 2010, 06:28

I am looking to buy a used car & somebody is offering me an Audi A4 1.9 TDI. It is 2002 model & almost 180000K driven. I am in a bit of dilemna, whether to go for it or not. I have very high image of Audi's in my mind but also a bit worried about any heavy maintenance costs, it may give.

Can somebody please advise me.

2002 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance19150 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Don't buy until Audi takes responsibility for fixing the failing electrical system on these cars

Faults:

Sensor failure of ESP system resulting in 23 consecutive days of repair.

Relay Switch clicking which can be heard over radio at volume level of 13. I know of other documented cases however Audi has no solution to the problem.

Blown fuse on windshield wipers.

Electronic issues with radio functions.

Currently at the dealership with second air bag system malfunction. Not yet rectified.

Recent recall notice of cylinder failure in the engine. Audi will only repair if car dies or fails.

General Comments:

The electrical system has had many issues in these cars.

I would warn consumers to study the warranty and repair issues on these cars prior to any purchase.

Audi does not stand behind these problems and does not have the knowledge base both internally and at the dealership level to handle these problems.

I hope I can make consumers really review this car before purchasing and hopefully saving them the headaches I have had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

6th Jul 2003, 11:52

I agree with these comments 100%. My Audi A4 has been nothing but problems.

Problems started two days after purchase and have continued. Included: major issues with Engine coil, stereo, engine light, windshield wipers, tire...etc.

20th Jan 2004, 00:09

I've seen other postings about these problems, but none quite like mine -- I have an A4 2002 CVT 1.8T with 35k miles.

Scenario A:

On a 1/4 hot engine (about 10 minutes in morning traffic) the ESP light comes on and stays on continuously while driving. As the car comes to a stop the engine stutters and dies completely; the ESP and Battery lights both come on and stay on. After a few tries (it sounds as if the engine is choking) the engine eventually restarts. On several occasions the engine light came on and stayed on.

Scenario B:

Freeway driving at about 70mph - the ESP light comes on and stays on.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 46 reviews