2001 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 5 of 14

2001 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Best compact car in the world!

Faults:

Sun roof headliner sometimes gets stuck back when opening sunroof. A manufacturer design fault.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owned, and this is no. 19.

Handles brilliantly, suspension is not too hard or soft, BMW seriously got it right this time!

The standard wheels with low profile tires help the BMW hug the road when cornering at speed.

The standard leather interior looks brand new, even after 65000 miles.

The seats are super comfortable, and it seems that the whole interior fits the driver like a glove.

Engine has a lot of torque for a 2.5 and really pulls when accelerating, especially on the freeway.

The overall design of the car is awesome, there are not many cars out there these days that really are good looking, most cars just look like plastic pieces of...

The doors make a nice clean thump, when closed. You really feel like your in a safe car when you open the doors and get in.

Biggest complaints, which are pretty minor, are that the stereo is fairly plain compared with other brands, and the sunroof issues.

Basically I have owned 19 cars in the last 10 years and this car really stands out as being the best! Build quality, looks, performance, economy, it just beats every other car in its class. No wonder it was a Consumer Report top 10 car every year made.

Well done BMW!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2009

27th May 2009, 17:57

Yes, the E46 generation of 3 series is really a delight and one of the best (if not the best) BMW ever made.

Drives very well, solidly built and quite reliable (though every car will have its foibles, regardless of make).

What a shame they replaced it with the E90 3 series, which is plug ugly even after its facelift and has a cheaper looking and feeling interior, even though it still maintains the BMW driving feel.

29th Aug 2013, 17:03

Couldn't agree with you more. I've had mine for a few months now and it's a joy to drive. Every time I look at it, I can't believe I own it!

I changed the tranny oil myself, even though BMW say it's a lifetime thing. Rubbish! Changes through the gears more smoothly now. Also replaced the fuel filter and rear diff oil.

Drove it on vacation recently for over 2000kms without any problems whatsoever. It's a tank and built to be driven hard. I'm not sure I'd ever sell it... Well... maybe for a 5 Series. I'm a big guy so that might suit me better. We'll see.

2001 BMW 3 Series 316 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance106500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Quite flash for little cash

Faults:

The air bag light has come on the dash, no reason why.

Quite tappity from a cold start.

Apart from this, no problems to report.

General Comments:

This is the bottom of the range 3 series, but still comes will all the toys, E/W all round, air con, cruise control, parking sensors, CD player; it's very well equipped.

The engine is quite rattly from cold, and is quite slow, it returns 35mpg on average so it's not all bad.

Inside is very well built, very quiet and no engine noise. Seats are comfy and offer a good driving position.

Overall it's a really nice car, and overall it's a BMW for not much money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2009

15th May 2009, 11:46

You are paying for the badge, but what a badge!

26th Oct 2009, 12:16

I would have a 316 over any Mondeo! Fords are so dull, and fall in price faster than lead balloons.

31st Oct 2009, 09:21

If you want a BMW, you may as well go for a 6 cylinder version, and then you won't have the performance and economy complaints. My 328 can get better mpg than the 318 I used to have. And on average it's roughly the same. But it's a much nicer engine and a lot quicker. Yes you do pay for the badge, but they are generally decent cars.

3rd Jan 2013, 04:08

I just recently purchased this car. My first BMW.. it's a lovely driving car. Very smooth from the driver's seat, and not a noise or rattle when driving.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 42 reviews