2000 Audi A6 from North America - Comments

12th Jul 2001, 15:02

Same problem here with a 1998 A6 Quattro... the car slips into higher gear after I slow down and then depress accelerator (noticed more when I'm on an incline).

8th Jan 2002, 15:01

I have so many problems with my newly bought 2000 A6 2.7 that I wouldn't know where to begin. The problems started on day 2. I don't know how Audi can stay in business with such poor client service. My vote: Audi=lemon!

10th Jun 2002, 11:44

I have a 1998 Audi A6 Quattro. (I bought it used.) Only after two weeks I start noticing problems. There were loud squeaking noises from the wheels, the engine wouldn't start sometimes, and the car would thump at stops. The dealership has charged me so much money and has wasted so much of my time with their "we think"s instead of "we know"s. It's just been pathetic how often I have to see the dealership! Just recently, the radiator fan has started sounding like an airplane! If anyone has any information on how to fix these problems, PLEASE let me know!

20th Sep 2002, 14:42

I have owned an A6 2.7T for the past 2.5 years and am experiencing the same thump with the gears shifting when I slow down and then speed up. Other than this, the car is excellent.

My concern is that this could be an expensive problem for me when my warranty expires and Audi denies this problem.

9th Oct 2002, 10:54

I have an Audi 2000 2.7T Quattro. I have noticed the same type of thump, though it doesn't happen often enough that I remember to mention it to the dealer. Most of my driving is freeway, though, maybe that's why.

My concern is with the brake rotors. They have been warping about every 3000 miles. My car is on its fourth set and only has 22000 miles, and as I mentioned, all freeway driving. Now this set is showing signs of warping. The dealer admitted they see this problem, but Audi denies it. Warranty will be up soon and I'm frustrated.

17th Oct 2002, 16:40

I have owned the A6 2.7T since September 2000. This "thumping" phenomenon (seems to me a rough transmission shift) was one of the first things I noticed in my experience with this car. I totally agree with some of the reviewers, it happens under exactly the same conditions (in stop and go, decelerating to accelerating traffic). It is actually quite jarring and unpleasant. The first time it happened I thought someone actually rear-ended me. I mentioned this to the Audi "technicians" when it was due for its first service interval and have met only with frustration. I have mentioned the same problem to Audi North America along with numerous other complaints - inferior paint job (brilliant black - scratches and swirls), faulty fuel gauge, excessive wind noise at speeds greater than 60MPH - and have met with the same frustration. Though powerful and good-looking, this car has a lot of bugs and a transmission that is anything, but smooth. When you add unresponsive customer service to that you end up with a predictably disappointed customer. I would think twice and thrice about buying another Audi and would not recommend this particular car to anyone.

22nd Oct 2002, 03:25

I am an A6 owner in the UK. I have a 1.8T Avant (Don't think that's sold in the U.S.) I tried out a car with a 'Tiptronic' Auto, but didn't like it. Another thing that put me off was the fact that I heard rumors about the 'Tiptronic' boxes being prone to early failure. My small engined estate car is economical and fun to drive, with a dash of big car panache.

5th Nov 2002, 17:04

I have a 2001 A6 2.7 turbo, and have similar "hard shift" problems. Some occur at low speed when the transmission shifts into 5th gear, then stays there. Others occur at highway speeds, when the transmission shifts down from 5th to 4th while traveling at 70mph. The tachometer shows clearly that this is what is happening.

After several severe episodes, the dealer checked it out, consulted with Audi and ZF, and replaced the transmission. Since then (2000 miles) it has happened again twice, the latest being today, Nov 6, 2002. This all started with about 17,000 miles on the car. The transmission was replaced at 18,500 miles. Now we have 21,550 on it.

We have not had any other problems, but are concerned about this becoming an expensive (dealer said the cost of the replacement was $16,000, less core) situation after the warranty is up. Also a concern about total failure and stranding when my wife is out alone in the car.

25th Dec 2002, 21:46

I just bought an '03 Allroad Tiptronic. In four weeks, and 1000 miles, I have had four occasions where the transmission randomly downshifts, hard, to third, and will not shift until you restart the car. After the first two occasions, the dealer replaced the shift solenoid. Less than a week after being returned from the dealer, the same thing happened, a violent downshift to third gear, but this time I was driving on ice, the downshift caused severe deceleration, and I almost lost control of the car.

31st Dec 2002, 13:54

I have a 2002 A6 3.0 Quattro with the same slow speed slamming into gear problem. Also, the car seems to upshift too soon, then downshifts with a little more accelerator pressure. Finally, the lag between applying pressure to the accelerator and the car actually starting to move is horrid. Car presently at dealer, said no computer problems. Dealer talking with Audi, expect to know more end of week. I don't hold out much hope for a fix for this unsafe condition. It is not like they have not heard this before. Remember how Audi handled the problems with the 100 (poorly)! But, Pennsylvania has a lemon law, and this may be the last resort.

27th Jan 2003, 12:00

2001 Audi A6 2.7T with Auto (30,000 miles). Same "hard shift" problems on downshift, random engine whine. Car has required new engine computer, new catalytic converter, countless trips to dealer for "check engine" light. Recent interesting episode was door "eating" driver side window (in 20 degree F weather), although heater did a pretty good job on 35 mile drive to nearest dealer, it was still cold. Car is very fast, handles well, great interior. But I must admit that I still prefer to drive my wife's M-B 280C instead, except in snow.

4th Apr 2003, 12:14

I have had the exact same problems with my 2000 A6 2.8Q. The transmission was replaced at 30k due to it "banging" in and out of gear. The car has had window problems, engine problems, fuel tank problems, radio problems, coolant problems. On top of this, the dealer in Chicago is totally incompetent - about 40% of the time they will actually damage my car in the process of trying to repair it. Even worse, the dealer, one time, took a part out of the interior that was totally unrelated to the service in question. When I asked them what happened to it, I was told they would need to order it. When I told them it was unacceptable, they then took the same part out of "another car" and gave it back to me. It is a nice way to manage your inventory levels when you can use your customers' cars for parts. Try to complain to customer service and it is an absolute waste of time. Now, the icing on the cake - apparently, Audi Credit doesn't know how to calculate an amortization table as they appear unable (or unwilling) to justify their loan payoff calculation.