2001 Audi A6 2.7 t Quattro from North America - Comments

19th Feb 2009, 20:50

Thinking about an upgrade...

These posts would scare any sane consumer from purchasing an Audi, but I can't get over my want for a 2000 A6 wagon to hit the slopes with.

I drive an '88 model 80 with over 200k miles on it, and it could not be more reliable. Even after cursing it out while changing out the belts this past weekend, I know I am blessed with having a car over 20 years old still on road every day. It's hard to believe the A6 has all these issues when the my old Audi is still rolling...

There are lots of Passat wagons on the road, but they don't excite me as much as being behind the wheel of the real thing. Please someone talk me "in to" moving up to an A6 that I can get for $6 - 8k.

16th Jul 2009, 03:02

I have a 2001 2.7t A6 with 125000 miles on it. The car is giving me more problems than I can handle. It's crazy, I've changed front control arms, front struts, rotors, belts, window regulators, it's unbearable, and now the out of nowhere the P/S fluid is leaking, not just little by little, but leaking as soon as it is poured in. I hope it's not the rack cuz it's too expensive.

But my advice if you want a good, reliable car; don't go with an Audi, go with a Japanese car, it will never do you as wrong as an Audi will.

29th Aug 2009, 07:45

God I can't understand it! I just got a 1999 and half, and paid 6000 for the car two months ago and have put 2100 in repairs; I'm broke! I love the car, but I can't live this way!

21st Sep 2009, 22:54

I purchased a used Audi A6 2.7 T not even a year ago. I have had so many problems with this car I want to scream. In repairs alone so far I have spent over $3500.00, and still more problems.

From the front passenger side window having a mind of its own to coolant leaks, replaced both water pumps, all the seals, gaskets, hoses, and the belt. Now I have an oil leak, and I need front control arms replaced. Front sway bar need to be replaced. I just replaced all rotors and pads. What’s next...

I wish I never bought this car. I had a Mercedes Benz before this, never had these types of issues. I will never buy another Audi. The customer service people are mean and nasty, and the service people are even worse.

They need to recall all these cars and give everyone a check to purchase another car.

I have to pray every time I get into this car. I think if everyone who owns these cars starts complaining to federal regulators, we might get some real recall help. It seems like everyone is having the same issues.

If you own an Audi A6 2.7 2001, please start calling and complaining like crazy, maybe we can get some sort of recall help.

6th Jan 2010, 13:10

As an owner of a 2001 A6 2.7T, I'm in the Audi fan camp. I bought this car used for a ridiculously low price 2 years ago and have since, between purchase price and repairs, put in about just as much as she's worth on Nada's clean retail price. I have no complaints as she's only been in the shop 3 times, with the first one not doing a good job so I found a trusty mechanic. Since then, I have had only minor wear and tear (living in NE, we get it more than most). I truly think they need well over a 100k miles to perform at their best!

28th Feb 2010, 19:11

I have had 2 A6's, a 1998 2.8 and a 2004 2.7T, both bought new. My 2.7t has 138,000 miles, and has been an awesome machine. I did the 75,000 mile service, inc. the timing belt, and have done nothing except change the oil since. I have greatly enjoyed both cars, and feel that I would definitely buy another one.

25th Apr 2010, 06:45

I have a 1999 A6 wagon 2.8. Had a BMW 5 wagon before. Both are well made. Both will travel well over the speed limit. BMW had electrical and transmission issues. Audi has more room inside, better winter driving AWD.

This car is so sure in the snow and rain. Have replaced all ball joints and tie rod ends three times in 140,000 miles.

Front end wears fast.

Great transmission, good power, motor not as smooth as I6 BMW. Needs to be serviced, checked before issues cause other parts to wear.

7th Jul 2010, 12:33

I just purchased a 2001 A6 Quattro 2.8 L. My opinion on these cars is if you don't take care of your car your car will fail. My Audi needs little work, but that's because they didn't take good care of it before I bought it. People just don't care enough. I love my Audi!

31st Jul 2010, 21:25

I purchased my 2000 Audi A6 2.7 Turbo Quattro in 2007; it had 85000 miles on it.

In 2008 I had to replace the brake ABS control switch; dealer charged $800+. Both front axles had to be replaced due to leaking; cost $1000. Check engine came on, and soon after the airbag light came on.

In 2010, the car started overheating, so I took this job on myself, and man what a job this was just to get to the thermostat, water pump and timing belt. Saved myself $2000.

This car has been nothing but headaches. They are nice cars, but repairs are too costly way above what it should be for some minor repairs.

26th Sep 2010, 12:29

I have a 2000 A6 2.7T. Bought used certified VW. Has been flawless for many years now.

Quattro will spoil you for anything without it!

A lot of the simple stuff is doable with a Bentley manual.

The stuff like upgrading the soft springs to Eibach sport springs was done at the selling VW dealer, really improved the ride and control. If it's not an S6, it's too soft for me.

Been a flawless car.

I did replace a window guide, but that was a $5 part.

I do the labor. Simple, cheap, great cars.

7th Oct 2010, 10:00

Just bought a 2001 A6 2.7T used with 132k on it.

The thing took off like a rocket. Once. The electrical gremlins reared their ugly head. On the second day of owning this vehicle, the battery light came on, voltage meter pinned at 16 volts, radio turned off, dash gauges froze, the check engine light came on.

Before I bought this car I looked at all the problems people were having with their Audis. Perhaps I should have listened to them. I was blinded by the allure of having twin turbos.

3rd Jan 2011, 20:03

O ye of little faith. I too own a 2000 A6 turbo with 92000 miles, and yes... I am stuck with it. I have tried for 1 year to pay it off, but repairs do come first at the tune of ooh... 15.000. Yes that is 15 thousand $$. New brakes and rotors within 1.5 years, cv boot x2 each side 375$ (and I need another right side) per visit. Just under 40$ for wiper blades?

Now I am looking at engine top end oil leaks, should we say 1,000$? New cooling fans. I can't even look back at the service/maintenance charges, there are just too many. I feed this monster the best synthetic oil on the planet at precisely 3000 miles it is changed, and my mechanic is awesome. He only services Audi and Porsche in Jacksonville FL.

This is by far the worst investment I have ever made, front end rattles like a cheap 1970 Dodge truck, (the small kind) and boy do I wish I had that instead. Never again Audi. I have seen same complaints in all kind of forums. It is a terrible problem. I hope that many people are paying attention. I may have saved you thousands of $.