2001 Audi A6 2.7 t Quattro 2.7 turbo from North America


Very bad experience with an Audi


Less than 24 hours after I bought this car my check engine light came on. I called the dealership I bought it at and was asked if I had "checked the engine".

This was just the first of many things to go wrong. I have owned this car for 7 months and it is in the shop more than out of it.

So far my turbos have gone out, window motors have gone out, my ball joints need to be replaced, the check engine light has came back on (but I was told that it had to come on again before they could replace the part that caused it to come on).

My car is now back at the dealership after it failed to start leaving my husband stranded nearly a hour and a half away.

This is the second time this has happened. The last time it had to be towed in for this problem I was told that it was a "brain fart" and they have never seen it happen before.

General Comments:

I do have to admit that I love the way this car handles and all the options it comes with.

However I am very sick of it always being in the shop.

I have complained to Audi and never received a response. A call would at least be nice.

I will never buy an Audi again. The mechanical problems far outweigh the luxury options that I like so much.

For what I payed for this car I never would have believed that their customer service would be this bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

8th Mar 2005, 07:58

In reading your review, it's like you lived my life. Every problem you referenced, I experienced, including Audi's lack of caring. The car handles like a dream, but overall owning this car was still a nightmare.


Calgary, Canada.

5th Jun 2005, 17:26

I have the 2000 A6 2.7T. I too was in the dang stealership week after week after week. The problem isn't so much your car, as it is your mechanic. Get an audi-specializing, performance, NON-DEALERSHIP mechanic and your problems will likely go away. Then you, like me, can resume getting goose-bumps every time you punch it in your 2.7T. My car was in the shop literally once a month, for a few days at a time. Now it's problem free (since I found a *real* mechanic) and I am still completely and totally hooked!!!

2001 Audi A6 2.7T No from North America


My low-quality, high-maintenance and over-priced mistake


After 17 months ownership, the passenger side floor was getting wet whenever it rained. Water would somehow enter into the compartment, and the flooring would be, literally, soaked with standing water. The dealership first "cleared the plugged evaporator". One month later, the same problem occurred. This time, the dealership found that the heater box needed to be resealed. Finally fixed after two tries.

At 19 months, the turn signals became inoperative (wouldn't blink). The dealership found fault with the electrical system and fixed the problem.

At 23 months, the electrical seat adjustment stopped working. The seat would adjust forward, and not back, making it impossible to drive (unless you were under 5ft tall). The car has been into the shop and "fixed" for this problem three times since then (6 months ago). Today - June 1, 2004 - it occurred again.

In addition to this, I have had the ongoing "squeaky brakes" problem, and told that there is really no way to fix this -- only to brake at high speeds, like on the highway to clear out some of the dust.

General Comments:

The handling and comfort of the car is quite nice. But the ongoing problems with the interior manufacture does not make this car anywhere near worth what I paid for it.

More disturbing are the problems encountered with the turn signal and seat adjustment. These could (could have) result in true safety hazards (not being able to drive due to seat adjustment, or not being able to signal).

I can never buy another Audi again. Unfortunate that such nice handling and engineering is pared with such awful inconsistent interior and electrical quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2004

26th Jul 2008, 11:15

I have had 3 A6's, and zero problems to report, apart from general wear and tear repairs.

And you should also remember, that there is no such thing as a perfect car, we can try and make it as perfect as possible, by regular maintenance.

27th May 2009, 12:29

My first entry into European luxury cars was a 3 year old, 50,000 Audi A6 quattro. This car has been a HUGE disappointment. Mostly minor problems, just lots of them; simple things like the drivers visor won't stay up, or the cupholder (s) won't stay closed, or the front passenger side window won't raise without help, the rear passenger window doesn't move at all. I could go on and on about other minor things like the lights in the dashboard fading out, ash tray that will no longer open...

The real problems are (2) tie rod failures, transmission slippage (dealer has tried), and rotted radiator seams (leaking on my garage floor). All of this in less than 100,000 miles!! What makes it worse is that the Audi folks just don't care. Reminds me of my days working with Oldsmobile service (now there's an oxymoron).

I'll stick with the Japanese. Honda replaced the transmission in my van at 145,000 miles... and were embarrassed when they did it.